R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-13-2005, 05:36 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Jeel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 421
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default Retail store AA nimh batteries

I need a new tranmitter pack and I'd rather not spend the $40 to buy a pre-built one. My radio requires a soldered-up 8 cell pack to be plugged into it (Old Hitec 3D which does not allow single cells). Can I use rechargeable 2000 mah cells such as those packs offered by Duracell, Rayovac, etc? Rayovac 2000 mah cells only cost $10 for a 4 pack of cells at my local retail store.

Are there any differernces between these cells and what comes with a Hitec or Futaba prebuilt pack?

Last edited by Jeel; 01-13-2005 at 05:49 PM.
Jeel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 05:40 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 492
Default

i have been using them. the charger for your radio might be a nicad only charger. i use two wall chargers to charge my batteries. i also have a backup battery holder to charge the batteries at the track. i bought two 4 AA battery holders and stuck them together with servo tape and wired it so that i can charge all eight batteries at one time.
baih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 05:44 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
mattyk6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Federal Way, Wa
Posts: 170
Default

I use Energizer batters. 2300 mAh for my transmitter batts. They'll last several days.

They've never registered at more than 11v, they've dropped all the way down to 9v without any problems. But, I've heard others that have had problems at below 10v.

BTW, I use a JR Xs3 and Xr3.
mattyk6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 06:08 PM   #4
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

I just got these myself. Energizers are now up to 2500mah for 8 for $16 or so. I just had to get them. I just pop them right into the TX / transmitter.

One question though. I have a 7 cell charger. How do I go about charging these?

Anyone got a solution?
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 06:13 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Tek Nickal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,301
Default

You can use your rc charger, if you have one, for your sub - c batteries to charge your transmitter battieres. .5 - 1.5 amps should be enough.
Tek Nickal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 06:18 PM   #6
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tek Nickal
You can use your rc charger, if you have one, for your sub - c batteries to charge your transmitter battieres. .5 - 1.5 amps should be enough.
Yeah I have a 7cell novak ionic charger. How do I charge 8 cells. Would leaving it set at 7 mess things up, should I pop out 4 and do it that way....does the battery tray in the TX need to have all 8 in there to make a complete circuit?
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 08:27 PM   #7
Tech Champion
 
C_O_jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wa.
Posts: 9,055
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Check out;
www.batteryspace.com
24 AA 2300mHA for $29.99
Ive been using these for over 3 mo. with no problems.Quick service and frieght was included
__________________
Bacon is Meat Candy
C_O_jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 02:39 PM   #8
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

Man. I think Im having problems with mine. I have the energizer rechargable 2500mah nimh. Stuck them in straight from the pack into my TX.

Came up with about 10volts. Which sounds about right. After 2 hours I think it got to 8.5 volts and I got the battery low alarm.

I went to recharge them on 1.0Amp nimh took like just a few minutes and they were done. Werent even warm , the battery casing was though.

Did the other 4 about the same amount of time to charge. Put them in and got 10.0 volts. So im like ok they must charge fast.

Well 20 minutes later its battery alarm time. So im thinking something must be wrong. Im charging 4 at a time with a 4 cell receiver case that I had from my nitro.

I have a 3pjs and a novak ionic ac/dc charger. Are these run times off. I heard you get a lot of time with these.

Last edited by Artificial-I; 01-16-2005 at 04:56 PM.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 04:52 PM   #9
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 176
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Artificial I,

Leave the transmitter on for a while to drain the batteries a bit..Then recharge them..they more than likely need to be cycled (discharged and then charged) a few times to get the most out of them. New batteries never perfom well until you get a few cycles through them.
RCevolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 04:57 PM   #10
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

Yeah im thinking your right. They seem to be already at 20mins and still above the 10.1, this time I charged them a bit longer and when I put them in the TX. It read 10.5

Ill try draining them next.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 05:40 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
Tempest2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Smyrna, TN
Posts: 1,590
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

usually the AA batteries want to be slow charged or trickle charged at a very low amp rate. Usually .2 or 3 amps is all and it should take an hour or two at least from the batteries being totally dead...
Tempest2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 06:05 PM   #12
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 176
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

yeah, that's true too..slower doesn't hurt with these batteries
RCevolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 09:02 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Claydoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: being there
Posts: 402
Send a message via AIM to Claydoh
Default

I have some Rayovac 1600 mah's that have been working for 2 years. Get a 8 cell holder and charger them at .5amp and you get more time from them. These are just now dying off. good value
Claydoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 09:48 PM   #14
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Post

I've been using the Energizer 2300's for awhile now in my 3PK and I love 'em. Charges up to about 11.2 volts and stays between 10.1- 10.9 forever, so there's no turning back for me...

- JB
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 10:55 PM   #15
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 170
Default

Hitec makes an individual cell battery tray for the Lynx 3D (Part # 54405). I bought mine from Stormer Hobbies a couple years ago. I charge the eight cells with a Turbo 35 set at 1A with a .05 dropback (NiCd). You can probably use the same setting for NiMah just watch your temperature the first time. If they seem too hot turn the dropback to .04 or .03. The important thing is that your power supply must put out around 15 volts. A 12v supply won't work.

Last edited by calvin; 01-16-2005 at 11:01 PM.
calvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
proper way to store nimh reciever packs and stick packs for winter? rhymster Nitro Off-Road 7 11-02-2007 10:32 AM
What is the best way to store batteries when not going to be used for a while roadrashracing Rookie Zone 0 04-28-2006 03:18 PM
How should I store my batteries? Modena AL Electric On-Road 1 12-09-2002 11:24 AM
How do you store your batteries? taybelZ Electric On-Road 7 10-24-2002 12:10 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:08 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net