R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-08-2004, 03:30 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 188
Default LRP pulsar competition problem

I just noticed that my pulsar charger indicates input low when I charge the 6 cells nimh pack at 6A. The charger lowers the input amp to 4.6A and sometimes even lower.

The power supply is good because I used it with a 35 GFX, no problem charging at 6A.

But then, the pulsar has no problem charging any receiver pack at 1A. Is my pulsar charger broken?
raceblast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2004, 03:56 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
ALBERTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Posts: 2,986
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Send a message via AIM to ALBERTO Send a message via Yahoo to ALBERTO
Default

might want to send it to associated for repair
__________________
still fishing
ALBERTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2004, 03:56 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
Rod M's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,545
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

try a different PSU and test it out,
__________________
TOPRACING.NET.AU Australian Importer of:
T.O.P. Tokyo Hobbies Optional Parts,
Team Trinity , BL Motors and Tyre compound
Team Tekin , ESC's, motors,
Elangears, Chargers,
Rod M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2004, 06:38 PM   #4
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Rod M: Yes, it sounds like a power supply issue....
__________________
Tre's
TnT-Fx Custom Graphics
www.tnt-fx.com
Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 05:37 AM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 188
Default

I tried the charger with a 12V car battery as well. Same problem. I will send the charger to TA for repair.
raceblast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 10:25 AM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England (UK)
Posts: 440
Default

Maybe the 12v (if you've got one) is going low, or if you've charged it up the night before and the 12v is going flat after 2 battery packs have been charged up then you need to get a new 12v , or the charger might be broken.

CHazz
Chazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 12:07 PM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 226
Default

I also think it's the problem with 12V being low. A car battery that's not being charged will definitely be low, as it's barely 12 volts in fully charged state.
Why don't you believe it when it tells you the input IS low?
What input voltage does it show on the Pulsar when this happens? Have you measured with a voltmeter?

The reason it doesn't happen with 35GFX is because ithe 35 probably has voltage multiplier circuit built in and isn't so sensitive about input voltage.
olev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2004, 05:37 AM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 188
Default

I tried the pulsar with 2 different power supply, one is the car battery on my real car(I drive everyday), and the other is a 20A AC to DC power supply.

The input Amp drops from 6A to 4.5A the moment when charging begins.

I heard that LRP support in the States is not good. Stuffs are sent to Europe from servicing. Since my charger is already out of warranty, just wondering whether it worths the bucks to get it repaired.
raceblast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2004, 06:18 AM   #9
Tech Adept
 
Carbonator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 103
Default

Hi there

Make sure your Power Supply gives 13.8V at least,
I read somewhere here on these forums, that if the output voltage of the PSU is set at 12V your charger can't charge your battery packs at high amps. charger needs more power than it get's from the PSU.
Most PSU's have somekind of screw at the underside or backside where you can adjust the output voltage. Measure it with a Multi meter.

Check the specs of your charger for the max input voltage.
I'm not sure, but i think for the pulsar it is max 15V.
__________________
"Doing left-turns only, means you're missing half the fun..."
Carbonator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 06:07 PM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
dsrbltoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 890
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have the same problem. I have two of these pulars. I solded on a deans to connect it to the power supply. I have not checked the connections yet, but it is only happening on one of the pulsars, and it follows the charger, not the cord. I also have used my car to charge sometimes and charge out of my power socket while I drive the 1 hour to another "local" track, I first noticed the problem in the car. It later came apparent at a two day event. I am planning on sending it in for repair. Just been busy. I did find it interesting while watching, it will start out at the 4-6 amp charge setting, but will creep to 2-3 amps after a few minutes.
dsrbltoys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 12:21 AM   #11
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 188
Default

I tested the charger with several other power supplys. It has no problem charging at 6A. I guess there is something wrong with my power supply and the car battery.
raceblast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 12:36 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Windtalkers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Johor Bahru
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to Windtalkers
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by raceblast
I tested the charger with several other power supplys. It has no problem charging at 6A. I guess there is something wrong with my power supply and the car battery.
try adjusting the v higher (the power supply)
Windtalkers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2004, 10:11 AM   #13
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 188
Default

The output voltage of the current PSU is 12.7V. I guess the LRP pulsar needs more voltage.
raceblast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pulsar Competition 2 racen 77 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 10 11-20-2007 07:05 PM
lrp pulsar competition 2, lrp pulsar sport, turbocharger/matcher CHEAP billjacobs R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 08-21-2006 09:57 AM
Pulsar Competition,Pulsar Sport CarbonWorks R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 05-07-2006 12:24 AM
Wanted - I NEED 2 LRP pulsar competition or competition 2's!!! jtracker R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 02-01-2006 12:26 AM
LRP Pulsar Competition Charger Problem! 190mph Electric On-Road 5 11-10-2005 07:58 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:05 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net