R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   opinions for new car for VTA and 17.5 (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/589005-opinions-new-car-vta-17-5-a.html)

utah300rum 01-18-2012 11:08 AM

opinions for new car for VTA and 17.5

Looking for input on getting some new cars, with a tight budget.

I am a still a newbie and this was the first year we had a place to run indoor carpet.

I didnt have much cash so I got 2 TC4 rollers one rtr and one carbon fiber FT

The rtr for 21.5 vintage and the FT carbon fiber for 17.5

The 17.5 handles pretty well just needs a better driver ;). But the vintage I am really struggling with.

I have decided I like running onroad so now I am trying to decide whether to stick with the TC4's or try a new platform.

The Xray and TC6 are out of my price range...even used they are a little steep.

I see alot of good reviews on the Sakura Zero S.... would that be a good "next step" for a beginner?

mkiiina 01-18-2012 11:13 AM

I have 2 TC4's and they aren't that bad but if you move into something like an X-ray its a night and day difference. For VTA I'd just play with setup alot and stick to one chassis. Make parts easier to have on hand for trouble areas and you can rob parts as needed.

Are you using traction compound at all? When I started running carpet that was something I didn't know enough about but some of the local guys really helped me find a system that worked.

Paragon Ground Effects, sauce and gently wipe tire, repeat until clean (usually go around 2x), wipe gently but leave tire pretty wet until you get ready to race, then wipe off remaining. Also I do the whole front tire (some only do 1/2 the tire or so)

utah300rum 01-18-2012 11:21 AM

I looked and an Xray T3R a few guys have them....but I cant swing the $260 each and the spare parts are a little to pricey for me :eek: