R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-02-2006, 01:10 PM   #931
Tech Regular
 
WRXTC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 282
Default

I don't direct solder my packs so it can't be because of excessive heat. It is still a good little unit and I will just set it to 7 cells with a 1.1 cut off and equalise with my smart tray after that!
WRXTC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 02:28 PM   #932
Tech Adept
 
BlueR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WRXTC
My packs are matched by one of the best matchers in the country. Erik himself claimed (if you bothered to read the whole thread) that the spintec pretty much matches each cell and will not drop a cell below the 0.9v which is total BULLSHIT and false advertising..
who is this best matcher that can keep cells perfectly matched forever?? its pretty obviose one cell has less run time than the other. that just happens. matching helps minimise that.

and where did erik say " spintec matches each cell and will not drop a cell below the 0.9v" ? when people say 0.9v cutoff its generally easier to say because that is independent of the number of cells your have.

saying 0.9v cutoff is easier than say "6.3v (7 cell) or 5.4v (6cell) or 3.6v (4cell)"

if you still somehow believe it can be EQUILISED by disch in series then you are sadly mistaken.
BlueR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 09:29 PM   #933
Tech Regular
 
WRXTC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 282
Default

I decided to cycle one of my old GP3300 packs with the Spintec. Dead shorted the pack on my smart tray and charged it at 5.5 amps. Took in 3213mah and 9.46v.

I then hooked it up to the Spintec and set the cut off at .8v per cell and used the CV function (works best on old packs according to the manual).
3 hours went by and my final numbers were
2545mah IR 8 seconds 231 v 5.6

Totally inconsistant with the numbers that came off my charger. Why would it only take out 2545mah when 3213mah went in? I am new to this understanding IR and mah numbers so I am not having a shot at the spintec and will see what happens when I fully charge pack again.
WRXTC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 10:58 PM   #934
Tech Adept
 
BlueR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WRXTC
I decided to cycle one of my old GP3300 packs with the Spintec. Dead shorted the pack on my smart tray and charged it at 5.5 amps. Took in 3213mah and 9.46v.

I then hooked it up to the Spintec and set the cut off at .8v per cell and used the CV function (works best on old packs according to the manual).
3 hours went by and my final numbers were
2545mah IR 8 seconds 231 v 5.6

Totally inconsistant with the numbers that came off my charger. Why would it only take out 2545mah when 3213mah went in? I am new to this understanding IR and mah numbers so I am not having a shot at the spintec and will see what happens when I fully charge pack again.

some of the energy has been lost as heat.

give you example. transfer 1000 ml of water from one beaker to the next. when you transfer the water, you get spillage and also in the old beaker there are still a few drops of water left, also some water may evaporated, so you may only get 995ml....
BlueR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2006, 08:40 AM   #935
Tech Elite
 
Jack Smash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,897
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WRXTC
I decided to cycle one of my old GP3300 packs with the Spintec. Dead shorted the pack on my smart tray and charged it at 5.5 amps. Took in 3213mah and 9.46v.

I then hooked it up to the Spintec and set the cut off at .8v per cell and used the CV function (works best on old packs according to the manual).
3 hours went by and my final numbers were
2545mah IR 8 seconds 231 v 5.6

Totally inconsistant with the numbers that came off my charger. Why would it only take out 2545mah when 3213mah went in? I am new to this understanding IR and mah numbers so I am not having a shot at the spintec and will see what happens when I fully charge pack again.
Part of that is due to the fact that you took all the energy out of the cell (deadshort 0.0v) and when you discharged you only took the cells down to .8v. Another thing is that the IR of that pack is pretty high since I see that it peaked at 9.46v. You lost a lot of that 3213mah going into the pack due to resistance.
__________________
Kyosho / Orion / Amain.com / Protek / MIP /
Jack Smash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2006, 04:01 PM   #936
Tech Regular
 
WRXTC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 282
Default

Well that same pack went back on my charger and it took in 3723mah and peaked at 9.28v 46 degrees celcius at 5.5 amp charge 30mv cut off So the Spintec really does what it says. I will just have to be careful when using it for IB cells but after conditioning one old GP3300 pack and getting those results I am extremely happy with the V2
WRXTC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2006, 02:04 AM   #937
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WRXTC
Why would it only take out 2545mah when 3213mah went in?
Although this has already been mentioned in this thread. I hope you understand that there is no way ever that of the 100% you put into a battery pack you'll get that same 100% out.

Main source of loss is heat/resistance in the charging part. It takes a certain amount of energy to raise the temperature of your pack from roomtemperature (say 20 degrees) to the maximum temperature (say 50 degrees).
This energy is supplied by your charger and is counted as energy going into your pack. Most of it is stored chemically in the NiMH but the rest of it is used to heat up the pack.
When you discharge your pack the reverse happens. Although the BatMan keeps your pack cool so little is waisted on heating up the pack, still some energy is lost in the packs internal resistance.

All this explains the difference between the energy your charger supplied to the pack and what comes out with discharging.

Hope this helps...
MBreve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2006, 02:20 PM   #938
JRB
Tech Initiate
 
JRB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 38
Default Faulty Spintec

Firstly i'd like to say what a good bit of kit the Spintec is, but i'm ashamed to say that mine seems to of developed a bit fault. It will start the cycle fine and after a while the screen blanks out , to which i first pressumed the pack had just gone flat . So i plug in the next one to cycle down when the screen then tells me that the last cycle was not completed, and then proceeds to tell me the data logged, which according to the numbers would lead me to believe that it is not working for very long before it cuts out. Can any one shed any light on this please ?

Thanks in advance JRB
JRB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 08:05 PM   #939
agp
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 206
Default

just got hold of a spintec BM v1. discharging my fully charge IB4200 from 12pm to this morning 10.00am , now the BM is showing doing maintenance plse wait for almost an hour????

is it normal? almost 12hours to discharge an 4200 nimh batt?
agp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2006, 04:35 AM   #940
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 154
Default

I have IB3800 6cell pack.
After the pack had been discharged with BM2(cv mode),
I have looked at each cell with a voltmeter.
It was 0.64V. It is OK????
I heard that the cell has a voltage below 0.9, it'll be hurt the cell.
Help me.
xtaiji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2006, 04:38 AM   #941
agp
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 206
Default

mine oni 0.4+v using spintec BM v1
agp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 11:00 PM   #942
Tech Master
 
akuhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,155
Default

Hi all,

I plan to buy this Spintec BM v2, but I have one question :

I know it takes time to discharge a cell with pulse discharger (different with my orion digital (linear) discharge -> 20amp 5.4V for less than 5 minutes) but will BM v2 keep on discharging after it reaches the cut off (let's say 1.0V for IB4200) ?
or it will totally stop after it reaches the cut off voltage.... ?

TIA,
akuhon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 09:32 AM   #943
Tech Fanatic
 
SlamMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 847
Default

On the fastest setting, about how long does the version 2 Battery Manager take to discharge a pack that's just been raced? How about the slower settings?

This may sound silly but can this replace my light bulb discharger?
__________________
Michael H

OnRoadColorado.com
Colorado On Road RC Club
SlamMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 04:41 PM   #944
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 308
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have the first spintec, and i was wondering if Erik could answer one doubt i have.

I know that the spintec v1 work for 5 cell. However, since there is a fixed cut-off voltage, the 'mantenance mode' is executed at a higher voltage (average 1.1v per cell instead of .85v).

The question is: will this afect the performance of the maintenance mode?

Or do we europeans have to get the v2 for best performance?

Thanks in advance

Bruno
Itchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2006, 10:43 AM   #945
Tech Fanatic
 
SlamMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 847
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlamMan
On the fastest setting, about how long does the version 2 Battery Manager take to discharge a pack that's just been raced? How about the slower settings?

This may sound silly but can this replace my light bulb discharger?
Bump for my question.
__________________
Michael H

OnRoadColorado.com
Colorado On Road RC Club
SlamMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hakko 936, Spintec battery manager, Ko Ex-10, Spektrum Pro, tekin battery doctor Breeze R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 12-08-2007 09:47 PM
FS SPINTEC BATTERY MANAGER kvrc R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 10-05-2007 02:22 PM
Spintec Battery Manager Kletke R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 18 11-14-2006 08:54 AM
Spintec Battery Manager olhipster1 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 10-29-2006 05:44 PM
SPINTEC battery manager wikedgmc R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 02-22-2006 09:19 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:35 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net