R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-11-2012, 08:28 AM   #16
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,620
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Theres no VBC reps on here ....i hate that ....anyways if more then 5 people have bought this please tell me what you did with the steering arm...the stock one is too long!!!!!
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 09:09 AM   #17
Tech Master
 
locked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,758
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Can't you just use a shorter turnbuckle for the link from the servo to the rack?

I think the ones that come with the T3'12 kit are too long, so I just used a turnbuckle from another car that was about the right size.

Not everything always works perfectly and you sometimes have to figure out your own solutions. Get creative. You'll feel a sense of accomplishment when you figure things out on your own
__________________
Dave Locke
Team PerformanceHobbies.ca | ORCA RC | Bodies by Brandon | Team Meeting
XRAY T4'15 x2 | XRAY XB4 | XRAY XB8E | XRAY XB8
locked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 10:31 AM   #18
Tech Elite
 
dr_hfuhuhurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,502
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

.wrong thread.
__________________
"There is a fine line between hobby and mental illness. Which side are you on?"

“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.” - John Wayne
dr_hfuhuhurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 12:17 PM   #19
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,620
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by locked View Post
Can't you just use a shorter turnbuckle for the link from the servo to the rack?

I think the ones that come with the T3'12 kit are too long, so I just used a turnbuckle from another car that was about the right size.

Not everything always works perfectly and you sometimes have to figure out your own solutions. Get creative. You'll feel a sense of accomplishment when you figure things out on your own
haha thats what i did!.....but for guys who dont have a short turnbuckle when they go buy this kit and take it home are gonna be dissapointed because it doesnt mention that u need that shorter turnbuckle so when u go home get it all done and if you dont have spares its gonna be a shitty feeling having to drive back to the hobby shop just for a shorter turnbuckle that they wish was mentioned while there where at the hobby shop at the first place .....if its not a direct bolt on from your exsiting parts it should be mentioned.
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 12:45 AM   #20
Tech Elite
 
blade072's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Adelaide S.A
Posts: 2,670
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Default

the servo turnbuckle from the original t3 and t311...works perfectly......
on another matter, i have finally started to build mine...just wanted to know did you guys set your servo spacing so that both the ball on the servo and the steering lever parallel in neutral position
???? (could i see a pic if possible thanks)
__________________
David Randall

AWESOMATIX A800X ★ MUCHMORE ★ R1 WURKS ★
ROCHE RAPIDE F1-16 ★ SANWA M12 ★ SILVERBACK ★
HOBBYWING ★ RCMAKER ★ VOLANTE RC ★
blade072 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 10:41 AM   #21
Tech Elite
 
Potoczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 3,609
Trader Rating: 112 (100%+)
Default

Bringing this thread up to the top. Anymore feedback on guys running this chassis?? Would this setup work on a t3 10?
__________________
Pete Potoczak

Home entertainment specialist
Secure Technologies/ www.stiworldwide.com
Potoczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 11:07 AM   #22
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 405
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I just upgraded my t3 2010 to the vbc, went together great. Have not run the car yet with it hoping to run it this weekend.
__________________
VORRA; www.RVAHobbies.com; www.ashfordhobby.com; www.tqwire.com
bgrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 01:07 PM   #23
Tech Elite
 
Potoczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 3,609
Trader Rating: 112 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bgrick View Post
I just upgraded my t3 2010 to the vbc, went together great. Have not run the car yet with it hoping to run it this weekend.
Which chassis did you go with flex or stiff?? Report back on your thoughts..Thanks
__________________
Pete Potoczak

Home entertainment specialist
Secure Technologies/ www.stiworldwide.com
Potoczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 01:54 PM   #24
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 405
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I went with the flex, yea will do hope it make a total turn around for the car because it did not like carpet before.
__________________
VORRA; www.RVAHobbies.com; www.ashfordhobby.com; www.tqwire.com
bgrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 04:16 PM   #25
Tech Elite
 
303slowdown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rapid City SD.
Posts: 2,299
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

I've been running the flex version on carpet for quite some time and it works well. At first I had trouble getting the car to turn the same left to right, after weeks of dissapiontment I rebuilt the steering rack and reshimmed it then it worked fine. So make sure the rack is as free as can be.
__________________
Ryan Borgheiinck
303slowdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 06:13 PM   #26
Tech Elite
 
Potoczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 3,609
Trader Rating: 112 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 303slowdown View Post
I've been running the flex version on carpet for quite some time and it works well. At first I had trouble getting the car to turn the same left to right, after weeks of dissapiontment I rebuilt the steering rack and reshimmed it then it worked fine. So make sure the rack is as free as can be.

Thanks for the tip I will keep that in mind.
__________________
Pete Potoczak

Home entertainment specialist
Secure Technologies/ www.stiworldwide.com
Potoczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 06:14 PM   #27
Tech Elite
 
Potoczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 3,609
Trader Rating: 112 (100%+)
Default

Any pointers on a setup for carpet??
__________________
Pete Potoczak

Home entertainment specialist
Secure Technologies/ www.stiworldwide.com
Potoczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 08:22 PM   #28
Tech Elite
 
303slowdown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rapid City SD.
Posts: 2,299
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Potoczak View Post
Any pointers on a setup for carpet??
Im running med roll center suspention pieces in front and high in the rear to get the car to rotate better , medium short length camber links in the front and short in the rear , then play withe different link roll center washers to taylor the car to your style. (I'm running the vbc upper clamps). The chassis works very well and I've been much more consistent with it
__________________
Ryan Borgheiinck
303slowdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:32 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net