R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-16-2002, 12:21 PM   #16
Tech Master
 
fIShCaKe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,276
Send a message via MSN to fIShCaKe Send a message via Skype™ to fIShCaKe
Default

Hey, thanx pal for the full and descriptive instructions.. I think I shall switch on my computer and log into this thread while I set my ESC! LOL!
fIShCaKe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2002, 01:42 PM   #17
Tech Adept
 
Ian S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 241
Default

i can't imagine how hard it would be to figure it out without the instructions, having had mine for about 9 months i just about know how to do everything of by heart but i still have to look at the instructions occationally LOL. They can be very hard to figure out when first using them, last week i had to show a top UK Schumacher driver how to set the brakes up...and he had the instructions!
Ian S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2002, 04:18 AM   #18
Tech Master
 
fIShCaKe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,276
Send a message via MSN to fIShCaKe Send a message via Skype™ to fIShCaKe
Default

Hey Guys! Do I needa fit in a schotte diode to my motor when I install my Zero V into the car?
fIShCaKe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2002, 07:39 AM   #19
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 27
Default

Nope
Ras Thavas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2002, 12:45 AM   #20
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 301
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Anyone on here know what the differences are between the newer 2002 versions and the older versions? Does is just have a lower on resistance or are there other worthy or mentionable improvements? Thanks in advance.
WailinOnYa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2002, 03:37 AM   #21
Tech Elite
 
ijnek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: S'pore & M'sia, JB
Posts: 2,510
Send a message via ICQ to ijnek
Smile

it's the same,just tat the way the wire is being connected to the ESC.
on the 2002 esc,it is connected up by a gold connector.on the normal edition,it is a hard solder...

it's rather hard to get the 2002 edition nowadays...
ijnek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2002, 04:36 AM   #22
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,117
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

i read below that a diode is not needed for the zero v extreme, but i already installed one. should i remove it or will it work fine even with or without one?
marvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2002, 11:16 AM   #23
Tech Adept
 
highx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: ca
Posts: 138
Default

Glitch is gone for sure. Thanks everyone. I was just wondering if anyone here uses this speedo in stock TC? If so have you found any settings that work better than the standard ones? This thing has so many options I figure why not play with them. Thanks.
highx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2002, 11:57 AM   #24
Tech Adept
 
Ian S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 241
Default

marvi- it says in the manuel that you dont need a diode but it wont harm it if u do, i still run diodes on my motors from when i had other speedos.

On another note does anyone use a cap with their extreme? i dont but i might try it one day to see if i can tell a difference.
Ian S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2002, 02:03 PM   #25
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 27
Default

I am using mine for stock TC. I adjust the drive frequency most often. I find that adjustment to work hand in hand with choosing gearing. Last weekend, for instance, the track setup was fast and I was geared conservatively so I cranked the drive frequency up to 14.0. Car ran good, and the temp of the esc was ok at around 125F (it was 85F outside). I cut my comm and re-serrated my brushes before the main and checked the motor on my Integy Dyno and rpm's had fallen off by about 1500rpm. I geared up 2 teeth but lowered my drive frequency to 7.5 and that was the ticket to 2nd in the A-main.
Ras Thavas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2002, 06:48 PM   #26
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,117
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

thanks for the reply i was also thinking of running a cap but i dont know what value to use. maybe keyence will release a worlds kit with the caps, similar to what LRP did for their quantum.
marvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2002, 07:22 PM   #27
Tech Adept
 
IceBerG71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Singapore RC racer
Posts: 159
Default

Can i check with U all between Zero V extreme and LRP quatum pro, which is better?? Thanx

IceBerG71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2002, 09:31 PM   #28
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,117
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

both are great racing esc's. i bought a used quantum pro and ive had no problems with it since. both esc's can handle virtually any motor. the only advantage of the keyence i can think of is its adjustability. the quantum is also very adjustable because of its different profiles but the keyence has more features such as variable frequency, temperature gauge, battery volt meter, etc. plus, it has 3 built in profiles and 4 user-saved profiles.
marvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2002, 09:35 PM   #29
Tech Elite
 
ijnek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: S'pore & M'sia, JB
Posts: 2,510
Send a message via ICQ to ijnek
Smile

i'm using the zero V xtreme...
no turns limit,forward-brake action and everything is adjustable on the ESC itself.it has a digitial display whereby u can see the throttle percentage,brake percentage,temperature,batt volt etc...

it's a kool esc...i would say a novak top-of the line with the pit wizard bulit-in...

Iceberg71:if u intent on getting it,i can jus zap a copy of the english manual for u...u r in s'pore rite???

the last LRP ESC that i use was the lrp V7.1 which i was pretty pleased with it also...

in terms of size,i believe the zero V xtreme is jus slightly bigger than the quantum competition...

my opinion???...it's the best once u know the ways around it!!!
ijnek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2002, 10:00 AM   #30
Tech Adept
 
IceBerG71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Singapore RC racer
Posts: 159
Default

ijnek:

Thanx. i will get from u the manual if i buy the esc. i saw the champions using it in Japn Tamiya race. so i guess it is good. so in ur last msg, either of them is good rite......
IceBerG71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EXTREME R/C L2-ProRacer Track Locator Forum 2 04-29-2010 07:32 PM
Keyence Zero Extreme Customworksking R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 01-17-2006 10:50 AM
Zero V Extreme Like New In Box rcpaintinpete R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 03-16-2005 08:11 PM
KSG Extreme xxxgrumpxxx R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 10-29-2003 05:57 PM
KSG Extreme CS (New In Box) PlayHard R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 04-29-2003 12:08 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:28 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net