R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 11-23-2011, 10:05 PM   #1
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default TC6.1 vs Xray T3 2012

I am a newb, looking to make my first TC purchase. Can someone point out the pros and cons of each kit? Ease of driving, durability, and tuning will be a plus since I have no onroad expeiriance. I already did some research but looking for your input. Narrowed it down to these two kits. I know the TC6.1 has not been released yet. Thanks.

Last edited by TedBull; 11-23-2011 at 10:16 PM.
TedBull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 10:18 PM   #2
Tech Adept

My advice, for a newb, is to make sure you understand that a expert/pro level car, takes experience to set up. (correctly)
Most drivers that do not have the necessary experience to set up a complex chassis, will have more frustration, then enjoyment.
Minute setting adjustments, if they are off on a typical plastic chassis car, won't effect the overall handling much, but on a carbon fiber chassis car, small adjustments have a huge effect on handling. If your set up or chassis tweak is off just a hair, the car will be a handful to drive.
I know this from personal experience, and also, I see it all the time when other drivers "move up" to more complex cars, and they handle worse than the car it replaced.
If your mechanical skills are good, and you take the time to learn proper set up, and buy the required tools (alignment station, tweak board, etc) and get some help from experienced racers/tuners, then you'd be fine with any car. Or, if your willing to learn as you go, but don't expect a car to handle perfectly, with out a perfect set up.
Equate to bowling for example.....I could go buy the best Pro Level ball available, but If my form and technique is wrong, it will still go in the gutter.
red7fifty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 10:22 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)