R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-11-2002, 08:58 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
Peter Busch's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,491
Drag brake

Can I adjust the drag brake on my KO mars or is the only way to use the pit wizard and change the profile.
Peter Busch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2002, 09:15 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
King-G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 837
Send a message via ICQ to King-G
Default

the best way to do it is to use the pitwizard if you use a cyclone speedie...

using the radio is a crude way of doing it, and wont be as smooth..

recently I programmed in 30% drag brakes on a track which suited a oneway on most corners exept a 180 hairpin after a long straight...

the drag brakes allowed me to lett off the throttle just 2 meters before the hairpin, and it was hooked up!...

it has the advantage of being more precise and gentle on braking when using a oneway, ...just means you cannot go to neutral through other sections of the infield where braking isnt required..you have to flow through the infield more smoothly...but it worked a treat for me!
King-G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2002, 08:00 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
Peter Busch's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,491
Default

What about programming the brake and drive frequency, I am still a little confused on that, what is different about that then increasing or decreasing the minimum drive, brake.


To adjust the drag brake do you find it easier to turn the toggle on then use the pot screw or is it better to just program in the value?
Peter Busch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2002, 08:34 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Fred Hubbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Inglewood, CA
Posts: 2,719
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Lowering the frequency on any of the parameters that allow you to do so will make the car more responsive. So for instance, if you are competing on a track that has high bite, then you may want to lower the drive frequency which will give you a bit more bottom end. This is especially useful for Touring Cars, as they are so much heavier, you want the car to snap of the line and not lag. It is the same case with the brake frequency, if you want your brakes to be more responsive, lower the frequency. Increasing the minimun drive enables you speedo to start at a greater percentage of your full throttle. So for example, by increasing you minimun drive from 0 to 25% means that when you apply the throttle the first pulse(s) will generate around 25% of your total throttle. So it's like going from 0 to 60 in 1 second instead of 0 to 60 in 5 seconds. Just remember, lowering the frequency on any parameter increases its response, and increasing the percentage on any parameter increases its response. I find it more beneficial to turn the toggle option to the on position in the speedo, to me there are more tuning options than using the brake pot on the speedo. I have tried it both ways and I prefer the toggle option. I hope this helps...

Fred

Last edited by Fred Hubbard; 06-12-2002 at 08:41 AM.
Fred Hubbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2002, 10:47 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
King-G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 837
Send a message via ICQ to King-G
Default

If you own a pitwizard or millenium pro..use that...

gives you more precise control over your settings rather than guessing.

if you dont, im sure someone wont mind you changing your parameters using theirs...
King-G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2002, 10:05 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
Peter Busch's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,491
Default

I finally took the time to figure out the pit wizzard on my millenium. Its actually pretty simple to do, I ended up turning the toggle on to adjust the drag, now I just need to get to the track to see how it works.

Thanks guys.
Peter Busch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2002, 10:46 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Norman AR.
Posts: 1,954
Send a message via AIM to ZER01
Default

Anyone know if I'll need to buy the new novak speed controller adapter for the C2's if I purchase a pit wizard nowdays?
ZER01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2002, 11:54 PM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
King-G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 837
Send a message via ICQ to King-G
Default

possibly, unless its been revised, as they may include the adaptor now.

if now, write to novak, and they should send you one free of charge....well they did for me anyhows.
King-G is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drag Brake Bandeira Nitro On-Road 8 07-31-2009 05:13 PM
3pk drag brake Nitro Herb Radio and Electronics 3 01-09-2008 07:00 PM
Drag Brake alan Nitro On-Road 9 10-27-2005 09:49 PM
ECS- Auto brake/Neutral Brake/Drag brake RC12L3a Electric On-Road 6 11-21-2004 10:10 PM
drag brake, brake and reverse imjonah Rookie Zone 3 07-24-2004 07:20 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:33 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net