R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-21-2011, 03:41 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Show871's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Tekin RS wont go into calibration mode need help! Race in 3 hrs LOL!

Brand new RS. Spectrum rx . When I power up I get a few flashes of all the led on esc...then nothing. I have tried 6.5 v direct (On 1s boosted normally). Steering works fine. Tries 2 rx's. Tried reversing t channel.

When I hold down the mode button to calibrate....its unresponsive!

What am I doing wrong here!

Thanks!
Show871 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 04:13 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

You try their tech support line? (208) 634-5559
Odin544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 04:31 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Wall Banger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 166
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

You need a booster or a receiver pack the esc does not have enough voltage to power up. If you have a booster or receiver pack it is wired wrong.
Wall Banger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 04:39 PM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Show871's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wall Banger View Post
You need a booster or a receiver pack the esc does not have enough voltage to power up. If you have a booster or receiver pack it is wired wrong.
I have a novak booster. however I think I eliminated this possibilty by powering up the esc with a 6.5v batt, and leaving the booster off.
Show871 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 05:04 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 258
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

What kind of radio are you using? I had something like this happen to me. Turns out my radio couldn't find nuetral/center, making the esc not able to read nuetral and wouldn't calibrate. You can try 2 things. If you have another car/truck, try re-calibrating that esc to the radio and see if it gives the same problem. If you don't have another car/truck/esc, then while calibrating your Tekin and it gets to the part that it's not responding start to give it small incriments of throttle, with a couple of seconds inbetween each incriment. Try it in reverse as well as forward. This is what happened with me and had to ditch the Futaba 3PKS for a 4PL.
glinx111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 05:12 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
ByteStream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 1,145
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Try reversing the throttle direction on the transmitter .. then calibrate. Hade a similar issue with the Tekin and KO Radio.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | KO Propo | Hobbywing HWNA | R1Wurks | BSR Tires
5280 Raceway - www.5280raceway.com
MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 19-22nd 2018 @ www.milehighindoorchamps.com
ByteStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 05:13 PM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Show871's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glinx111 View Post
What kind of radio are you using? I had something like this happen to me. Turns out my radio couldn't find nuetral/center, making the esc not able to read nuetral and wouldn't calibrate. You can try 2 things. If you have another car/truck, try re-calibrating that esc to the radio and see if it gives the same problem. If you don't have another car/truck/esc, then while calibrating your Tekin and it gets to the part that it's not responding start to give it small incriments of throttle, with a couple of seconds inbetween each incriment. Try it in reverse as well as forward. This is what happened with me and had to ditch the Futaba 3PKS for a 4PL.
Interesting I will try this right now!
Show871 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 05:19 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Show871's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ByteStream View Post
Try reversing the throttle direction on the transmitter .. then calibrate. Hade a similar issue with the Tekin and KO Radio.
Thankyou....no luck.

I look forward to racing at the corrc track soon if I can ever get this esc to boot
Show871 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 05:21 PM   #9
Tech Adept
 
Show871's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glinx111 View Post
What kind of radio are you using? I had something like this happen to me. Turns out my radio couldn't find nuetral/center, making the esc not able to read nuetral and wouldn't calibrate. You can try 2 things. If you have another car/truck, try re-calibrating that esc to the radio and see if it gives the same problem. If you don't have another car/truck/esc, then while calibrating your Tekin and it gets to the part that it's not responding start to give it small incriments of throttle, with a couple of seconds inbetween each incriment. Try it in reverse as well as forward. This is what happened with me and had to ditch the Futaba 3PKS for a 4PL.
caraaap, no luck but thankyou for the help!
Show871 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 05:22 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
R3VoLuTiOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2,390
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

have you bound the new reciever to the radio already?
__________________
John Tsang 🏁 VBC Racing 🚗 ORCA RC 🚗 GripworksRC 🚗 MotivRC 🚗 GravityRC 🚗 RC America

http://www.facebook.com/VancouverRRR 🏁 http://www.facebook.com/OvergearedRacing
R3VoLuTiOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 05:43 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
ByteStream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 1,145
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

At this point I would:

Reinstall the 212 software.
Reset my radio settings to default.
Re-bind the Rx
Plug in a 2s lipo
Try to calibrate again.

If I remember correctly, once you hit the mode button for 3 seconds it should beep .. find nuetral by itself .. beep .. you hit full throttle .. beep .. you hit full brake.

Is it doing any of that (beeping)?
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | KO Propo | Hobbywing HWNA | R1Wurks | BSR Tires
5280 Raceway - www.5280raceway.com
MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 19-22nd 2018 @ www.milehighindoorchamps.com
ByteStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 05:54 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glinx111 View Post
What kind of radio are you using? I had something like this happen to me. Turns out my radio couldn't find nuetral/center, making the esc not able to read nuetral and wouldn't calibrate. You can try 2 things. If you have another car/truck, try re-calibrating that esc to the radio and see if it gives the same problem. If you don't have another car/truck/esc, then while calibrating your Tekin and it gets to the part that it's not responding start to give it small incriments of throttle, with a couple of seconds inbetween each incriment. Try it in reverse as well as forward. This is what happened with me and had to ditch the Futaba 3PKS for a 4PL.
That would be a good excuse to tell the wife why you need a new radio... But in reality you could adjust the neutral width.
Odin544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 06:20 PM   #13
Tech Adept
 
Show871's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Guys, first off thanks for all the help. I ran down to the track and asked a few guys with more experience to look it over. It all checked out, but the racer helping me decided to try reloading my firmware. BOOM!!!! power!!! Sweet!!! I see this was also Byte stream's thought, well that was it!!!!

So again thanks for the help!!!!
Show871 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:24 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net