R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-24-2004, 11:25 AM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 30
Default Radio glitching

I'm having a strange problem with the electronics in my TC3. I've been using these electronics for a couploe years now and never had a problem. However, today I started working on moving everything over to a new car. My current car is a plain old Factory Team TC3. The new car is a TC3 with a carbon fiber BMI Racing chassis.

I installed the electronics in the new car and powered everything up without any problems. The problem happens, as I add throttle. The motor as well as the steering will periodically glitch for about half a second. There doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason to when it does it although it seems like its more prevelent at higher speeds. Obviously, at speed on the track this could spell disaster

Could the carbon fiber chassis be making my reciever glitch? Both the receiver and transmitter are JR Racing units and they're only a couple of years old.
plbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2004, 12:31 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
howard hudson's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: some damned place called Iowa
Posts: 4,245
Default Re: Radio glitching

Quote:
Originally posted by plbman
I'm having a strange problem with the electronics in my TC3. I've been using these electronics for a couploe years now and never had a problem. However, today I started working on moving everything over to a new car. My current car is a plain old Factory Team TC3. The new car is a TC3 with a carbon fiber BMI Racing chassis.

I installed the electronics in the new car and powered everything up without any problems. The problem happens, as I add throttle. The motor as well as the steering will periodically glitch for about half a second. There doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason to when it does it although it seems like its more prevelent at higher speeds. Obviously, at speed on the track this could spell disaster

Could the carbon fiber chassis be making my reciever glitch? Both the receiver and transmitter are JR Racing units and they're only a couple of years old.
yes the CF chassie could cause glitching. It acts like a conductor. try useing at least three pieces of servo tape when mounting your electronics. Or get a yokomo noise filter they run about 20 bucks from speedtech.

good luck
__________________
what the heck is r/c car??? ( said in your best redneck voice)

'OL BUZZARD FARMING (lol)
howard hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2004, 12:54 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 444
Default

if your antenea is touching the cf top platre you'll get glitching also
sportracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2004, 07:20 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
KREATOR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,706
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to KREATOR1
Default

i had one of these problem before, but after cutting the motor comm. It will work fine again , and no glitch.

Also you may have to change your radio antena
__________________
TA04ss / TA04TRF / TB EvoIII/ TB02 /DF02 / M03L / TRF414m2 / TRF415 / TRF415MS / TRF415MSX / MRE
KREATOR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2004, 07:27 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
ntc3freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 3,308
Default

slide a piece of fuel tubing where the antenna touches the carbon fibre.hope this helps
ntc3freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2004, 08:10 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
hpipro321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 1,268
Default

or you could cut a small hole in the antena tube just big enough for the antena to fit in there and cover exposing wire with shrink wrap
__________________
d[-.-]b d[-.-]b
d[-.-]b d[-.-]b can you feel the bass? d[-.-]b d[-.-]b
d[-.-]b d[-.-]b
hpipro321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 01:57 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
Team Duratrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NSW, Albury/Wodonga
Posts: 1,674
Send a message via MSN to Team Duratrax
Default

Put a few capacitors on your motor and clean out all the electronics,capacitors help stop glitching considerably
Team Duratrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Severe Radio Glitching Help (Tamiya TA05) AWK Electric On-Road 37 06-11-2007 12:13 PM
Radio glitching sharkonwheels Rookie Zone 5 04-28-2007 02:16 PM
HELP! Glitching Fm Radio... Carbon_Ta04 Electric On-Road 15 06-11-2006 10:22 PM
Perplexing Radio glitching Question aussiedanny Australian Racing 2 04-22-2004 05:34 PM
Carbon fibre chassis versus radio noise / glitching Cole Trickle Electric On-Road 17 12-04-2002 08:31 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:41 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net