R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-20-2004, 01:30 AM   #16
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

That sucks... Snowbird limit is 3600 haha
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 01:44 AM   #17
Tech Elite
 
Team Turtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Rome GA
Posts: 2,516
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tc3Guru
lol i don't really understand they better come up with some better motor technology to go the round. i run my gp3300's w/ stock motor for 5 min heat slightly over geared. and it's damn hot i could imagine runnin for 8 minutes. destroyed motor!

someone explain what the point is. i guess you would get more punch.
more run time i supose but you really don't need it.
gp300 is plenty enough even for low turn mods. and enough gearing to kill your motor.


someone explain what the point is!

I agree used to you would gear your motor to not dump the battery. Now you gear it to dump it...maybe. Then its so hot you can't touch it for an hour. Don't see the need for anymore battery capacity right now.
Team Turtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 02:03 AM   #18
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 322
Send a message via ICQ to tc3Guru Send a message via AIM to tc3Guru
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Team Turtle
I agree used to you would gear your motor to not dump the battery. Now you gear it to dump it...maybe. Then its so hot you can't touch it for an hour. Don't see the need for anymore battery capacity right now.
indeed, someone else understands my thoughts as well.
my 3300'swill do fine. what about brushless i've never had any experience them them. do they get as hot or hotter than brush motors? may be abe to run longer w/ them is what i'm getting too. i know they make the cooling systems for some of the cars such as the tc4 but there is still no way to run more than 5 or 6 minutes i woudln't think

Beddow
tc3Guru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 02:52 AM   #19
Tech Elite
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,273
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Brushless would be the way to go....

and a brushless would be the only motor that could withstand the longer run times. My Novak motor only gets a little warm during a hard run in 8 minutes. Never, ever, needed a fan, so these batteries would be nice for brushless in 10 min heats. You can even gear higher with a brushless. I hope brushless with take off in the near future. I hope Novak will make a smaller and more adjustable profile speed control soon. A 10 minute race would wear you out. But I don't think people can let go of brushed motors. They like to tweak them too much.
RCknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 04:05 AM   #20
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by teammediocre
that avatar is veryvery nice NR
Yeah..... I spent 7 minutes looking at it

the full pix address please....

back to topic, when GP3700 will be release ? is it legal for any race event ? I'm gonna kick some budds he... he... he....
__________________
On Road : Xray NT1 , RX8 , T4 || Mugen Seiki MRX4-R , MTX4 , MTX3 prospec || Tamiya M03 , M04 || Top Racing Sabre FD2
Off Road : Xray XT8 || Hobao Hyper 8
Radio : Futaba 3PKS || KO propo EX-10 eurus
asw7576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 04:42 AM   #21
Tech Elite
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Wow! 3700...makes my 1 week old 3600's look obsolete..
Envy those guys who won those cells.

So, same question, when's the full release? mid next year? Time for some shopping soon!!
lee82gx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 07:23 AM   #22
Regional Moderator
 
Exterminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Digital Diarrea Deleter
Posts: 2,477
Default

A correctly built brush motor can go for hr's and hr's, At a recent 10 hr enduro race I ran a 18/2 Team Brood motor for the whole 10 hrs with no maint. Lap times were running in the normal modified race range. So bring on the big batt's let's race longer.
__________________
Retired from sponsored racing, Now just having fun.
Exterminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 08:51 AM   #23
Tech Fanatic
 
Tommy Bergfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 979
Send a message via ICQ to Tommy Bergfeldt
Default

Why not just throw away the nimh-cells and start with really develop lipoly cells? If they can make them to deliver more current, they will work awsome in our cars. 10-15 minute heats would not be a impossibility
__________________
JMI Motorsport / Red Bull Racing
HB Cyclone TC - Schumacher CAT SX & Cougar SV
Advanced Electronics - Autopartner.se - Savöx - NorthTQ
Tommy Bergfeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 08:58 AM   #24
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3stocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: TN, America
Posts: 869
Send a message via AIM to tc3stocker Send a message via Yahoo to tc3stocker
Default

because we would have to throw out our chargers with them, too much of a change in equipment for the company to really have a gain, and they take forever to charge
tc3stocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 09:04 AM   #25
Tech Elite
 
AdR|aN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Malaysia. Land of Peace.
Posts: 2,445
Send a message via ICQ to AdR|aN
Default

AdR|aN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 09:34 AM   #26
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

I believe Hitec/Multiplex is working on a Three cell 11.1v and two cell 7.4V packs that are the same size as six sub C cells. So I wouldn't put it pass them to get things going. There is one draw back. No it isn't the charger issues because as long as you have a current shut-off and max rate of charge function on your charger than you can charge li-po's. Yes they are a little hard to work with but the real problem is the driver. You have to know how fast your battery will discharge and remember because if you discharge li-po's too much they won't charge right ever again. That is one problem. There is a slightly smaller problem for those without tub chassis (like me) because li-po do not like getting beat up if you get one small whole in the pack, Well we will just say your battery and car will become one...One big pile of melting toxic battery acid/plastic/grafite ooz. But I belive Hitec/Multiplex are working on a casing for the li-po's as so as not to allow any wholes to be made.
Now about the 3700's MAN I want to try these bad boys. I guess like others our 3600's will have to move to the practice pack list. MAN I JUST BOUGHT 20 CELLS LAST WEEK>>>>>>>>>>>> GGGGGGGRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
Oh well, Just another lastest and greatest thing I have go out and get...
Take Care ALL & May GOD Bless You & Yours this CHRISTmas season.
Stephen <><

Quote:
Originally posted by Sparx
Why not just throw away the nimh-cells and start with really develop lipoly cells? If they can make them to deliver more current, they will work awsome in our cars. 10-15 minute heats would not be a impossibility
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 09:43 AM   #27
Tech Master
 
pheyhoe's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: England!
Posts: 1,332
Default

well i always seem to struggle with run time unless i buy the latest greatest matched 1.18+ pack.

thats probably my gearing or what ever but at least with more capacity if you do get the gearing wrong you can at least finish the race :P i am talking 5 minutes with a 10 turn motor or quicker.
__________________
[SIZE=1][COLOR=navy]Paul Heyhoe[/COLOR][/SIZE]
pheyhoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 09:46 AM   #28
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Dallas,Tx
Posts: 3,666
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to TexRacer
Default

pheyhoe-You shouldnt need higher voltage to make runtime.
That has nothing to do with it.
You just need to look hard and try to find some GP3300's with a true 430+ runtime at 30 amps.
Voltage doesnt really do anything for runtime at all.
__________________
*****Look me up on Ebay. I will have alot of stuff going up as 7/7/2016. User name is Dalracer.**** This is going to be a BIG ONE!!!!!!
Just wanted to say Thanks to RcTech for all these years of Great Information.
TexRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 09:50 AM   #29
Tech Master
 
pheyhoe's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: England!
Posts: 1,332
Default

yes i know that voltage has nothing to do with runtime. voltage is punch etc.

but i generally find the higher spec packs have a longer runtime....
__________________
[SIZE=1][COLOR=navy]Paul Heyhoe[/COLOR][/SIZE]
pheyhoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 10:11 AM   #30
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pheyhoe
yes i know that voltage has nothing to do with runtime. voltage is punch etc.

but i generally find the higher spec packs have a longer
runtime....
That´s not completely right. I have seen high spec packs with high voltage and low runtime and also lower voltage and high runtime numbers. Both high voltage and high runtime numbers usually you can´t get in the shops. These are reserved for factory drivers most times.

But voltage does have an influence on runtime on the track. With a high voltage pack you will experience less runtime on the track than a lower voltage pack with the same runtime numbers. This is as a higher voltage will cause a higher amp draw unless you´re very careful with the throttle.
__________________
Classic RC - http://classicrc.wordpress.com/
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bringing the hobby mainstream TomBlaze Electric Off-Road 177 04-17-2008 11:03 AM
Bringing batteries back to life D_o_S Electric On-Road 6 03-26-2008 10:16 AM
Bringing Grandpa out of retirement: Yokomo YR-4M2 Pro PseudoScience Electric On-Road 17 02-15-2007 10:42 PM
Bringing vintage RC up to date mikethemachinis Electric On-Road 3 03-28-2006 10:06 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:27 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net