Like Tree209Likes

Exotek F1R

Old 12-24-2011, 10:04 AM
  #121  
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,191
Default

Hey Mike,

One of the things I always disliked about Tamiya's designs in F1 is their tenancy to use long screws that go all the way through the car and are fastened on the top. This makes maintenance a pain as you have to undo stuff from the bottom just to take the top stuff off like the upper plate on the old F103. The F1R gets rid of almost all of that...the only 2 long screws left that are an issue are the ones that go through the rear of the servo mount into the upper arm pivot balls. Have you considered releasing a servo mount where that hole is threaded instead of smooth? This would make things simpler...On my F109 when I converted it to the F104 front end I cut that part of the servo mount off then used a 1/2" aluminum stand off that I tapped to 3mm. This worked great for the most part except the aluminum on the stand off I used is too soft and tends to strip out easily. A threaded servo mount would really make things a lot easier for a lot of people.
InspGadgt is offline  
Old 12-24-2011, 12:51 PM
  #122  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
MaxSp97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Camarino
Posts: 466
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

You meant this...
http://www.exotekracing.com/f104-bolt-in-servo-mounts/

[QUOTE=InspGadgt;10077632]Hey Mike,

One of the things I always disliked about Tamiya's designs in F1 is their tenancy to use long screws that go all the way through the car and are fastened on the top. This makes maintenance a pain as you have to undo stuff from the bottom just to take the top stuff off like the upper plate on the old F103. The F1R gets rid of almost all of that...the only 2 long screws left that are an issue are the ones that go through the rear of the servo mount into the upper arm pivot balls. Have you considered releasing a servo mount where that hole is threaded instead of smooth? This would make things simpler...On my F109 when I converted it to the F104 front end I cut that part of the servo mount off then used a 1/2" aluminum stand off that I tapped to 3mm. This worked great for the most part except the aluminum on the stand off I used is too soft and tends to strip out easily. A threaded servo mount would really make things a lot easier for a lot of people.[/QUOTE]
MaxSp97 is offline  
Old 12-24-2011, 01:09 PM
  #123  
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,191
Default

Oh are those threaded? I didn't think they were.

Where do I get those 6mm blue spacers for the servo saver shown in the pic?
InspGadgt is offline  
Old 12-24-2011, 01:31 PM
  #124  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
MaxSp97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Camarino
Posts: 466
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Yes! It's threaded. I used 3x20mm screw for lower chassis and 3x16mm upper desk. You could get the spacers 3x4 or 3x5 from 3Racing.
Check TQ Racing Sean may have all the parts.

Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
Oh are those threaded? I didn't think they were.

Where do I get those 6mm blue spacers for the servo saver shown in the pic?
MaxSp97 is offline  
Old 12-24-2011, 05:49 PM
  #125  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
texastc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,657
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

All my parts finally rolled in. TC is a happy camper. After I help Santa put some toys together Ill be all over finishing the F1R. And the CRC, and my brothers F109. Maybe Santa will stick around and help me a bit.
texastc is offline  
Old 12-25-2011, 12:06 AM
  #126  
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,191
Default

Ok I got the servo mount ordered as well as a few other stuff I wanted to get before but had to wait. Have a servo and a receiver out for repair and I wasn't sure if the warranty was going to cover them so I was holding a lil on the side to pay for that...well they are both being covered
InspGadgt is offline  
Old 12-25-2011, 12:21 AM
  #127  
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,191
Default

Ok I'm looking at my Pit Shimizu tires and Tamiya foam rims now trying to figure this out...on the outside edge of the rim does the tire glue to the outside of the rim? It kinda looks that way but I'm not sure. One side of the tire has a smaller ID than the other side of the tire.
InspGadgt is offline  
Old 12-25-2011, 01:13 AM
  #128  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (93)
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

The big lip on the tire goes towards the outside of the rim. I've got a little trick for glueing those wheels but I'm not going to try to type it all up from my phone. I'll try and post how I do the outer bead tomorrow. In my experience if you just peel it back and glue them they don't come out very true on the rim. I've ruined at least 2 sets until I figured out a good way of doing it. I have a set I need to glue so maybe I'll do a video of it if it helps.

Last edited by Odin544; 12-28-2011 at 11:07 PM.
Odin544 is offline  
Old 12-25-2011, 12:56 PM
  #129  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: NY/FL
Posts: 3,378
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

MERRY CHRISTMAS Mike and thanks for offering some great products.

Have a question regarding servo mounts and overall balance of the car.
Been waiting for the new laydown mount but that requires the use of shorty packs.
I'm wondering if anyone is thinking that the use of these "bolt in" servo mounts might be a better choice overall since you could then use normal size batteries OR shorty packs with little effort and could use them to help balance the car for different conditions.
Thoughts ??

Last edited by Evoracer; 12-28-2011 at 04:19 PM.
Evoracer is offline  
Old 12-25-2011, 02:49 PM
  #130  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 426
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=MaxSp97;10077436]Merry Xmas everybody...[/QUOT

Hey Max, Is that one of the old Paul Oxman cards?
alphacat is offline  
Old 12-25-2011, 03:24 PM
  #131  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
MaxSp97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Camarino
Posts: 466
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=alphacat;10080969]
Originally Posted by MaxSp97 View Post
Merry Xmas everybody...[/QUOT

Hey Max, Is that one of the old Paul Oxman cards?
This one is from Concepts International.
http://www.conceptsi.com/index.htm
MaxSp97 is offline  
Old 12-25-2011, 04:36 PM
  #132  
Tech Regular
 
durtbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: planet X in a distant galaxy
Posts: 401
Default

Originally Posted by Odin544 View Post
The big lip on the tire goes towards the outside of the rim. I've got a little trick for glueing those wheels but I'm not going to try to type it all up from my phone. I'll try and post how I do the outer bead tomorrow. In my experience if you just peel it back and glue them they don't come out very true on the rim. I've ruined at least 2 sets until I figured out a good way of doing it. I have a set I need to glue so maybe I'll do a video of it helps.
please do. i suck at mounting tires, there has to be a better way.
durtbag is offline  
Old 12-25-2011, 05:08 PM
  #133  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
texastc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,657
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I ruined my first set of Pits for F104 rims. I glued them backwards. It was an expensive mistake. The right way didn't look right at first, but today I got to messing with a new set. Like Odin said, the big lip goes on the outside. Perfect.
texastc is offline  
Old 12-25-2011, 05:37 PM
  #134  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
CR0SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: EL Jebel
Posts: 1,498
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by texastc View Post
I ruined my first set of Pits for F104 rims. I glued them backwards. It was an expensive mistake. The right way didn't look right at first, but today I got to messing with a new set. Like Odin said, the big lip goes on the outside. Perfect.
I was unsure when I got my first set. So I just mounted them with no glue and put them on the car. This quickly showed which way to mount the tires on the rims.
CR0SS is offline  
Old 12-25-2011, 05:39 PM
  #135  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
texastc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,657
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CR0SS View Post
I was unsure when I got my first set. So I just mounted them with no glue and put them on the car. This quickly showed which way to mount the tires on the rims.
Common sense, patience, and me do not often collide in the same sentence. I never learn lol
texastc is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.