R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-08-2005, 01:48 PM   #211
Tech Addict
 
LeoChan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 567
Send a message via ICQ to LeoChan
Default

Why discharge need long time ?
LeoChan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2005, 02:37 PM   #212
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 105
Default

Because of the CoolFlex it doesn't discharge at 30A all the time. This would make your batteries hot and you don't want that.

It discharges at 30A and then let's your battery cool down again. I don't know the exact number but it discharges for example only 10% of the time, the other 90% of the time is to keep the battery (and the BatMan) cool and make acurate mesurements.

Let's assume it discharges 10% of the time. If your final discharge time is 400 seconds, your stopwatch would say 4000 seconds.
MBreve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2005, 05:18 PM   #213
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: auburn washington
Posts: 2,053
Default

well you just answered the question i was going to ask, i noticed that the runtime (in seconds) was way off, but your explaintion makes sense, thanks.
Turtlemaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 01:40 AM   #214
Tech Elite
 
highwayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,334
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Re: the numbers are in!

Quote:
Originally posted by Hebiki
discharged three of my packs after racing tonight.

here's the first run (the batteries sat awhile..so im sure the numbers are off)

pack1/pack2/pack3

IR: 44/70/54
Voltage: 6.91/6.28/6.34

after racing tonight.. i discharged them all. batteries have been sitting around 2-3 hours since i got done racing (first set of numbers, the batteries sat around for days)

pack1/pack2/pack3

IR: 34/33.5/44
Voltage: 7.22/7.22/6.97


would this prove that the 2nd charge is indeed stronger than the 1st? thanks -jason
highwayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 11:39 AM   #215
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: the numbers are in!

Quote:
Originally posted by Erik Jonk
Hebiki, I suggest not to increase the wire length. By doing this you will lose accuracy, the device is callibrated for this length of wire. 35 amps is a lot, and the voltage drop across the wires is in the equation. If you still decide to do it, increasing the wire length without opening the unit is fine. I suggest remove the alligator clips and solder on some longer wires. Cover it nicely with shrink wrap. Try not to increase it by more than 10 cm's. But remember, measurement readings could be changed after that.
Erik

nah.. i wont lengthen the wires. too lazy. plus it'll change the readings like you said. my question for you is... are there any negative effects on the spintec if we have it sitting on top of a small fan while its discharging?

Quote:
Originally posted by highwayman
would this prove that the 2nd charge is indeed stronger than the 1st? thanks -jason
i raced those packs for the first time yesterday...and i couldnt feel the difference in stock (track was long and flowing) BUT.... my car had a lot more rip in 19T. ill have a third set of numbers for some of my packs. ill post when i get home. i noticed one pack dropped 10 in the IR dept, each time i discharged it on the spintec
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 12:59 PM   #216
Tech Master
 
Alex C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: On a ship in the warm seas with no sail !!!
Posts: 1,638
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default Equalizing batteries

Hi Erik,

Question, should I still equalize my batteries prior to charging, or just run the Battery Manager then charge.

Just trying to justify if traying a battery really makes a difference.
__________________
Alex Cortez
Thank You to all My Sponsors
Ko Propo USA / RC America - Xray - Hudy / Max Power Engines / VP PowerMaster Fuel / Team Espo - "Lay it down Prop"!!!!
Alex C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 01:19 PM   #217
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

i know i aint Erik but i think trays that you can't change the voltage on are pointless, or any that aint below 0.7v.

i use a smart tray at 0.6 and still some lights go out with seconds, spintec claim the discharger goes down to 0.85, i know for a fact it takes some down to less then 0.7.
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 04:42 PM   #218
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carlinville IL
Posts: 670
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know where I can order one from. I emailed rcmodel-hk to see is they actually had them in stock but I haven't got a reply from them. I tried RcSynergy as well but he said that he was out of them for the next couple weeks. I know Horizon is going to get them but I am don't want to have to wait that long.
Thanks
dway100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 04:52 PM   #219
Tech Elite
 
PitCrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Seattle Indoor Raceway
Posts: 2,129
Default

Quote:
i use a smart tray at 0.6 and still some lights go out with seconds, spintec claim the discharger goes down to 0.85, i know for a fact it takes some down to less then 0.7.
There is NO WAY this device or any other device that discharges the entire pack at once can cut-off at a per-cell voltage.

I am sure if it says it cuts of at .85 volts, the unit is calibrated to cut-off at 5.1 volts. Therefore, you could have 5 good cells going and one thats completly tanked, and the discharger would still keep discharging.....

This is ultimatly why a discharge tray is the only way to get all your cells to an even point. Besides dead shorting, but you need to take down a whole pack very slowly if you don't have a tray, and you want to dead short. Otherwise, you can be damaging the cells that have allready gone dead prior to cut-off.
PitCrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 05:52 PM   #220
Tech Regular
 
tboned_2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Costa Mesa
Posts: 391
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Dway- I purchased yesterday. So I will post when i get it.
tboned_2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 08:25 PM   #221
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carlinville IL
Posts: 670
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Where did you order from? I would like to get one on order.
Thanks
dway100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 09:38 PM   #222
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Talking Erik...your famous

Erik

posted a product review of the Spintec Battery Manager on the TAOB Racing website. check it out.

http://www.taobracing.net/index.shtml

here's a direct link to the review:
http://www.taobracing.net/review_spintec.shtml

- Chris
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 09:54 PM   #223
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carlinville IL
Posts: 670
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Hebiki
Where did you order yours from?
dway100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 09:58 PM   #224
Tech Addict
 
LeoChan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 567
Send a message via ICQ to LeoChan
Default

I'm yesterday go to RC MODEL see instock
LeoChan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 10:07 PM   #225
Tech Addict
 
LeoChan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 567
Send a message via ICQ to LeoChan
Default

If you order need use this e-Mail : [email protected]
LeoChan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hakko 936, Spintec battery manager, Ko Ex-10, Spektrum Pro, tekin battery doctor Breeze R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 12-08-2007 09:47 PM
FS SPINTEC BATTERY MANAGER kvrc R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 10-05-2007 02:22 PM
Spintec Battery Manager Kletke R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 18 11-14-2006 08:54 AM
Spintec Battery Manager olhipster1 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 10-29-2006 05:44 PM
SPINTEC battery manager wikedgmc R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 02-22-2006 09:19 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:46 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net