R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-13-2006, 11:05 PM   #31
Tech Adept
 
Flam3b0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 240
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

i think his problem also when you switch off the power supply, it will off then go on again then off again. sometimes the on off sequence is more than once. thus u you'll see the led blinking after you switch off the power supply or if you still have equipment plug into the power supply they will go on and off.
Flam3b0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2006, 12:05 AM   #32
Tech Addict
 
jobo_ph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Banos, Laguna, PH
Posts: 698
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to jobo_ph Send a message via Skype™ to jobo_ph
Default

KilRuf: Thanks for the input. I'll have a peek at the solder joints on mine tonight.

Flam3b0y: I had taken what you have described as something normal with the MM Power Master WE because it acts like that whenever I turn off the switch every since I got my unit (new).

---------------

The on-off-on-off thing that I experience occasionally is while the power supply is on (and is in operation) and I am using 2 Ice chargers with a CTXD2 at the track.
jobo_ph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2006, 03:28 PM   #33
Tech Addict
 
jobo_ph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Banos, Laguna, PH
Posts: 698
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to jobo_ph Send a message via Skype™ to jobo_ph
Default

Kilruf: I opened up my Much More Power Master World Edition 2 (24A) last night but I didn't go farther. Too many things to remove before I can check the underside of the PCB. What I did was just "play" the AC cord connector around to see if the power supply would turn off. No, it didn't.

---------------

Anyone from Much More who can answer my questions???
jobo_ph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2006, 03:52 PM   #34
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, I don't recommend taking the case apart. You may void the warranty if there is one. Plus you can get a good shock if you are not careful. I'm used to playing with electronics. Plus I don't give 2cents about warranties.
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 05:49 AM   #35
Tech Regular
 
GymBeam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Losi|Novak|MuchMore
Posts: 434
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

hey guys, does the power master worlds edition2 common to have problems?
GymBeam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2008, 11:15 AM   #36
Tech Elite
 
imprsme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Va.
Posts: 3,733
Trader Rating: 74 (99%+)
Default

I got a question for everyone that uses the MM power supply...

I have been using one for over a year now no problem. At the Birds it started to act up. I get Supply error when charging packs.

I sent it back to Hobby Services, got it back plugged it in....same thing. I called them, was told to send it back.

I did. Called just now and talked to the tech. who tells me that when he test MY PS and a new one that they both test out w/ the same info.

Before sending mine in I did try it at another track, at home and even charged off of a different PS with no problem. So I know its the PS.

Here is the Real question, Does anyone charge 2 packs at more than 7 amps at once w/ the MM PS???

The Tech is telling me that a 24 amp MM PS is not able to handle 14-16 amps for more than 10 mins at a time... Funny thing I have been using it for over a year like that with no problems.

Its hard for me to think I am the only person who has ever tried to charge 2 packs at once with a MM PS! LOL
__________________
AwesomatixUSA
eXpress Motorsports
imprsme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2008, 01:56 PM   #37
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 3,121
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to A. Rhodes
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imprsme View Post
Here is the Real question, Does anyone charge 2 packs at more than 7 amps at once w/ the MM PS???

The Tech is telling me that a 24 amp MM PS is not able to handle 14-16 amps for more than 10 mins at a time... Funny thing I have been using it for over a year like that with no problems.

Its hard for me to think I am the only person who has ever tried to charge 2 packs at once with a MM PS! LOL
I have had the same type of issues with mine, but I also have the CTXD hooked up. I never gor a "supply error", but I have had it overload at only 18A's. I eventually got sick of it tripping out, and got the Integy 36A, and have had 0 issues since making the switch. I charged 3 packs at 8A w/ it yesterday, no issues.
__________________
Retired from RC....
Quantum - St. Croix - Bass Pro Shops - XPS - Rapala
A. Rhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2008, 03:30 PM   #38
Shop Owner
 
nnick's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cheapest prices in Europe ;)
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to nnick Send a message via MSN to nnick Send a message via Yahoo to nnick Send a message via Skype™ to nnick
Default

I use the MM for 2 years

2 CTX-C 6A each (+warmers or coolers depending the weather)
1 CTX-D
1 CTX-W

and never had any issue (unless there was a fluctuation in power from the track)
__________________
Nikolakopoulos Nick
RC RING

The #1 source for all your electric needs www.rcring.eu

Enjoy RCing....
R/C Tech #82
IRT #123

Don't practice until you get it right. Practice until you can't get it wrong

Team Xray T4'17, Team Xray X10'18, TOP Racing Rebel
nnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 11:05 AM   #39
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 289
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jobo_ph View Post
I have the Much More Power Master Worlds Edition.

On two or three occasions at the racetrack, I experienced my power supply doing an on-off-on-off thing (like blinking).

I'd turn the power supply switch off then back on and then I can use it again. Sometimes, the on-off-on-off thing happens again after toggling the switch off then on and running my equipment.

I run 2 Ice chargers and the CTXD2 on this power supply.

What does this mean?

Am I overloading the power supply?

Or is the power supply overheating?

I never experience this when I am using my power supply at home so my guess is, it is overheating.

The fan is said to be IC controlled. Should fan speed be increasing if temps inside the case go higher?

Is there a way for me to make the fan speed slightly faster than normal?
I just experienced same problem. I wanted to charge 2 4S packs at 10amps each. Charger can do it no problem off a car battery however after about 1 minute the Muchmore resets.

I tried 8amps with same results.

It seems it can't handle the 24 amps that it should.
__________________
Michael Zufelt

It's not how you stand next to your car, it's how you race your car.

http://www.dynamichobbies.com
TheZoof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 12:01 PM   #40
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 289
Default

More testing, I can do it at 6amps for each pack however after about 20 minutes I got an error on the charger stating there was an incorrect voltage input.

I sent MM an email. See what can be done...
__________________
Michael Zufelt

It's not how you stand next to your car, it's how you race your car.

http://www.dynamichobbies.com
TheZoof is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Muchmore Power Supply Fuse gt3angel Electric On-Road 10 08-31-2008 08:18 AM
WTB: Muchmore 24 Amp Power Supply hanulec R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 08-11-2008 09:33 PM
WTB Purple MuchMore CTX-D2 and Power Supply Tornado_Racing R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 06-03-2007 07:48 PM
MuchMore Power Supply jhigga15 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 11-02-2006 09:08 AM
MUCHMORE Power Master 20A power supply Swampracer R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 09-15-2006 09:02 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:38 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net