R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-09-2004, 12:43 AM   #1
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,903
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default How do i fix my glitch on my helios??? HELP

i have a helios radio pair up with ko2343 servo with vfs1 esc but my steering servo will glitch. plz help .thanks
EngTat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 09:26 AM   #2
Regional Moderator
 
daniz24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: D-Square Racing
Posts: 3,189
Default

Check the receiver antenna position, or last thing to do is change your crystal.
daniz24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 09:56 AM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 441
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

how is the wiring for your steering servo routed?
MManson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 10:19 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,903
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

hi will the titanium srew causes glitch?
EngTat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 10:26 AM   #5
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Re: How do i fix my glitch on my helios??? HELP

Quote:
Originally posted by EngTat
i have a helios radio pair up with ko2343 servo with vfs1 esc but my steering servo will glitch. plz help .thanks
can you post a pic of your car? and how your electronics are set up?
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 08:30 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 220
Default

My friend had the same problem. We drove 5 hours to a regional race and he glitched all weekend with his helois. On the drive back, after being glitched out of 3 Q's ( never glitched with his R1 or 3PK with same car and gear )he turns to me and says.....


I figgured out how to get rid of the glitch with the Helois....
I replied with a How? He said.... One word...




Ebay.
Smalls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 11:25 PM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
Tommy Bergfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 979
Send a message via ICQ to Tommy Bergfeldt
Default

Try to use a different Response System, try regular non AHSR, it's the switch behind the Module. The switch should be in the lower positon for nonhsr.

Do you have a personal transponder in the car? If it's close to the reciever you should move it to the front or something. Some people around here (including me) had some glitches when the PT was just a couple of centimeters away from the reciever
__________________
JMI Motorsport / Red Bull Racing
HB Cyclone TC - Schumacher CAT SX & Cougar SV
Advanced Electronics - Autopartner.se - Sav÷x - NorthTQ
Tommy Bergfeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2004, 04:39 AM   #8
Tech Addict
 
onebeatuptc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Outside Peachtree city in GA
Posts: 552
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to onebeatuptc3
Default

Ive never had a single glitch with my Helios, i mean never, and its about 3 weeks old. Even inside a metal building i didnt have any glitches. Make sure that if your receiver is away from the antenna mount, that you insulate the antenna wire until it gets to the antenna mount. A piece of fuel tubing or the stripping of a wire can be slipped right and put on the wire to prevent interference. Beside that make sure that you arent running Super HRS with an older KO receiver. Also make sure that the antenna is still in one peice, because ive had a problem with my old futaba fm mircroreceiver, where the case would come apart, and it clipped my antenna wire.

If neither works, put a few capacitors on the motor, if that doesnt work, send it into ko.
onebeatuptc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2004, 07:02 AM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
cartmen34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sparx
Try to use a different Response System, try regular non AHSR, it's the switch behind the Module. The switch should be in the lower positon for nonhsr.

Do you have a personal transponder in the car? If it's close to the reciever you should move it to the front or something. Some people around here (including me) had some glitches when the PT was just a couple of centimeters away from the reciever
I can attest to that. I made the mistake of practicing without my personal in my BJ4. I went out for my first qualifier and got glitches like crazy. I wound up having to move my personal transponder from the servo to half way back on the top deck of my chassis.

It certainly cured my glitches.
cartmen34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2004, 07:47 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: E-Town Posse
Posts: 1,573
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

i glitched bad when my pt was close to my receiver, try moving the transponder aound the chassis.
__________________
Team Associated, Reedy, Tekin, Futaba, Putnam, Protoform, BSR, SXT, Reflex Racing, McPappy Racing, TQ Wire, Swifty Designs
Jeff Cuffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2004, 07:52 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Or do what I did bought the spectrum system for the Helios. I will have it in January. It promisses No Glitching....I will be the first to try it locally and I guess I will be the ginny pig. Oh well If it suck them I will sent it back(horizon is good about those kind of things). If it ROCKS then I got the best bang for my buck, cause I have spent a couple of hundred $$$ trying to end the glitching game. Here is a quick helping hand. THE ANTENNA WIRE SHOULD NEVER TOUCH CARBON FIBER OR GRAFITE....INSULATE IT WITH FUEL TUBING AND MOUNT THE RECEIVER WITH AT LEAST TWO LAYERS OF SERVO TAPE(I USE THREE)AND LASTLY EITHER WRAP ALL SERVO AND ESC WIRES WITH SOMETHING( I USE BIG SRINK WRAP OR IN MY CARBON FIBER CHASSIS I USE FERRITE COILS (which do work if you get the ones that you wrap the wire around the coil not the ones you clip on the negative wires of your battery and motor(although they also can help from all of my tests)for this will eliminate the radio interfering noice that electronics can perduce)))...HOPE THIS HELPS....
Stephen <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2004, 12:09 PM   #12
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default List of Glitch Killers

here we go... in easy to read format: (in no specific order)

1. move personal transponder as far away from the receiver as possible. (mine is mounted on the front bumpter)

2. antenna wire is in a tube/fuel tube so it doesnt touch any part of the chassis (until it goes into the antenna tube)

3. two layers of double sided tape where ever the receiver touches something else. (against the esc, servo, chassis)

4. capacitors, diodes... on the motor

5. properly break in your motor

6. receiver on its side, on top of the servo.. basically different locations.

7. that yokomo glitch killer thingymabob.

8. insulate all wires going (shrink wrap) into the receiver.

9. organize the wires. (shorten if necessary). or tie them up neatly with zip ties

10. check for any BENT pins on your crystals.

11. check for any BENT pins in your radio module (behind radio)

12. check for any BENT pins in the receiver

13. make sure you have a frequency clip and no one else has that same channel on. everything above will fail if someone turns on the same channel.

14. make sure radio antenna is not bent or broken.

15. add ferrite magnets to negative wires (motor and battery)

please add to this list if i missed something.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2004, 08:58 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,903
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

finaly i find the culprit it was the motor fault. i dindt notive that when i was rebuiding my motor i drop of a pin of the internal capacitor of themotor, core mod. now i am using the revo and the problem is gone
EngTat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FX Pro Glitch racing_jason Electric On-Road 3 04-03-2009 05:16 PM
DX2.0 Glitch? monkeyracing Radio and Electronics 3 03-25-2008 11:51 AM
GLITCH.. zax Electric On-Road 18 09-25-2005 09:51 AM
Glitch tkhoo Malaysian R/C Racers 6 08-21-2004 10:15 AM
MX-3 Glitch tridagger Electric On-Road 7 01-25-2004 06:55 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:06 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net