R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-02-2005, 08:18 PM   #31
Tech Addict
 
nwilcox88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Marysville, Michigan
Posts: 616
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I currently run a Q2 in my TC4 and I like it, I have not had any problems with it.

I currently run a Novak GTX in my B4 and I like it as well, have not had problems with that one either.

Now to compare the two, the one thing I like the Q2 over the GTX is the power capacitor, it is big and a pain to mount especially in a TC4.
nwilcox88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2005, 08:45 PM   #32
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 43
Default

I am a big fan of the Keyence speed controls. I have owned both the Zero V Extreme and the Rapida Pro. They are not bad to set up as long as you read the directions and they give lots of options. The few problems I have had (from unfortunate accidents) have been fixed flawlessly by Schumacher USA.
toomanytoys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2005, 09:40 PM   #33
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Au
Posts: 329
Default

hi for those who have a QC2, have u had any problems with the settings in regards to the Punch (setting 1)/initial brake (setting 2)/drag brake (setting 3) etc?

when i hold down mode for 3 seconds it goes into the punch setting mode, then i want to adjust the initial brake or drag brake by pressing the mode button again, and it just sits there acting dumb and does nothing!

also, when i set drag brake to 5 does this then also sets the initial brake to 5 also?
qwerty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 04:46 AM   #34
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: England, lincs
Posts: 317
Default

qwerty, no it should not set the initial brake to 5 evan if u have drag brakes on 5. i find them easy to set up just hold 3 sec on the mode button then set the number of flashes with the set button, then press mode and it will go to the initial brake setin set that and then it will go to drag brake and u should be able to set that different to the initial brake .

i run a qc2 and a nosrma dominator evo. both are very good. but i shorted the nosram out i jsut sent it back to the distrubters and they sent me a brand new one back in a week for free.
bob33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 01:28 PM   #35
Tech Master
 
Dasupacat1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,372
Trader Rating: 25 (96%+)
Send a message via MSN to Dasupacat1
Default

I have 2 Quantums. One I bought used and they're both awesome. Wait till the Q3 is out.
Dasupacat1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 01:55 PM   #36
Tech Elite
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

yea i wana see the QC3 as well but i think ill pick one up used after a lil while. $200 is a bit much for me right now.

i have a Hara Twiser 2.1 great speedo no problems and i like the hara instealled program. works great for TC right outa the box.

i have a Q2 on its way for my 12th scale. never had a LRP speedo will be fun to see how it does. anyoen had a word of advise on settings for a [email protected] for 12th?

for novak, i dont have a gtx but i have had just aboute very cyclone made as well as teh tempest. i have had them blow, but my mistake i believe. but novak customer service is great. just check it you want a new or refurbed one and you will get what you want within 2 weeks.
__________________
Xray '007 US and a bunch of other outdated stuff
fjm9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 05:47 PM   #37
Tech Fanatic
 
calstarjig90j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 823
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Only thing I didn't like about my futaba mc800, qc 1, qc 2 is that the casing in some cases opens up when you apply too much pressure when removing after placement. Only thing I don't like about my GTX is the setup button which is awkward to handle. I had an old school Keyence a01 higher end and I still liked that over all of my current ones. Just that the solder tabs were really hard to deal with.
calstarjig90j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 05:57 PM   #38
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 835
Default

I've had all of these at one point or another,and am going back to Tekin.
Hyper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 06:57 PM   #39
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

At some point or another it's all about personal preference. I've had just about everything also and Keyence was the first, then slowly migrated to the KO Pro-Comp (which I have in my TC now). But I've always like the adjustability and on-board programming functions of the Keyence line so I put the Rapida Pro in my 12th-scale and I'm not turning back again It's really a toss up for me though between KO and Keyence but I lean towards the Rapida Pro. I just FEEL the VFS-1 Pro is a tad too time consuming to program; So if anyone's looking for a complete VFS1 Pro-Comp set-up, give me a holla...
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 07:42 PM   #40
Tech Addict
 
Jam-ehz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 592
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Jam-ehz
Default

The only caveat with the QC2 that some will agree with, is the questionable BEC current.. I need a capacitor for the receiver power, or else it jumps if I twitch the steering too fast, and it's just a Hitec 545, not a KO which are notorious for their current draw..

Every other LRP (Runner, F1 Pro), Futaba (MC330) and Keyence (Rapida Pro) supplies power without failing, and my PT light never flickers. Even with the cap, my PT light will still flicker on the QC2, as well as the receiver. Thankfully I don't lose laps from it, but it's an indication of something that my Keyence never had a problem with ([email protected] - I still don't know what the QC2 does.. )

Some have no problems, I do, and good luck if you have a KO servo and Spektrum..

Needless to say, the Keyence rocks.. I still have my QC2 for my Mini, you can't beat the size, but for anything else (Fine tuning any detail right at trackside) the Rapida is solid.
__________________
-=≡ Tamiya TA05 TRF415MSX F103R M-03R M-04 M-05 ≡=-
-=≡ CRC Carpet Knife 3.2 OFNA LD3 Pro Fastcats Spektrum ׀ווlı ≡=-
Jam-ehz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 09:39 PM   #41
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jam-ehz
The only caveat with the QC2 that some will agree with, is the questionable BEC current.. I need a capacitor for the receiver power, or else it jumps if I twitch the steering too fast, and it's just a Hitec 545, not a KO which are notorious for their current draw..

Every other LRP (Runner, F1 Pro), Futaba (MC330) and Keyence (Rapida Pro) supplies power without failing, and my PT light never flickers. Even with the cap, my PT light will still flicker on the QC2, as well as the receiver. Thankfully I don't lose laps from it, but it's an indication of something that my Keyence never had a problem with ([email protected] - I still don't know what the QC2 does.. )

Some have no problems, I do, and good luck if you have a KO servo and Spektrum..

Needless to say, the Keyence rocks.. I still have my QC2 for my Mini, you can't beat the size, but for anything else (Fine tuning any detail right at trackside) the Rapida is solid.
Spot on ...
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 11:16 PM   #42
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 835
Default

I've ran the keyence and it really is a good ESC but it is a little to quirky for me, sometimes it's hard to make changes quickly,the Tekins have really strong BEC and changes are made VERY quickly without worrying about "Did it take".
Hyper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 11:25 PM   #43
Tech Master
 
subman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Edmonton,Canada
Posts: 1,237
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I have run the GT7 and GTX both were great but I recently switched all of mine to the KO it's super smooth and you can adjust it infinitly!
subman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 11:38 PM   #44
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 111
Red face capasitor

i have a QC2 do i need to fit a capasitor on im new to this also i heard you dont have to fit one i just dont want to bugger it up im running a 19 t epic and its arking please help
serpentrush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2005, 10:53 PM   #45
Tech Master
 
Soviet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Littleton, CO - USA
Posts: 1,708
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

GTX
__________________
"You don't get hurt racing little cars..."

-Me
Soviet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keyence Rapida Pro ESC KyLayfield R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 05-18-2008 06:13 PM
Keyence Rapida Pro & Keyence Zero V Extreme for sale! SuperNaut R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 09-20-2007 09:12 AM
Keyence Rapida Pro & Keyence Zero V Extreme for sale! SuperNaut R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 09-16-2007 03:53 PM
Keyence Rapida Pro and Novak GFX for sale Check it out !!!! mike ivy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-14-2007 07:52 PM
Keyence Rapida Pro ESC Formula1fan R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 06-07-2006 09:30 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:17 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net