R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-09-2004, 09:27 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
Rob Phillips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indianapolis / VA
Posts: 1,722
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Motor Lathe Diamond bits?

I know a few of you veterans out there know where I can purchase a diamond bit for my lathe. I know places like macmaster sell them, but I have no idea what exactly I need any help would be appreciated. I know I can get one from hudy and so on.....but I'm looking to save a little cash. Oh yeah I have a cobra mod lathe incase you needed to know. thanks Rob
Rob Phillips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 09:59 PM   #2
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Diego, Ca.
Posts: 79
Send a message via Yahoo to GTIRACER
Default

Ive seen them on EBAY for 50.00.. the company has them for all makes of lathe
GTIRACER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 10:01 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
berger's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I think most people on here would say keep buying/using carbide bits, much cheaper with no risk of chipping it. Can be sharpened and even just buy a new one each time it goes dull. The diamond one could be chipped and cutting out of round and you would never notice....
berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2004, 07:21 PM   #4
Super Moderator
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Well, actually you can count me as one who favors diamond bits, but it's not for the quality of cut(that seems identical from what I can tell), but for how long it can last before it needs any attention. I've had a diamond bit on my Cobra for nearly 5 years now(& I can't possibly count how many cuts I've done with it), & from what I can see, it's still cutting like it was brand new. But that being said, it is nearly as easy to get carbide ones for dirt cheap locally, just have a look in your local Yellow Pages for machine tool shops, & when you find some, bring the bit you already have with you & ask them to help you find one to match(& it won't hurt to see if they have any diamond ones). Before I got my diamond one, that's where I bought carbides from, & I usually found 'em for about $1.50 apiece....
__________________
Bob Seay
Tamiya TRF417, TA05v.2, TRF211XM, M-05ver.2R, XRAY X12, Associated B5m Factory Lite

Go Pokes!!!
Grizzbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2004, 07:40 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
schmelme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,294
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

check out carter daimond tool. They make the bits for fantom. They also sharpen old bits.Their bits are the best out there.
www.carterdiamond.com
schmelme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2004, 08:15 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Jack Smash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,897
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

The problem I find with diamonds is its almost impossible to tell when the bit is damaged. It can cut glass smooth but the comm will be out of round. I just switched my Hudy over to carbides and am much happier this way.
__________________
Kyosho / Orion / Amain.com / Protek / MIP /
Jack Smash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2004, 12:19 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default

I am in agreement with Grizzbob. I prefer diamond bits. I have had the same bit for over 4 yeears now and it still cuts as good as the day I bought it. It would have definately cost me more to buy carbide bits for all that time.

As far as telling if the bit is cutting out of round, that should be easy to tell. Pull the brushes out of the motor after you break it in and check the com. You will see odd wear patterns on the com if it is out of round!
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2004, 01:08 AM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 287
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Excuse my dumb question, but I'm curious to how a chipped diamond bit can actually cut the comm but it not be round? Seems like even if it is chunked as long as its not actively breaking or losing peieces is still going to be consistant. Maybe its 2am and I'm slightly inebriated though so I'm missing something...
psbarger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2004, 12:40 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by psbarger
Excuse my dumb question, but I'm curious to how a chipped diamond bit can actually cut the comm but it not be round? Seems like even if it is chunked as long as its not actively breaking or losing peieces is still going to be consistant. Maybe its 2am and I'm slightly inebriated though so I'm missing something...
I was thinking the same thing. Thinking in my head, if a bit was chipped, it would be easy to tell because the finish on the com would not be good.
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2004, 12:48 PM   #10
Tech Addict
 
Chrisgt2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 584
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Chrisgt2 Send a message via Yahoo to Chrisgt2
Default

Yeah.....the bit is stationary.......chipped or not.....out of round would mean there are a few screws loose on the lathe, had that happen a time or 2
__________________
Hot Bodies Pro 5
*Sponsors*
Hot Bodies, Speed Passion, Team Scream Racing, Rockstar Paint
Franchise Racing Products
The Raceway - Beaver, PA
Chrisgt2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2004, 02:25 PM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
primusblowsgoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pingree Grove, IL
Posts: 987
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to primusblowsgoat Send a message via Yahoo to primusblowsgoat
Default

i just received a hudy extreme lathe for christmas from my gf, it doesnt come with a bit, had she known she would have baught one but oh well, on to my question.

i see a few bits on ebay, carbide for like 6 bucks and diamond for like 50 or 60.

i also called a few hobby shops, they wanted 100 bucks for the diamond and 30 or 40 for a carbide.

am i ok to buy the cheap ones off ebay? are the ones in the hobby store more money because they have a trinity or hudy name on them? or are they somehow better?
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Schumacher Cat SX2
Schumacher Cougar SV
primusblowsgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2004, 02:49 PM   #12
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: houston, tx
Posts: 612
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Just get the right one for your lathe is all. Im not sure what yours is but they sell left and right hand cutters.
stumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2004, 02:58 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
dr_hfuhuhurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,502
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

I've got a Hudy diamond bit that has been used twice...cut like crap from the first cut (and I'm not a rookie so I didn't chip it).

Anywhere I can get that relapped?

Blake
__________________
"There is a fine line between hobby and mental illness. Which side are you on?"

“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.” - John Wayne
dr_hfuhuhurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2004, 03:01 PM   #14
Tech Fanatic
 
primusblowsgoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pingree Grove, IL
Posts: 987
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to primusblowsgoat Send a message via Yahoo to primusblowsgoat
Default

so if i get a 6 dollar bit off ebay that is the right one for my lathe ill be ok?
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Schumacher Cat SX2
Schumacher Cougar SV
primusblowsgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2004, 03:14 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
fast-ho-cars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: it's a dry heat
Posts: 1,058
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dr_hfuhuhurr
I've got a Hudy diamond bit that has been used twice...cut like crap from the first cut (and I'm not a rookie so I didn't chip it).

Anywhere I can get that relapped?

Blake
i had the same problem. i'm using it in a cobra lathe and had to mess with the shimming to get it to cut smooth. i also found it cut from left to right better. so i start my cut near were the wire tabs are and go right. have been doing this for over 1 year with no problems.
fast-ho-cars is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F.S SALE COBRA MOTOR LATHE WITH 2 DIAMOND BITS valleyraceway R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 12-02-2007 06:05 PM
Motor Lathe w/ Diamond & Carbide Bits Trinity rdnbrbk R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 16 06-28-2006 12:44 PM
fs: Diamond lathe bits XCrash R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 06-22-2005 10:50 AM
Diamond Lathe Bits.... 071crazy Electric On-Road 3 09-20-2004 03:09 PM
AL4 or AR4 Diamond Tipped lathe bits? UnderDaHill Electric On-Road 5 05-05-2004 02:08 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:45 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net