Community
Wiki Posts
Search

overheated stock motor

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2004, 04:48 AM
Tech Adept

Default overheated stock motor

If a stock motor is overheated, is it permanently damaged? Is there any way to restore the overheated motor to top performance instead of buying a new motor? Does the magnet need to be zapped (I heard excessive heat will damage the magnet).

I find it hard not to overheat a motor while testing for the best gearing of a track. How do the pros determine the optimum gearing without overheating the motor?
Old 12-16-2004, 11:53 AM
Tech Elite

I'm not a pro, but start lower and work upwards. In reasonably and small steps.
Old 12-16-2004, 11:55 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Re: overheated stock motor

Originally posted by raceblast
If a stock motor is overheated, is it permanently damaged? Is there any way to restore the overheated motor to top performance instead of buying a new motor? Does the magnet need to be zapped (I heard excessive heat will damage the magnet).

I find it hard not to overheat a motor while testing for the best gearing of a track. How do the pros determine the optimum gearing without overheating the motor?
I would start with a small pinion and then work your way up.

and it might have to do sometimes with your Final Drive Ratio.
Old 12-16-2004, 12:19 PM

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)

Whats considered "Overheated?" as far as a temperature? 100 Deg? 150Deg?
Old 12-16-2004, 12:23 PM
Tech Addict

i consider it too hot to touch for at least 5 seconds. is overheating. not overheated. but ing. as i have no heatsensors to figure it out
Old 12-16-2004, 01:01 PM
Tech Fanatic

i run any motor up to 100ºC on the brush hoods..........

i gear my car to get the fastest lap time, no matter what temp the motor reaches...

BTW >>> i've never burnt my motors, and before i started to tune my motor this way, i've lost some races due to my worries about temperature, damaging magnets, etc........