R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-22-2004, 12:52 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 188
Default shopping for a new power supply

Which brand and how many Amps of power supply do you recommend? I will use it for tire truer, 35GFX, LRP pulsar. I may add an additional charger, and probably a fantom dyno/CE dyno . Is it better to use 2 power supplys of 20A than 1 power supply of 45A or higher?
raceblast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 01:14 AM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
Entropy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 965
Default

2 Team Much More PSUs @ 20amps each. Together they are probably smaller than most other 20-25amp PSUs.

You'll never know when a current spike from the tire truer or dyno will take out the single PSU.
Entropy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 02:59 AM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
Frank McKinney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: A Yank in England
Posts: 755
Default

Try eBay for some HAM radio power supplies or look for some other hobbyist type power supplies. The ones sold by RC manufacturers are way expensive!
__________________
Minimal signature to save screen space! Big sigs suX0r
Frank McKinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 07:54 AM   #4
Tech Addict
 
onebeatuptc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Outside Peachtree city in GA
Posts: 552
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to onebeatuptc3
Default

yes, i would say look for ham radio power supplies. Some are huge (like the one i have) but the thing about i like is that is variable, so i can change how many volts and how many amps to run things off of.
onebeatuptc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 08:34 AM   #5
P2
Tech Fanatic
 
P2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Oahu, Hi
Posts: 865
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I agree on the ham radio power supply. I use an Alinco DM330-MV and it is great! Around $150. A very popular PS in Japan, that's where they are made! http://www.alinco.com/usa.html
__________________
TopRacingUSA | Team EPIC | Thunder Power | OD Racing
P2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 08:43 AM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 492
Default

for my CE dyno i use a 75amp power supply. i leave this seperate because the 75amp unit is twice the size of a 30 amp unit.
i use a rivergate 30amp for most of the time. i run three or four chargers and never had a problem.
i also have a samlex 20 amp unit. i have run three chargers on this one and it still works fine.
www.rivergatedist.com
www.competitionelestronics.com same as the samlex
what ever the highest load your fantom dyno will put out and i would go 10% higher to be safe.
baih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 09:24 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

One word
Pryamid
great price very small
do a google
Hope this Helps
Stephen <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 10:33 AM   #8
Tech Addict
 
onebeatuptc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Outside Peachtree city in GA
Posts: 552
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to onebeatuptc3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P2
I agree on the ham radio power supply. I use an Alinco DM330-MV and it is great! Around $150. A very popular PS in Japan, that's where they are made! http://www.alinco.com/usa.html
ko propo endorses that power supply, they sell it for 175
onebeatuptc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 11:43 AM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
Skip109's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Wisconsin via Illinois
Posts: 844
Default

SamlexUSA.com

23A 89$

http://www.samlexamerica.com/product...roductsID=3602
Skip109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 11:52 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to John Fontaine
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Skip109
SamlexUSA.com

23A 89$

http://www.samlexamerica.com/product...roductsID=3602
Ditto - I have one, works great! Small, portable, has a switch on it (not like my rivergate 30), cheap and fast shipping (3 days for me) I was thinking about getting another one and selling my rivergate 30 to my brother.

Same one CE uses, but they charge an extra 30 bucks for their name silk screened on the front.
__________________
Xray and Serpent....very dusty!

Last edited by John Fontaine; 12-22-2004 at 11:58 AM.
John Fontaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 12:02 PM   #11
Tech Regular
 
razzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Crappy MN weather!
Posts: 426
Send a message via Yahoo to razzo
Default

check this one out too: http://www.buyreliant.com/psupplies/psv200.htm

best bang for the buck far as PS goes. 20 amps for less then $60.00

My Alinco unit should be here today/tommorrow, so can't wait to try it out.

It's amazing the mark up from RC companies on these power equipment, I bet you can take the Pyramid 20 amp unit, paint it purple, and sell it for $100 to RC racers. And not knowing better, people would probrably buy them.
razzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 12:43 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Razzo that PS is the one I use with my Gm COmmander, Integy CDC 16x5, Integy Dyno, Trinity cooling station, & Integy booster sytem for AA & AAA's all at the same time and haven't had it shut off on me once.
One great PS for the price, I think I paid $5.00 than what you got yours for but it is worth it. Hands down the best for the buck and still light enough for your pit bab.
Hope this Helps
Stephen <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 12:45 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
dakrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 96th ABW
Posts: 1,581
Default

i have this very happy with it. small, compact and inexpensive.
dakrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 12:46 PM   #14
Tech Regular
 
rinkrat99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to rinkrat99
Default

Do not forget that you need to take into account the output voltage under load also. What are the tolerances of the two supplies reccomended?
rinkrat99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 01:15 PM   #15
Tech Regular
 
Fuzzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Mentor , Ohio
Posts: 397
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Re: shopping for a new power supply

Quote:
Originally posted by raceblast
Which brand and how many Amps of power supply do you recommend? I will use it for tire truer, 35GFX, LRP pulsar. I may add an additional charger, and probably a fantom dyno/CE dyno . Is it better to use 2 power supplys of 20A than 1 power supply of 45A or higher?
raceblast,

You're going to want to use a separate power supply or battery for your dyno. I know that with my Fantom dyno, it will pull 60 - 70 amps upon startup. Either get yourself a 12v tractor/car battery or a LARGE power supply.
Fuzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer power supply used for charger power supply? 66Racer Radio and Electronics 7 05-25-2008 12:52 AM
RC BLOW OUT !!!! Ice chargers,novak discharger,power supply,power bridge,integy setup shrum1340 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 07-23-2007 05:37 AM
>>> TEAM NOVAK N-POWER POWER SUPPLY GREAT CONDITION $50 <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 02-06-2007 10:53 PM
turning pc power supply into a rc power supply andy_666 Electric On-Road 20 01-16-2006 05:20 PM
SEC Power Supply vs. Hobbico Power Supply? F1Junkie Electric On-Road 1 06-05-2004 08:52 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:03 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net