R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-14-2012, 11:13 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Dread Pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: OC/RC Raceway
Posts: 248
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default Orion Program Box Adapter (where is it?)

I just bought a Vortex R10 Pro Brushless ESC (#65102) and the Programing Box (65150).

The instructions say to connect them to use the adapter.
No adapter in the Programming Box, no adapter listed on the Orion web site, no adapters listed on the various retail sites.

Anybody got ideas?
__________________
"We face each other as God intended. Sportsman-like. No tricks, skill against skill alone." -Fezzik
Dread Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 12:25 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
Benzaah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,991
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dread Pirate View Post
I just bought a Vortex R10 Pro Brushless ESC (#65102) and the Programing Box (65150).

The instructions say to connect them to use the adapter.
No adapter in the Programming Box, no adapter listed on the Orion web site, no adapters listed on the various retail sites.

Anybody got ideas?
There should be a cord in the program box that connects via a servo plug to the box and sensor wire to the speed controller. If you do not have this then you are in trouble. It should be in the program card box. Mines was. This is what you need. Not the fan obviously.

__________________
Adelaide RC - XRAY Xb216de & Xb416

Walter Rc Hobby - Serpent 4X

Nosram - R1wurks - Sanwa - Hudy - Muchmore
Benzaah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 02:31 AM   #3
Tech Regular
 
lore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Singapore but Italian
Posts: 328
Send a message via MSN to lore Send a message via Skype™ to lore
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dread Pirate View Post
I just bought a Vortex R10 Pro Brushless ESC (#65102) and the Programing Box (65150).

The instructions say to connect them to use the adapter.
No adapter in the Programming Box, no adapter listed on the Orion web site, no adapters listed on the various retail sites.

Anybody got ideas?
Hi, the cable is what is in the picture but actually come together with the Vortex R10 Pro ESC and not the program card. Check inside the box of the ESC and should be there.

Lorenzo
__________________
RB6 / RT6 / ZX6 / SC6
AE12 R5.1 / F104 Exotek / Tamiya Mini 500 Abarth
Orion R10 Pro all the way
lore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 03:23 AM   #4
Tech Addict
 
smith9turbo's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Thailand
Posts: 540
Default


i don't have this adaptor with my R10pro too.
So, i must use ESC signal wire for connect to my program box instead.

but if someone can tell me that,
what pin of sensor plug of this adaptor is connect to the white wire of servo plug of this adaptor?
i think, i can build it by myself.
smith9turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 06:28 AM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Dread Pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: OC/RC Raceway
Posts: 248
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Found it! It came with the ESC, not the Program Box.

Thank you!
__________________
"We face each other as God intended. Sportsman-like. No tricks, skill against skill alone." -Fezzik
Dread Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 03:50 PM   #6
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Does anyone know where you can purchase this adapter? I seem to have misplaced mine that came with the R10 Pro and just got the programming box.
Dial Din is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 01:29 PM   #7
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dial Din View Post
Does anyone know where you can purchase this adapter? I seem to have misplaced mine that came with the R10 Pro and just got the programming box.
In case anyone's looking for one of these, I just found that you can purchase the Orion programming box adapter at Horizonhobby.com, I'd post the link but haven't made enough posts on this forum to do so yet :-\

Here's the part number to search on their site ORI65151
Dial Din is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 09:21 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
richclo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 147
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

So, i can use the motor sensor wire to plug in to the adapter then to the program box?
richclo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 10:18 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Racing4Evo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,118
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Racing4Evo
Default

yes or you can plug in another sensor wire to the extra open sensor port.
Racing4Evo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 10:27 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
asc6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Meridian Idaho
Posts: 3,386
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by richclo View Post
So, i can use the motor sensor wire to plug in to the adapter then to the program box?
not can, it is a must, the only way is to use the adapter. Because there are two sensor wire ports on the R10 many of us leave the motor sensor wire as it is and use the second port for the sensor/adapter to the box.
__________________
"you reach the limit, you touch the limit, then you pass the limit, now there is a new limit"
Ayrton Senna
asc6000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 10:34 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
asc6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Meridian Idaho
Posts: 3,386
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I posted these last year in case someone wants to make their own

__________________
"you reach the limit, you touch the limit, then you pass the limit, now there is a new limit"
Ayrton Senna
asc6000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 10:26 PM   #12
avs
Tech Master
 
avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,175
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asc6000 View Post
I posted these last year in case someone wants to make their own

Hi, I just got a R10 1s used, but with no plug. can you re-post the wiring diagram to make my own?

thanks very much.
__________________
Tony Shimko
avs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 10:08 AM   #13
avs
Tech Master
 
avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,175
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

i found the standard pin usage in the roar rulebook.
Pin #1- ground potential
Pin #2- phase C
Pin #3- phase B
Pin #4- phase A
Pin #5- temp control, 10 k Thermistor referenced to ground potential
Pin #6- + 5.0 volts =/- 10%

so the positive, ground (6,1) are clear, but which pin is used for the signal? #5 makes the most sense.

if someone has one of these, could they verify which pin is the signal? thanks very much.
__________________
Tony Shimko
avs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 05:17 PM   #14
Tech Fanatic
 
egalsim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 854
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone have the wiring diagram for this adapter? I need to make my own right now.
__________________
Associated RC10B6 / Kyosho Optima / Associated Tekno SC8e / Awesomatix A700exl / Serpent Cobra BE 2.1 Rally / Kyosho MP9 Tki3.5 Tekno V4 / Xray Xb4 2017 / Serpent SDX4
egalsim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2016, 08:05 PM   #15
Tech Fanatic
 
Drew Manzella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Christiansburg VA
Posts: 975
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by egalsim View Post
Does anyone have the wiring diagram for this adapter? I need to make my own right now.
Pins 1,5 and 6
Drew Manzella is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Orion R10 review the big rc Radio and Electronics 1943 09-03-2017 04:40 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:27 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net