R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-18-2011, 10:41 AM   #1
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,537
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default 17.5 blinky question, voltage booster

I am thinking of trying 1/12 again and with the whole Blinky stuff now going on, I am curious what ESCs out there that can run 1S without needing a voltage booster.

Also, for the ESC you mention, please state your opinion on how well it fits the 1/12 scale chassis.
__________________
Member - Red River Radio/Control Car Club
< Tekno EB48SL / SCT410.3 | Tekno EB410 x 2 | Yokomo YZ-2 DTM x 2 | LC Racing EMB-1 Buggies and Truggies >
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 10:50 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Can 1s without booster

Speed Passion GT2.0
LRP SXX stock spec/TC spec
Nosram version of above
XErun 1s speedos
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 10:58 AM   #3
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,537
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

what about the LPF versions?
__________________
Member - Red River Radio/Control Car Club
< Tekno EB48SL / SCT410.3 | Tekno EB410 x 2 | Yokomo YZ-2 DTM x 2 | LC Racing EMB-1 Buggies and Truggies >
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 11:11 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cain View Post
what about the LPF versions?
Yes i believe so BUT i thought they were discontinued waiting for the new speedo (i think)
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 11:18 AM   #5
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
Can 1s without booster

Speed Passion GT2.0
LRP SXX stock spec/TC spec
Nosram version of above
XErun 1s speedos
Also the LRP Compv2 will run blinky, with a very low proflie.
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 09:56 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
iPearl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 2,889
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to iPearl Send a message via MSN to iPearl
Default

Viper-RC will release a VTX1 <-- waiting on this one Its like Tekin on crack
Speed Passion GT 2.1
Castle has a 1S also
Cube From Germany has one but we can't get it
__________________
Design Of Things !!!
iPearl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 11:41 AM   #7
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,800
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iPearl View Post
Viper-RC will release a VTX1 <-- waiting on this one Its like Tekin on crack
Speed Passion GT 2.1
Castle has a 1S also
Cube From Germany has one but we can't get it
I have the SP esc GT2. with the 518 fimware( Its could be 3 year or less old ).can I updated the esc with the 1s profiles?
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 05:18 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
ByteStream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 1,145
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cain View Post
what about the LPF versions?
No
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | KO Propo | Hobbywing HWNA | R1Wurks | BSR Tires
5280 Raceway - www.5280raceway.com
MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 19-22nd 2018 @ www.milehighindoorchamps.com
ByteStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 05:23 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
ByteStream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 1,145
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OVA View Post
I have the SP esc GT2. with the 518 fimware( Its could be 3 year or less old ).can I updated the esc with the 1s profiles?
There is no such thing as 1s profiles.

When people refer to 1s speedo's they really mean speedo's that don't need a rx pack or external booster.

Remember 1s batteries are only 4.2v when fully charged and receivers need about 6v to work correctly, so something has to increase the voltage to at least 6v. That can be a rx pack, external booster or a speedo that does it internally (which is the topic of the thead).
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | KO Propo | Hobbywing HWNA | R1Wurks | BSR Tires
5280 Raceway - www.5280raceway.com
MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 19-22nd 2018 @ www.milehighindoorchamps.com
ByteStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 08:34 PM   #10
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,800
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ByteStream View Post
There is no such thing as 1s profiles.

When people refer to 1s speedo's they really mean speedo's that don't need a rx pack or external booster.

Remember 1s batteries are only 4.2v when fully charged and receivers need about 6v to work correctly, so something has to increase the voltage to at least 6v. That can be a rx pack, external booster or a speedo that does it internally (which is the topic of the thead).
what really want to know it ..Can i run this GT2 esc in my 12th scale with the receiver pack?
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 08:50 PM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
Infinite 12th's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: California
Posts: 877
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cain View Post
I am thinking of trying 1/12 again and with the whole Blinky stuff now going on, I am curious what ESCs out there that can run 1S without needing a voltage booster.

Also, for the ESC you mention, please state your opinion on how well it fits the 1/12 scale chassis.
People swear about Tekin but of course they need rx pack or booster

This became troublesome for me so I just got what I believed would work (LRP SXX Stock/Spec) well in 12th mod (4T min) and 12th blinky without having to have a computer to boost/ramp/turbosize ...lol

I want to keep things simple as to concentrate on setup in a limited time big race
__________________
12th scale - The Jedi class...
Infinite 12th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 07:41 AM   #12
Tech Master
 
ByteStream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 1,145
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OVA View Post
what really want to know it ..Can i run this GT2 esc in my 12th scale with the receiver pack?
Yes, with an rx pack.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | KO Propo | Hobbywing HWNA | R1Wurks | BSR Tires
5280 Raceway - www.5280raceway.com
MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 19-22nd 2018 @ www.milehighindoorchamps.com
ByteStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 11:33 AM   #13
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,800
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ByteStream View Post
Yes, with an rx pack.
Thank you
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:42 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net