Like Tree209Likes

Exotek F1R

Old 03-11-2016, 02:09 PM
  #1951  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (15)
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,438
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Josh-n-ya View Post
You guys using 100k in side tubes? What about the IFS front end dampers? Still the AW grease? My front end always felt so soft. Is that typical?
Oh yes, for the molded ifs damper use awg grease or the new Tamiya TRF friction damper grease- both are good sticky stuff for this and provides good front end damping.

If using the machined ifs damper rods then you can go to the thinner crc blue because the machined rods have a much tighter tolerance. But you could also use the new tamiya friction grease for this too but reduce the amount.

Sometimes when using firmer springs you can go thicker grease but then going softest springs requires thinner grease other wise the dampers are too slow.
MikeR is offline  
Old 03-12-2016, 07:09 AM
  #1952  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (95)
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 2,839
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MikeR View Post
Oh yes, for the molded ifs damper use awg grease or the new Tamiya TRF friction damper grease- both are good sticky stuff for this and provides good front end damping.

If using the machined ifs damper rods then you can go to the thinner crc blue because the machined rods have a much tighter tolerance. But you could also use the new tamiya friction grease for this too but reduce the amount.

Sometimes when using firmer springs you can go thicker grease but then going softest springs requires thinner grease other wise the dampers are too slow.
Thanks! Hoping to get some test laps in soon.
Josh-n-ya is offline  
Old 03-12-2016, 03:40 PM
  #1953  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (95)
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 2,839
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

What's the normal caster setting with the ifs front end?
Josh-n-ya is offline  
Old 03-13-2016, 10:39 AM
  #1954  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (15)
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,438
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Josh-n-ya View Post
What's the normal caster setting with the ifs front end?
5 to start but increase up to 9 if you need to settle the initial steering. Again depends on the front tire choice...

Last edited by MikeR; 03-13-2016 at 10:53 AM.
MikeR is offline  
Old 03-13-2016, 10:45 AM
  #1955  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (15)
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,438
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Job well done Aaron Lane! Winner of the hard fought 2016 Tuning Haus Winter Series!

MikeR is offline  
Old 03-13-2016, 10:47 AM
  #1956  
Tech Adept
 
wheelz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: orange county
Posts: 231
Default

Originally Posted by MikeR View Post
Job well done Aaron Lane! Winner of the hard fought 2016 Tuning Haus Winter Series!


thanks mike! I didnt realize that when I got home they gave me the wrong trophy hahahaha I need t trade mine with the winner of GT sedan obiously

I will have a setup posted soon

Aaron
wheelz is offline  
Old 03-13-2016, 11:18 AM
  #1957  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Cadman1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 551
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MikeR View Post
5 to start but increase up to 9 if you need to settle the initial steering. Again depends on the front tire choice...
How do you guys measure caster on F1 cars?
Cadman1981 is offline  
Old 03-13-2016, 11:23 AM
  #1958  
Tech Adept
 
wheelz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: orange county
Posts: 231
Default Carpet Setup

Hi guys,

This was my setup for the tuning haus series!!
Let me know if you have any questions

Aaron

I have to fix the link.. the mikes setup got uploaded for some reason...
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
F1R3_Aaron Lane Carpet Setup.pdf (440.1 KB, 144 views)

Last edited by wheelz; 03-13-2016 at 11:25 AM. Reason: I have to fix the link.. the mikes setup got uploaded for some reason...
wheelz is offline  
Old 03-13-2016, 11:27 AM
  #1959  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (15)
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,438
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cadman1981 View Post
How do you guys measure caster on F1 cars?
Use a camber gauge, remove front tires and line up with the upright pin.
MikeR is offline  
Old 03-13-2016, 11:57 AM
  #1960  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (15)
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,438
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by wheelz View Post
Hi guys,

This was my setup for the tuning haus series!!
Let me know if you have any questions

Aaron

I have to fix the link.. the mikes setup got uploaded for some reason...
Still showing Mike set up. Rctech must be buggy today
MikeR is offline  
Old 03-13-2016, 01:49 PM
  #1961  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (14)
 
Root_66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Arizona
Posts: 398
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Great run Aaron! You know how to battle for sure. It was awesome driving on your part and the car was dialed as always. Congrats on the win and Mike congrats and thanks for an awesome product. Got to get my F1 back out on the track soon.

Erik
Root_66 is offline  
Old 03-13-2016, 07:19 PM
  #1962  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Cadman1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 551
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have one more question, what are you guys doing to hold down the battery? I was thinking of putting some sort of felth/rubber tape on edges of my batt so the middle part of the chassis can bend and twist without the batt affecting it...
Cadman1981 is offline  
Old 03-14-2016, 03:33 PM
  #1963  
Tech Adept
 
wheelz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: orange county
Posts: 231
Default updated setup!!

hopefully this setup link will work!!! lol

Aaron

"I have one more question, what are you guys doing to hold down the battery? I was thinking of putting some sort of felth/rubber tape on edges of my batt so the middle part of the chassis can bend and twist without the batt affecting it..."

I typically leave the battery loose in the car. I never bolt it down solid because it will create a dead spot for flex in the chassis. you can raise up the battery a little bit for the T-bar. It will not hurt it any I don't know that I've ever done it but its not a bad idea!
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
F1R3_Capet_Setup_AaronLane.pdf (445.2 KB, 144 views)
wheelz is offline  
Old 03-15-2016, 09:33 AM
  #1964  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Originally Posted by MikeR View Post
My asphalt set up
Thank you sir!
tigerbyte is offline  
Old 03-15-2016, 11:47 AM
  #1965  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (95)
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 2,839
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by wheelz View Post
hopefully this setup link will work!!! lol

Aaron

"I have one more question, what are you guys doing to hold down the battery? I was thinking of putting some sort of felth/rubber tape on edges of my batt so the middle part of the chassis can bend and twist without the batt affecting it..."

I typically leave the battery loose in the car. I never bolt it down solid because it will create a dead spot for flex in the chassis. you can raise up the battery a little bit for the T-bar. It will not hurt it any I don't know that I've ever done it but its not a bad idea!
All I'm seeing is a blank set up sheet?
Josh-n-ya is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.