R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-15-2005, 03:34 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 499
Default soldering batterys with wire?

i got some batterys today for my lathe (4 cells) but my lhs was out of the battery bars so i was wondering if i could use some deans 12g ultra wire instead because i found 2 feet of it lying around? thanks
kh15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 03:42 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Jack Smash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,897
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

yeah, that would work. The batt i sent you should be there in a few days.
__________________
Kyosho / Orion / Amain.com / Protek / MIP /
Jack Smash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 03:42 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
MikeDeadly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Marcos/San Antonio, Tx but chillin in Orlando, FL for now.
Posts: 113
Send a message via AIM to MikeDeadly
Default

I wouldnt see why not. There would be no structural support for the pack though, which may make them more prone to short since the cells would be flopping around.
MikeDeadly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 03:46 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 499
Default

thanks guys
and mike i plan to use good old duct tape so thier will be no flopping around, i hope lol thanks \m/
kh15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 04:39 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Rod M's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,545
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I have seen guys who use two solid peices of unsheilded copper wire (1mm thich) for battery bars,
Rod M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 07:33 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 499
Default

well the wire worked great i just charged it up about an hour ago so everything worked out! but my chager is telling me that its got 5.47 volts in it but for the lathe i need 4.8?
kh15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 09:21 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

Just use a 3 cell pack then...
fatdoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 11:08 PM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Losi Will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to Losi Will
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kh15
well the wire worked great i just charged it up about an hour ago so everything worked out! but my chager is telling me that its got 5.47 volts in it but for the lathe i need 4.8?
5.47v is unloaded voltage. It has no bearing on performance. A four cell pack will always have LOADED voltage of slightly under 4.8v(unless you have a dead cell), regardless of unloaded voltage.
Losi Will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 11:47 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 499
Default

so its safe to run my lathe with that pack i build or should i take a cell out?
kh15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 11:55 PM   #10
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 84
Default

I think either way will technically work. If you take it out, you will probably be underpowered, but you won't damage anything. I say stick with 4. A NiCd cell is 1.2V when in use, just one of the constants in everyday life.
Liko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Soldering Tips\Wire Type? LosiSuperTruck Electric On-Road 9 09-04-2005 05:28 PM
batterys! kh15 Electric On-Road 19 01-22-2005 02:32 PM
Electrically&Soldering challenged ISO 3-wire ESC & connectors Q and Tips&Tricks Tom G Electric On-Road 4 06-26-2004 09:37 PM
Anyone know where to buy "26 Awg, 22 Stranded Wire" or typical antenna wire? Thanks Shrub Electric On-Road 9 04-16-2004 05:57 PM
Soldering the red wire drx Rookie Zone 5 03-13-2004 04:13 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:42 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net