Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
GP Bringing Out 3600's >

GP Bringing Out 3600's

GP Bringing Out 3600's

Reply

Old 12-25-2004, 10:05 AM
  #151  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

This is no big deal. We've had to deal with this with the RC2000, Sanyo RC3000, and Panasonic NiMh. All you need is a file or a dremel tool .
AdrianM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 06:09 PM
  #152  
Tech Adept
 
Mars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 236
Default

Originally posted by Anthony Yuen
Can you post what you have from the 12 GP3700 cells after process??
It's actually similar in performance with the 3300s but with extra runtime. I guess GP is simply squeezing more material into a slightly larger cell can.

I think the size of the cell won't be an issue because the length of the cell remains unchanged. The effect of 0.2mm larger in diameter is not as much as that of puting an extra layer of shrink wrap onto the cell.
Mars is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 06:19 PM
  #153  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 171
Default

Do you know what are the Dsg T and Avg V from raw cells and zapped cells ?? How about the IRR and IRA readings on these cells ??
Anthony Yuen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 06:19 PM
  #154  
Tech Master
 
davepull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orange Park, Florida
Posts: 1,180
Default

I think it is going to fun to watch what ROAR does with this cell. who knows maybe they'll suprise us!!!!!!
davepull is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 06:25 PM
  #155  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 171
Default

Originally posted by Mars
The effect of 0.2mm larger in diameter is not as much as that of puting an extra layer of shrink wrap onto the cell.
Sorry for asking too much. Am I right the new cell diameter is now come to 23.2mm ??
Anthony Yuen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 07:23 PM
  #156  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (23)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,063
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by AdrianM
Sanyo is expensive because of Sanyo not Trinity.

Mike Reedy had been toying around with the idea of running 4 cell sedans for some time. They have done some testing and with a open mod motor (7-8 turn) geared up as needed the top speed is the same. The big difference is you get less punch out of the corners. Lap times are only 2/10ths slower than 6 cell mod.

Look at what 4 cell did for oval racing. The 4 cells guys are just as fast as the 6 cells guys but the motors last longer and the cars handle better.
Totally agree. I did run a 4 cell pack in TC during a practice round in FL and found that I was not only able to run 5 mi but total lap results were seconds shy of my 6cell times. The speed was not only acceptable but tire wear and motor wear were minimal.
MDawson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 08:22 PM
  #157  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,596
Default

Great news Mark.
Doug Gaut is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 10:02 PM
  #158  
Tech Adept
 
Mars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 236
Default

Originally posted by Anthony Yuen
Do you know what are the Dsg T and Avg V from raw cells and zapped cells ?? How about the IRR and IRA readings on these cells ??
Here is the data of best cell we currently have after processing:-
463 1.175 2.6 16 at 30A
Typical cell read like these:-
458 1.168 2.8 17
Anyway, these are figures from 12 cells only. So future production may differ.
I don't have the raw cells figures from my brother. About the size, I will measure them tomorrow when I get the cells from my brother for test run.
Mars is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 10:18 PM
  #159  
Tech Fanatic
 
crimson eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 841
Default

Hi Mark,

was that carpet or asphalt? Did anyone try a stock with 4 cell? maybe be too slow but probably 19T would work ok as a stock class, or maybe even brushless? How about this - 4 cell brushless 8 minutes?

Chris.
crimson eagle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 10:32 PM
  #160  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 171
Default

Here is the data of best cell we currently have after processing:-
463 1.175 2.6 16 at 30A
Typical cell read like these:-
458 1.168 2.8 17
Anyway, these are figures from 12 cells only. So future production may differ.
I don't have the raw cells figures from my brother. About the size, I will measure them tomorrow when I get the cells from my brother for test run. [/B]
Thanks for the information. IR seems quite high. Will you run these battery in Jan 2 race ?? Let's meet there.
Anthony Yuen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 10:54 PM
  #161  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (23)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,063
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by crimson eagle
Hi Mark,

was that carpet or asphalt? Did anyone try a stock with 4 cell? maybe be too slow but probably 19T would work ok as a stock class, or maybe even brushless? How about this - 4 cell brushless 8 minutes?

Chris.
Hi Chris,

That was Worlds track in FL. Ran a 7x1 . Like Adrian mentioned, the car did not have the usualy rip but got around ok. Alex Lopez was a little bugged when he realized that he was running with a 4cell TC.

That was with Novak 3300 GPs.
MDawson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 10:58 PM
  #162  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Jon Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,753
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Those are basically the numbers I figured they would be. In any case we'll test our own and see what's what.

Again, nothing for stock, but killer for modified.
Jon Williams is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 11:39 PM
  #163  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by MDawson
Hi Chris,

That was Worlds track in FL. Ran a 7x1 . Like Adrian mentioned, the car did not have the usualy rip but got around ok. Alex Lopez was a little bugged when he realized that he was running with a 4cell TC.

That was with Novak 3300 GPs.
i've blocked a full race trim car(SMC cells, good gearing,setup) on 23T stock with a badly geared 23T TC3 on 5 cells..it's always possible.
lee82gx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2004, 07:44 PM
  #164  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 171
Default

Originally posted by Mars
Here is the data of best cell we currently have after processing:-
463 1.175 2.6 16 at 30A
Typical cell read like these:-
458 1.168 2.8 17
Anyway, these are figures from 12 cells only. So future production may differ.
I don't have the raw cells figures from my brother. About the size, I will measure them tomorrow when I get the cells from my brother for test run.
Any News !!!
Anthony Yuen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2004, 08:19 AM
  #165  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Question if the cells are .2 mm larger diameter does this also conclude that the weight of the cell is also higher?
This can make my balance change (revesable of cource but I mainly run Stock and 19T) I think I will wait and see what kind of packs some mathcers put out. If Fusion puts out some packs I will give them a try but I think it will be pointless of rguys who run stock and 19T. Hey can anyone give me the weights of the 3700's and the 3300's?
Thanks,
Stephen <><
Mr. Shookie is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service