R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-22-2004, 02:03 PM   #16
Tech Fanatic
 
primusblowsgoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pingree Grove, IL
Posts: 987
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to primusblowsgoat Send a message via Yahoo to primusblowsgoat
Default

i baught this power supply off some guy at a local track that is now closed, for 25 bucks, its a beast, looks like it came off the titanic, weighs about 1.5 tons, and if you hit the table wrong the alarm sounds.

but i can power quite a few chargers with it
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ps-25.jpg (6.0 KB, 237 views)
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Schumacher Cat SX2
Schumacher Cougar SV
primusblowsgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 08:09 PM   #17
Tech Master
 
komkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germantown, America
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to komkit Send a message via AIM to komkit Send a message via Yahoo to komkit
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P2
I agree on the ham radio power supply. I use an Alinco DM330-MV and it is great! Around $150. A very popular PS in Japan, that's where they are made! http://www.alinco.com/usa.html


I 2nd that.


http://www.alinco.com/Products/DM330MVE/



Alinco is among the smallest of my power supplies, yet the highest output.

__________________
CFX Paintworks - The Track
komkit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 08:30 PM   #18
Tech Master
 
picco007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: TX.
Posts: 1,814
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to picco007 Send a message via Yahoo to picco007
Default

raceblast,

For a dyno whether it is a fantom or CE, like Fuzzy said, you will have to get a power supply that will handle that amp draw.

I use the Alinco like Komkit and P2 suggested. You can't go wrong with that.
__________________
EA Motorsports
picco007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 08:52 PM   #19
Tech Adept
 
lastplace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Va. Beach, VA
Posts: 237
Send a message via Yahoo to lastplace
Default

Under $60, that pyramid looks like a good buy.
lastplace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 11:11 PM   #20
Tech Master
 
forty6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by John Fontaine
Ditto - I have one, works great! Small, portable, has a switch on it (not like my rivergate 30), cheap and fast shipping (3 days for me) I was thinking about getting another one and selling my rivergate 30 to my brother.

Same one CE uses, but they charge an extra 30 bucks for their name silk screened on the front.
3-yr warranty to boot.
forty6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2004, 10:08 AM   #21
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 188
Default

Are all the PSU recommended here more than 12V? My current PSU can only output 12.06V, and I guess it is not enough for the LRP pulsar.
raceblast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2004, 10:19 AM   #22
Tech Elite
 
howard hudson's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: some damned place called Iowa
Posts: 4,245
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by John Fontaine
I was thinking about getting another one and selling my rivergate 30 to my brother.
I have had my rivergate for 15 years and it has never let me down. Even survived my recent garage fire. Its about the only thing did survive but all i did was take the covers off clean off the melted goo off it and it still puts out 13.5 volts. So this is my testimonial. cant go wrong with a RIVERGATE
__________________
what the heck is r/c car??? ( said in your best redneck voice)

'OL BUZZARD FARMING (lol)
howard hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2004, 10:55 AM   #23
Tech Elite
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to John Fontaine
Default

Howard - that's great that survived the fire. I never said Rivergate was a bad power supply, but the thing is tough to lug to a track.

I bought the Samlex to stay in my pit bag cause it's small and light making it portable. The rivergate stays on my pit table at home screwed to the table. The only two gripes I have about the Rivergate is the power cord (Heavy Duty!, short length and comes out the same side as the DC connectors so you have to wrap it around the casing if you want the terminals facing you) and it doesn't have a switch on it to turn it on/off so you have to unplug it everytime. Other then that it's an exceptional PS. Only once in 2 years have I ever heard the cooling fan come on and I think it was only spinning at 50RPM

John
__________________
Xray and Serpent....very dusty!
John Fontaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2004, 11:27 AM   #24
Tech Elite
 
howard hudson's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: some damned place called Iowa
Posts: 4,245
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by John Fontaine
Howard - that's great that survived the fire. I never said Rivergate was a bad power supply, but the thing is tough to lug to a track.

I bought the Samlex to stay in my pit bag cause it's small and light making it portable. The rivergate stays on my pit table at home screwed to the table. The only two gripes I have about the Rivergate is the power cord (Heavy Duty!, short length and comes out the same side as the DC connectors so you have to wrap it around the casing if you want the terminals facing you) and it doesn't have a switch on it to turn it on/off so you have to unplug it everytime. Other then that it's an exceptional PS. Only once in 2 years have I ever heard the cooling fan come on and I think it was only spinning at 50RPM

John
ya it is a bit cumbersome but I wont switch . NOPE just aint gonna do it
__________________
what the heck is r/c car??? ( said in your best redneck voice)

'OL BUZZARD FARMING (lol)
howard hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2004, 11:52 AM   #25
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 835
Default

You'll definetly need a separate P/S for your fantom,at least a 75 amper or a small car battery with a charger,which is what I use.I just use a 45 amp for my chargers and such and the battery for the dyno.If your going to be cycling batteries you'll want plenty of current that's why I upgraded to a 45 amp.
Hyper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2005, 06:54 PM   #26
Tech Adept
 
basementLOSI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Niagara Falls area
Posts: 117
Send a message via AIM to basementLOSI
Default

Oooo buddy! I think I have found myself a contender for purchase! I have always been a fan of the more expensive things being better, which normally is true (for example a Mercedes Benz car vs. a Dodge Neon). But this time, I think I'm pretty settled with getting the Pyramid power supply. 7" width and lenght is not bad at all!

And for a pretty cheap price. The only question I have is how do I plug it in? Does it have the clips on the front just like the Alinco does on the bottom left? If so, how many? Also, it says it has a lighted on off switch? If this is true, this will be awesome (where I race we race into the night baby!)!

I plan to use this to power my DuraTrax Digital Peak Charger and my Novak Digital Equalizing Tray (this baby is a new addition to my family of RC and it is awesome to say the least.. orange power has overcome me!). 20A is definetly enough for this application. My charger uses about 5A, and the Novak says it uses a 2.7A discharge current. So does that mean I'm running altogether about 7.7A? This PS might sound like overkill now, but sooner or later I will get more goodies and gadgets.

Also, since we race into the night and my charger does not have a backlight, is there anyway I can wire a light up to the PS also? What does a normal lightbulb consume for amps?

So, basically my point of my speech is the question of if not this PS is the right thing for me. It's cheap, but it doesn't look cheap and its 20A, which is enough for me.... any ideas?
basementLOSI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 12:21 AM   #27
Tech Master
 
ghoppa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sin City - Las Vegas
Posts: 1,721
Trader Rating: 54 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by John Fontaine
Ditto - I have one, works great! Small, portable, has a switch on it (not like my rivergate 30), cheap and fast shipping (3 days for me) I was thinking about getting another one and selling my rivergate 30 to my brother.

Same one CE uses, but they charge an extra 30 bucks for their name silk screened on the front.
John,

did you purchase this directly from their website???

and how is it holding up???
__________________
R1 Wurks - ActivRC - ApexRC - P1 Brands
ghoppa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 11:39 AM   #28
Tech Adept
 
factoryteamryan's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Dublin, OH
Posts: 128
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bAsEmEnTLOSI
My charger uses about 5A, and the Novak says it uses a 2.7A discharge current. So does that mean I'm running altogether about 7.7A? This PS might sound like overkill now, but sooner or later I will get more goodies and gadgets.
Losi,

Your Novak Smart Tray will only draw a few milliamps off of the power supply - basically just enough to run it's IC chip and digital display. When Novak says it uses a 2.7 Amp discharge current - they mean that each cell gets individually discharged at 2.7 amps, not that it will use 2.7 amps of your power supplies capacity.

No such thing as overkill with a power supply - you'll find a use for that extra capacity someday.

Also - for anyone else that doesn't already know...Radio Shack sells a 25 amp power supply that is IDENTICAL inside to the unit from Competition Electronics. I think the switch or something was in a different place, but the board inside is the same. Rat Shack's price on it is $99 regularly but every now and then they put them on sale for $60 or $70. Bad part is that they are hard to find locally when they are on sale - even at regular price, only one store in the entire Columbus Ohio area had one (which happened to be 10 minutes from me )

http://www.radioshack.com/product.as...ct%5Fid=22-510
factoryteamryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 11:51 AM   #29
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 1,337
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Where can you get a Much More power supply at in the states?

-Monti-
Monti is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer power supply used for charger power supply? 66Racer Radio and Electronics 7 05-25-2008 12:52 AM
RC BLOW OUT !!!! Ice chargers,novak discharger,power supply,power bridge,integy setup shrum1340 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 07-23-2007 05:37 AM
>>> TEAM NOVAK N-POWER POWER SUPPLY GREAT CONDITION $50 <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 02-06-2007 10:53 PM
turning pc power supply into a rc power supply andy_666 Electric On-Road 20 01-16-2006 05:20 PM
SEC Power Supply vs. Hobbico Power Supply? F1Junkie Electric On-Road 1 06-05-2004 08:52 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:33 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net