R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 02-28-2012, 06:56 PM   #1
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Slick touring car tyres: When are they worn?

I'm relatively new to 1/10 and touring cars, I was wondering how you can tell when slick touring car rubber is worn to the point where you cannot use it?

Or at what point do they becomes less effective? What are the signs?
majed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 07:06 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by majed View Post
I'm relatively new to 1/10 and touring cars, I was wondering how you can tell when slick touring car rubber is worn to the point where you cannot use it?

In Sorex tyres of mine, I tend to wear them down till it gets destroyed or when the belted areas are visible. But recently, I just sell them with just 50-60% tread life left in them. They seem to have grip till the very end unlike Tamiya's which you can feel right away the abrupt loss in grip, good for rubber tyre drifting though.
Airflow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 07:53 PM   #3
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)

They are less effective after 1-2 runs but you can use them until you start to see through the rubber to the mesh fabric under it.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 07:56 PM   #4
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Depends on the surface mostly but hp, car setup and driver all have an effect.

What surface are you racing on?

With a 13.5T boosted:

One of our local tracks has smooth but low grip asphalt Sorex are good for 2 runs and fall off badly towards the end of the 3rd. (5 minute runs)

Another local track which has medium grip asphalt the surface has a very different feel, very course (I thought the first time I ran on it tyres would be wrecked after one run) but to my surprise sorex will last for 6 runs. (6 minute heats and 8 minute finals)