R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   burned esc (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/588693-burned-esc.html)

alexinter7 01-17-2012 03:03 PM

burned esc

Ok so i was running my on-road car at the track, im new to rc so i was going full throttle and braking a lot, my esc got really hot and now the car wont go, the motor just twitches so i got to reading and researching and i read something about if you drive full throttle and brake a lot the esc gets "voltage spikes" is this true? How can i avoid it next time? Oooh by the way its a sensorless setup, flux vapor esc and flux vektor motor any help is appreciated

alexinter7 01-17-2012 05:06 PM

Anyone know about this? Plz share some knowledge guys tnx

mkiiina 01-17-2012 05:08 PM

How were your motor temps? Does the esc smell burned? What was your gearings?

Also usually you only bump a thread once every 24 hrs. Not everyone is on the forums all the time.

alexinter7 01-17-2012 05:13 PM

Originally Posted by mkiiina (Post 10187178)
How were your motor temps? Does the esc smell burned? What was your gearings?

Also usually you only bump a thread once every 24 hrs. Not everyone is on the forums all the time.

Ok i didnt get temps but i do know the motor wasnt hot the esc was though. The gearing was 23 pinion 93 spur

About the bump part tnx i didnt know that im new here i do appreciate any help though

alexinter7 01-17-2012 05:14 PM

And the esc doesnt smell burnt

mkiiina 01-17-2012 05:29 PM

what are you running (chassis, battery)? We need more information. Define hot? Could you touch it, if so how long could you have your finger on it?

When you pulled it off the track how was it acting? After you charged the batteries did you have the same problem?

Voltage spikes used to be a bigger problem when the batteries couldn't keep up.

Fast04STi 01-17-2012 05:36 PM