R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-12-2005, 06:22 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
Paul_TC4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,015
Send a message via AIM to Paul_TC4
Gp3300 Advice

I know today in the RC world there are many opinionated things especially when it comes to batteries. I currently have 4 Promatch packs. (All being Gp3300's.)
I have two older packs about 6-8 months old and two newer ones at about 2 months old. According to my Pulsar charger, the older packs only peak in the 2800mah range. While my new packs peak nicely in the 3600mah range. All packs have been taking care of the same way, being charged at 6 amps @10mv a pack. They have been discharged on the Integy Octane 20 tray and cut-off as close as I can to .9V possible.

Now, can I alter the way I charge/discharge the older packs to get more runtime out of them?

Thanks,
Paul
Paul_TC4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 06:32 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Feel The Differnce
Posts: 272
Send a message via AIM to (V)r>??@uD@ Send a message via Yahoo to (V)r>??@uD@
Default

i have the same problem but on a Eagle CDC V.6b my old pack about 3 months old never goes over 3000mah and its a 3300 but my new fukuyamas go over 3900 no over 4000mah
(V)r>??@uD@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 06:34 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Feel The Differnce
Posts: 272
Send a message via AIM to (V)r>??@uD@ Send a message via Yahoo to (V)r>??@uD@
Default

but i charge at 5.5amps @6mv per pack............ sorry for double post
(V)r>??@uD@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 06:34 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Feel The Differnce
Posts: 272
Send a message via AIM to (V)r>??@uD@ Send a message via Yahoo to (V)r>??@uD@
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by (V)r>?[email protected][email protected]
but i charge at 5.5amps @6mv per pack
(V)r>??@uD@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 06:36 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
dontfeelcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where there's smoke there's a tyre
Posts: 1,721
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

You can leave your pack dead shorted for a while, so next time you charge the pack up it will appear to have heaps of runtime on the charger. Once the cells are old they are old and nothing you do will give them back some more capacity.
dontfeelcold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 06:40 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Paul_TC4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,015
Send a message via AIM to Paul_TC4
Default

Dead short for a while meaning how long?
I was actually thinking of this as an option but wouldnt it really kill the cells even more? I know there already old.....
Also, how would I get them to 0.0V so I could dead short?
Paul_TC4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 07:46 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by (V)r>?�[email protected][email protected]
but i charge at 5.5amps @6mv per pack............ sorry for double post
it's impossible to get 6mV/p with a CDC v6b.
Do you mean 6mV/cell?
lee82gx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 07:49 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

It's quite right that after about 50 cycles, your cells will produce about 2800mAh on discharge.

What you can do to bring back some run time is to tray them with a LOW current cut-off tray, like the robitronics tray or Rayspeed discharger.

It'll probably give you 100-200 more mAh, but that's just an optimistic estimate.
lee82gx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 07:49 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
nmt6789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 1,292
Send a message via AIM to nmt6789
Default

I thought dead shorting was really bad for a battery
nmt6789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 08:04 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

lets not even go there
lee82gx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 09:05 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,628
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Your talking 2800 vs 3600mah charge wich means pretty much nothing..

To fairly compare your packs u need to cyle them all on the same charger and look at run time in seconds and average voltage.

MAH of charge is a calculation made by the charger, it is not something i pay any attention to.



Set your charger up to do a cycle and cycle all your packs. Make note of discharge time, average discharge voltage and resistance. Even though its only a 10amp discharge its still a way of comparing all your packs. Only with this info can u really judge a packs condition.
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 02:10 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
Paul_TC4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,015
Send a message via AIM to Paul_TC4
Default

Thanks Joel.... very informative

My only problem is that I have the Pulsar SPORT.
Paul_TC4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 02:14 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

Paul... Never pay mind to what mah it says it takes when you charge, it's a mathemetical estimation.... If I'm not charging anything you can try discharging some on my T35.....
__________________
I still lurk....
vtl1180ny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 02:35 PM   #14
Tech Master
 
Paul_TC4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,015
Send a message via AIM to Paul_TC4
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vtl1180ny
If I'm not charging anything you can try discharging some on my T35.....
Very cool.... thanks Allan.
Paul_TC4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GP3300 rays_tt Australia For Sale/Trade 0 07-24-2006 06:06 AM
GP3300 different? noobie Electric On-Road 10 08-28-2005 06:02 PM
Gp3300 Sp Veteq Electric On-Road 2 11-24-2003 12:38 AM
New GP3300 warlord385 Electric On-Road 3 01-21-2003 04:21 PM
XRAY T1 Evo 2: Building Advice, or setup advice Carbon_Fibre3 Electric On-Road 9 01-03-2003 02:44 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:29 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net