Like Tree209Likes

Exotek F1R

Old 05-20-2013, 04:38 AM
  #661  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
evochick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney AU
Posts: 1,550
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Got my Flex chassis in the mail today and had it all ready to go not long after that

Lots of wasted space in the middle, I think ill move speedy and receiver soon....

Cant wait to test it this Friday



Beth.
evochick is offline  
Old 05-20-2013, 05:32 AM
  #662  
PDR
Tech Master
iTrader: (31)
 
PDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,928
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by evochick View Post
Got my Flex chassis in the mail today and had it all ready to go not long after that

Lots of wasted space in the middle, I think ill move speedy and receiver soon....

Cant wait to test it this Friday



Beth.
Beth, I ran mine at MMM on the weekend and it went quite well. With no other changes, I found it shifted the grip towards the front, so I had to soften up the rear just a little. I'll be interested to see what you think
PDR is offline  
Old 05-20-2013, 08:03 AM
  #663  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
Rick Vessell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Central IL
Posts: 2,398
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by PDR View Post
Some quick questions:
  • Where do you measure the .7mm preload on the shock?
  • How do you measure the caster?
  • You mention CA on the sidewalls, so I'm assuming this is a carpet set-up. Would it work for asphalt?
I run a .7 spacer under the front springs for preload.

I use the old RPM camber gauge for caster measurement. I put the car up on my droop blocks and set the camber gauge next to the kingpin behind the axle and line the two up to measure.

Yes, CA on the sidewalls of the Pardus tires for carpet. Traction rolls very easy if you don't.
Rick Vessell is offline  
Old 05-20-2013, 08:21 AM
  #664  
Suspended
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: awahtukee, AZ
Posts: 1,433
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by EricF View Post
Can you use a mini servo in these cars or is it best to use a low profile servo?
E
just use a low profile..or standard servo eric..did you get one?? when u gonna race it??
i am cornholio is offline  
Old 05-20-2013, 09:30 AM
  #665  
Tech Master
 
EricF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,548
Default

Originally Posted by i am cornholio View Post
just use a low profile..or standard servo eric..did you get one?? when u gonna race it??
No I haven't gotten one yet. Not sure what to buy, I think I'm pretty sure I want to stay in the Tamiya brand (but what version?), but I'm more than a little confused when it comes to all the different aftermarket companies and tires, etc.

Do I need an Exotec chassis, the quality of their products look great but is it necessary $$ to spend?

This F1 stuff doesn't seems very easy to understand what's what.

When I get one I'll race it Competition Hobbies, John Barr already has one and I've seen Lonny creeping around in the F1 threads as well.
E
EricF is offline  
Old 05-20-2013, 09:40 AM
  #666  
pbr
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SW FL
Posts: 207
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

All I can say is before we got an F1 I did a lot of reading and I went with the F1r Played with springs a little. we run Pits rubber and Tamya Foams carpet Oval and Asphalt On road and what most of the pepole see on the car is the red blinking light . Just put the Exotec front end onit this week If it wasn't for a tangle up that took the spur gear out it would have been out front in the A main again
pbr is offline  
Old 05-20-2013, 03:28 PM
  #667  
Suspended
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: awahtukee, AZ
Posts: 1,433
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by EricF View Post
No I haven't gotten one yet. Not sure what to buy, I think I'm pretty sure I want to stay in the Tamiya brand (but what version?), but I'm more than a little confused when it comes to all the different aftermarket companies and tires, etc.

Do I need an Exotec chassis, the quality of their products look great but is it necessary $$ to spend?

This F1 stuff doesn't seems very easy to understand what's what.

When I get one I'll race it Competition Hobbies, John Barr already has one and I've seen Lonny creeping around in the F1 threads as well.
E
start off with the f104 v2..then if you want you can get the exotek chassis and front end..does make a difference..
i am cornholio is offline  
Old 05-20-2013, 04:06 PM
  #668  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
NutDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,778
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Is the F1r chassis kit (not just the 2.25mm flexi chassis) still for sale?
NutDriver is online now  
Old 05-20-2013, 04:08 PM
  #669  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,893
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by NutDriver View Post
Is the F1r chassis kit (not just the 2.25mm flexi chassis) still for sale?
Yes.
liljohn1064 is offline  
Old 05-20-2013, 04:35 PM
  #670  
Tech Master
 
EricF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,548
Default

Originally Posted by i am cornholio View Post
start off with the f104 v2..then if you want you can get the exotek chassis and front end..does make a difference..
Cool, that's what I thought. Might put it in with the treasury department as my Father's day present.

21.5, shorty 2s lipo, low-pro servo right?
E
EricF is offline  
Old 05-20-2013, 04:37 PM
  #671  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
NutDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,778
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

TQRC doesn't have the F1r in stock, nor does Exotek. Stormer does have an F1Ultra, but I know that is intended for the F103. Any other suggestions?
Can an F1r flexi main chassis plate be substitued with the F1Ultra?
NutDriver is online now  
Old 05-21-2013, 11:22 PM
  #672  
Tech Regular
 
tudor_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 345
Default

I found this picture of my F1r with the rubber tires from last year on..
Miniature Stig still sitting there waiting for the next drive.

My F1r is now on foams and quicker then ever.
Attached Thumbnails Exotek F1R-dsc_0012.jpg  
tudor_47 is offline  
Old 05-22-2013, 06:25 AM
  #673  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
NutDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,778
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

I read and hear a lot about CA on the sidewalls of rubber tires. Is it to stiffen the sidewall, to make it more slick so that when the tread flexes to the point that the sidewall makes contact with the surface that it is "slick", or some combination of the two?
NutDriver is online now  
Old 05-22-2013, 08:10 AM
  #674  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
Rick Vessell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Central IL
Posts: 2,398
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by NutDriver View Post
I read and hear a lot about CA on the sidewalls of rubber tires. Is it to stiffen the sidewall, to make it more slick so that when the tread flexes to the point that the sidewall makes contact with the surface that it is "slick", or some combination of the two?
Yes and yes.
Rick Vessell is offline  
Old 05-22-2013, 08:42 AM
  #675  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
NutDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,778
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Thanks, Rick. Amazing how fast your responses come in from Mars!

I'm not a fan of the idea of CAing the sidewalls and have been trying to come up with an alternative. I assume that there is a rule somewhere against non-stock inserts, ie closed cell foam. Correct?
NutDriver is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.