R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 02-23-2012, 10:00 PM   #1
Tech Initiate

Default Comparing Electronics..Cheaper vs. Not so Cheap

So I'm relatively new to on-road electric cars, I've been building and flying quadcopters for the last couple of years. But I want to try something new, so I have begun researching what kind of electronics I need for say something like an F104 if I wanted to be competitive in a race.

I was SHOCKED at how expensive the electronics are compared to the quadcopters I have been building. Here are some examples.

Turnigy Nano-tech 6000mah 2s 65C 7.4V Battery $40 bucks

Thunder Power 6000mah 2s 65C 7.4V Battery $140 bucks!

Savox Servo $63 bucks

Similar spec'd servo $13 bucks

DX3 TX $130

Spectrum RX $99

Similar Spec'd 3 Channel 2.4ghz TX AND RX $40 bucks.

I would post links to each product, but I can't since I'm new here. I just want to know what the difference is between the more expensive options and the cheaper options (these aren't necessarily off brands either) and can you justify spending literally hundreds more?

I can understand and justify spending more on the motors and ESC, as I'm used to spending only $10-$15 on motors and ESC.

Thank you.
huskerwr38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 10:15 PM   #2
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EskimoGangsta Send a message via MSN to EskimoGangsta Send a message via Skype™ to EskimoGangsta

Quote:
Originally Posted by huskerwr38 View Post
So I'm relatively new to on-road electric cars, I've been building and flying quadcopters for the last couple of years. But I want to try something new, so I have begun researching what kind of electronics I need for say something like an F104 if I wanted to be competitive in a race.

I was SHOCKED at how expensive the electronics are compared to the quadcopters I have been building. Here are some examples.

Turnigy Nano-tech 6000mah 2s 65C 7.4V Battery $40 bucks