R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-12-2011, 10:03 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Robudda723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Utah
Posts: 277
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default Can any ESC be used with 1s?

I have searched and seen this asked on many threads but can't seem to find a clear cut yes or no answer. I want to be sure before I pick up an ESC.

Can any standard brushless ESC that is not designed for 1s be used with a 1s pack as long as either an external booster or Receiver pack is used?


Thanks,
Rob
Robudda723 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 10:35 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
jsinclair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: rice lake, wi
Posts: 1,036
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

No not all can
jsinclair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 10:50 AM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

Most of the modern speedos do with a regulator for the receiver,
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 11:04 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
DesertRat's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sniffin the 'Sauce Fumes
Posts: 2,705
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Any brushless ESC will pass 1s voltage, the computer and the main MOS-FET bank are independent so as long as there is an external booster or pack to run the computer board it will pass the voltage.
__________________
I race toy cars for fun. If I need to explain, you'll never understand.
Current rides: Diggity DC4 Chassis #10. Losi JRX-S Type R. Losi 22 4.0, CRC Xi (retired), CRC Altered Ego Aluminum Chassis. Associated B4 based dirt oval late model.
WTB: Carpet racing in Arizona.
DesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 11:20 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Robudda723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Utah
Posts: 277
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Ok, so the booster or receiver pack is not just boosting the voltage for the servo it is also boosting the esc because the computer needs higher voltage to do it's thing. I think i got it now.

Also I seen a diagram on here for wiring a receiver pack for a 1s setup, but can't seem to find it. Anyone have the link?

Also I am running 1/10 pan with 10.5 what receiver pack specs are recommended. life, lipo, mah rating?

Thanks for the info,
Rob
Robudda723 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 03:29 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,918
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I run Novak- Edge or Havoc Pro SC with X Drive. Both are for 2 cells but I have run them in World GT and Legends with one cell. The Booster works fine with either (Novak). or you can run a reciever pack- LIFE. If you get a Kinectic they like a reciever battery pack (life).
__________________
Team Epic/Trinity -Michael Bruce Hobbies-Team CRC ,Kimbrough Products and GForce.
WGT-R, GT-12 Racing USA (21.5 ), Formula 1 and Home Track is 386 RaceWay,ROAR #7540.
BullFrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 03:49 PM   #7
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robudda723 View Post
Ok, so the booster or receiver pack is not just boosting the voltage for the servo it is also boosting the esc because the computer needs higher voltage to do it's thing. I think i got it now.

Also I seen a diagram on here for wiring a receiver pack for a 1s setup, but can't seem to find it. Anyone have the link?

Also I am running 1/10 pan with 10.5 what receiver pack specs are recommended. life, lipo, mah rating?

Thanks for the info,
Rob
For a Tekin, this is a great way to wire it. With this set-up, you can use pretty much any battery pack, 1s or 2s. I'm using a 200mah 2s lipo with this set-up.
Attached Thumbnails
Can any ESC be used with 1s?-rs%25201s%25202s%2520wiring.jpg  
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 03:50 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
LMRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rome, GA
Posts: 2,739
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

The LRP has a voltage booster built into it so its the only ESC that I am aware of that can run 1S without a RX pack or voltage booster. It will send 6V to your RX as well so that it has enough voltage to operate properly
LMRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 03:54 PM   #9
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsinclair View Post
No not all can
Name one that can't. I don't know of any. There are a few that take some different set-ups but I don't know of any racing esc's that can't do it at all.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 04:39 PM   #10
Tech Apprentice
 
kyle133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Essex Ontario, Canada
Posts: 89
Default

I could not get a Hobbywing Xerun 60A to work with 1S. I had to plug in a 7.4V source in order to turn off the voltage cutoff. I also couldnt get the supercharge software to run with boost and turbo.

I was using a Novak Smartboost, not a RX pack though..
__________________
ACTION HOBBIES KINGSVILLE
MT POCKETS RACING
kyle133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 04:46 PM   #11
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kyle133 View Post

I was using a Novak Smartboost, not a RX pack though..
There is the problem. Two LVCs competing. There is always a way.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 04:50 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
kingbee9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: oHIo
Posts: 315
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kyle133 View Post
I could not get a Hobbywing Xerun 60A to work with 1S. I had to plug in a 7.4V source in order to turn off the voltage cutoff. I also couldnt get the supercharge software to run with boost and turbo.

I was using a Novak Smartboost, not a RX pack though..
i run the 60 amp Extreme Stock speedo with 1S, i use a 800mAh 2S lipo rx pack. you use a 2S pack to turn off the voltage cutoff (you can use the rx pack to do this). then upgrade the software to 508. I ran this combo with boost and turbo at the US Indoor Champs and it worked great.
__________________
Brian Wedge
www.ashfordhobby.com
NORCAR R/C Racing at The Gate
www.norcarracing.com
kingbee9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 04:53 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
kingbee9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: oHIo
Posts: 315
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LMRacing View Post
The LRP has a voltage booster built into it so its the only ESC that I am aware of that can run 1S without a RX pack or voltage booster. It will send 6V to your RX as well so that it has enough voltage to operate properly
The 1S Hobbywing has an internal BEC that doesn't require a booster or RX pack. These are available at Lefthander RC or CRC.
__________________
Brian Wedge
www.ashfordhobby.com
NORCAR R/C Racing at The Gate
www.norcarracing.com
kingbee9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&A Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 1153 12-07-2016 09:18 AM
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 06:57 AM
Speed Passion Cirtix Stock CLUB ESC Jochim_18 Electric On-Road 899 09-22-2015 01:09 PM
Around The Table With Paul Lemieux(RC-America/Thunderpower) Paul L Electric On-Road 1384 12-18-2009 09:06 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:37 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net