R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-23-2005, 08:33 AM   #286
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 36
Default

Erik Thanks for your reply.

Does the time get shorter when the batteries have less IR?
SagaMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2005, 10:46 AM   #287
Tech Regular
 
EVOtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kent
Posts: 331
Default Faulty Spintec BM

Erik

I bought a Spintec BM from Models in Motion in the UK.

Its lasted less than a week and only done 10 packs. The display froze on voltage some way through run 11.

It now looks (only looks) as though its working but it isn't actually discharging the packs. I have returned it to Models in Motion for replacement.

Just a point, but all goods sold in the UK must be warrantied for 12 months from date of purchase.
EVOtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2005, 03:01 AM   #288
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 140
Default

SagaMike:
We have not noticed any direct relation to IR, but older packs do tend to take longer for the maintenance part.

EVOtech:
I'm very sorry to hear this. Ofcourse the unit will be replaced as soon as possible. Please let me know if I can be of any help in this ([email protected]).
Erik Jonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2005, 04:51 AM   #289
Tech Master
 
OHBRAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 1,144
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to OHBRAD
Default Results

Rell me guys,

when i read all the data, what am i looking for??

What is a good IR?
What is a good amount to have left?

regards Brad
__________________
Yokomo BD818 | Sanwa | HW | Zombie | Team Yokomo | Meakin Park | Bayside | Hearns Hobbie | SpeedyRC
OHBRAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2005, 05:13 AM   #290
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: France
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erik Jonk
Simon:
You discharge your pack as soon as possible after racing. 500 mAh would roughly take 15 minutes or so.

Hope I answered all the questions.... if not.... ask them again!
Ok thanks Erik but with your advice i have to leave my cell empty ? is it not bad to leave the cell empty (Gp3700) during a week or more ? so perhaps should i use BM before charging my batterie ? perhaps in that way it's less efficiency ?

let me know please
Simon
simon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2005, 06:32 AM   #291
Tech Master
 
OHBRAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 1,144
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to OHBRAD
Default test

Ok Discharged my first pak and got the following results, but what does it all mean

Runtime: 227
Average Volt: 7.34
Internal resistance: 29.0
Energy: 49.9
Capacity:2017

regards Brad
__________________
Yokomo BD818 | Sanwa | HW | Zombie | Team Yokomo | Meakin Park | Bayside | Hearns Hobbie | SpeedyRC
OHBRAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2005, 08:01 AM   #292
Tech Regular
 
EVOtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kent
Posts: 331
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erik Jonk
SagaMike:
We have not noticed any direct relation to IR, but older packs do tend to take longer for the maintenance part.

EVOtech:
I'm very sorry to hear this. Ofcourse the unit will be replaced as soon as possible. Please let me know if I can be of any help in this ([email protected]).

Erik,

Helger are apparently sending me a replacement today.
EVOtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2005, 08:03 AM   #293
Tech Regular
 
EVOtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kent
Posts: 331
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by simon
Ok thanks Erik but with your advice i have to leave my cell empty ? is it not bad to leave the cell empty (Gp3700) during a week or more ? so perhaps should i use BM before charging my batterie ? perhaps in that way it's less efficiency ?

let me know please
Simon
up to a week it is OK empty, over a week, about a 5-10 minute charge, then fully discharge again before race charging.
EVOtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 03:32 AM   #294
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 140
Default

Evotech, everything sorted out?
Erik Jonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 07:16 AM   #295
Tech Regular
 
EVOtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kent
Posts: 331
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erik Jonk
Evotech, everything sorted out?
Erik,

I have a replacement unit, but there may still be a problem or two.

The new unit is producing figures that are about 10% lower than the original unit. Although that is acceptable for producing comparative measurements to benchmark packs, it may lean on the side of provoking new packs to be bought.

I have made rough comparisons by discharging at 30A and keeping the pack as cool as possible on a blower tray. This at least seems to indicate that the new unit is innacurate.

The new unit does not seem to go into firmware/best pack mode. The old one did.

The new unit sems to have trouble measuring a 3000HV pack that I know is good. It may be related to extremely quick voltage fall-off at about 350 runtime. The unit resets and says that the previous run was incomplete. It has done this three times now on this pack. Very frustrating.

Other than this, all is rosy.
EVOtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 07:38 AM   #296
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 140
Default

Hello Evotech,
Sorry to hear that. Please let me know how I can help you. If you wish you can sent in your unit directly to us, I will make sure you get a new one as soon as possible.

Good that everything else is rosy...
Erik Jonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 07:44 AM   #297
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Hey Erik,

Have just started going through my packs for their first BatMan run and I was curious to know what you where seing as normal Runtime and IR numbers on GP3300's?
Thanks,
Stephen <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 08:55 AM   #298
Tech Elite
 
rocketron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: palm desert
Posts: 2,266
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Evotech - you may want to check that the clips are connected securely to the leads on the unit.

while reading your problem it reminded me of my experience. mine too reset and would say previous cycle did not complete type information.

i found that the clips had only been crimped and had worked lose and after fixing this the unit has performed perfectly.
rocketron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2005, 01:28 AM   #299
Tech Adept
 
jarkkom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: helsinki, finland
Posts: 208
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to jarkkom
Default

I've been running 3 benchmark cycles on my old (must be like 40 charges) race pack and the IR doesn't wan't to come down from the 58-60 range. Runtime has gone up quite a bit as the in/out mAh too tho'..

I'm gettin 399 seconds with 7,53V and nearly 3600mAh from the pack which is rated 1.180V 425 seconds on a CE matcher. Anyone getting similar results?

My peak voltage on my charger has also gone up but I think it is because I'm using Cell Master with a Zero Cut feature which terminates the charge 'before' the voltage on the pack drops..

Haven't been able to run the pack on the track yet but it looks promising and maybe the IR will come down when I can get some eau naturel discharging on it.
jarkkom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2005, 05:46 AM   #300
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 140
Default

Mr. Shookie,
Around 450 seconds, with IR around 40 is what I see a lot.

Evotech,
What Rocketron says could be right. We had a batch in which we first crimped the crocodile clips to the wire, and then soldered it. But unfortunately we've had a few in which the solder did not flow sufficiently. This caused bad contact and weird behaviour. Later we changed the process, not crimping anymore only soldering. Since then everything seems fine. Please check if that's the case with your unit!
Erik Jonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hakko 936, Spintec battery manager, Ko Ex-10, Spektrum Pro, tekin battery doctor Breeze R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 12-08-2007 09:47 PM
FS SPINTEC BATTERY MANAGER kvrc R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 10-05-2007 02:22 PM
Spintec Battery Manager Kletke R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 18 11-14-2006 08:54 AM
Spintec Battery Manager olhipster1 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 10-29-2006 05:44 PM
SPINTEC battery manager wikedgmc R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 02-22-2006 09:19 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:03 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net