R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-17-2011, 07:10 PM   #61
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seaball View Post
yeah, i hear you. i think the thread makes it appear a lot worse than it is. none the less, $70 and a hotel room for 3 days is a big $ to pay to run a few quals with a few buds while your family has dinner w/o you. that part i get.

next question: grand rapids?
It will be one or the other. But thinking of GR instead....Plus the wife would rather me do that than Cleveland.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.

Last edited by EAMotorsports; 11-18-2011 at 11:49 AM.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 07:16 PM   #62
Tech Regular
 
masterhit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 475
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAMotorsports View Post
So thinking of GR instead....
Move along you two, nothing to see in GR...

Don't make me have tech find a way to DQ your chassis.

I kid, honest, it would be great to race against both of you again!

Mike Slaughter
masterhit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 07:26 PM   #63
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by masterhit View Post
Move along you two, nothing to see in GR...

Don't make me have tech find a way to DQ your chassis.

I kid, honest, it would be great to race against both of you again!

Mike Slaughter
You'll have to drop down to the C/B main to race me!! LOL

Yall got a web site for the track up there?

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 07:46 PM   #64
Tech Regular
 
masterhit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 475
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAMotorsports View Post
You'll have to drop down to the C/B main to race me!! LOL

Yall got a web site for the track up there?
I have faith that I will be thoroughly trounced! Working on a mod car right now just to add to the punishment.....

Nothing fancy, but....

http://RapidCompetitionRaceway.webs.com/

Mike Slaughter
masterhit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 10:31 AM   #65
Tech Elite
 
oeoeo327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,637
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seaball View Post
okay, i can't just stand by and do nothing ..

motor design?? it's a simple 9th grade geometry problem. someone please grab a pair of calipers and post the necessary dimensions so we can solve this and move on. (i'll even show my work.)

(hint: correlate the circular diagram below to the endbell when looking at the motor from the back.)

I think I have our answer:

radius of the endbell: .7 inches
distance between the 4 (+) timing marks: .195 inches

The ratio of the hypotenuse of the right triangle to the side opposite the angle we're calcualting is .278571; using a chart that I found here, that value (.278571) closely approximates the sine value for 16 degrees. Since I used 4 timing marks as my reference point, dividing 4 into 16 yields 4 degrees per timing mark. Add 30 degrees to each timing mark to find your total timing.

Unless I'm missing something, I think our "riddle" has been solved.
__________________
Founding member of the Solid Gold Racing Team - Mediocrity, redefined...

Last edited by oeoeo327; 11-18-2011 at 12:51 PM.
oeoeo327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 12:32 PM   #66
Tech Elite
 
Warren Weaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NASCAR COUNTRY
Posts: 2,479
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

I run the apex which is the same motor but from fantom and have no issues with them in blinky tons of rip and stays very cool 130 degrees love em
__________________
R1 WURKS-AWESOMATIX USA-LRP-BITTYDESIGN-TQ WIRE-PROTOTYPE RACING-SWEEP RACING-TXDSKINGRAPHIX-HOBMAX-THE RUG-TEAM EZDUZIT
R.I.P. MY FRIEND JDUB MISSED BUT NEVER FORGOTTEN
Warren Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 01:26 PM   #67
Tech Master
 
locked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,758
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I've been running ReVtechs in every class I race since the end of summer. 21.5 blinky, 13.5 boosted, 17.5 boosted and mod (all TC classes or VTA). I've had no issues with any of them. Plenty of speed. Cool temps. I've been using the same boosted 17.5 for around a dozen race days with no problems at all, but I don't generally run my motors at the very brink of meltdown. I run quite a bit of boost, but not quite maxed out. Any more boost, turbo or can timing and it doesn't really seem faster, but definitely generates more heat. Most of the time when I'm trying to find tenths, more boost is the last thing I need.
__________________
Dave Locke
Team PerformanceHobbies.ca | ORCA RC | Bodies by Brandon | Team Meeting
XRAY T4'15 x2 | XRAY XB4 | XRAY XB8E | XRAY XB8
locked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 08:59 PM   #68
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 25
Default

Runnin 17.5 open oval. Just wondering what you guys have found for amp draw? Mine runs strong for the first 2.5 min and then falls off a tenth for the rest of the race. comes off around 140 - 150.
What rotor are you guys using?
Thanks
Fireball10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 07:11 AM   #69
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 679
Trader Rating: 82 (100%+)
Default

Running truck oval in blinky.... Running a pink rotor, runs real good for 4 minutes.

17.5 open- blue rotor, high rpm and running a Tekin, with ~ 70 boost total, try taking some timing out of the motor. 4.10 roll out.


Good luck
tnrccar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 07:54 AM   #70
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 25
Default

I have the 12.3 and 12.5 high torque and 12.5 broadband rotors plus the stock one. I'm running motor at 30(big line in the middle). I have tried everything from 40 to 50 boost. Runline is 85ft bullring. Rollout out from 3.18 to 3.40. Am I overgeared?
Thanks
Fireball10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 02:35 PM   #71
Tech Master
 
spurcheck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Last in the "Z" main
Posts: 1,628
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I am not sure how active this thread is, but I thought it might be a good idea to get this out to the masses and maybe even the manufacturer.

I recently aquired a Revtech 17.5 for usage in my touring car and also share time in my 1/12th pan car, both in blinky(non boosted) classes. Since many of the racers who I interact with use this motor (and wax my tail) and are speed wise very fast, I was very excited with anticipation of running the motor and maybe closing the gap between myself and them. (you know where this story is going,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,right?????). Well, I soldered in the motor for it's maiden voyage in my 1/12th car and in disbelief found the car motor barely operated when the car was held up, and either only stuttered on the carpet surface or would not move at all. I am not a newbie to installing electronics in cars, and I am very methodical and cautious when installing electronics, this stuff costs too much to be sloppy.

As luck would have it, one of the local "hot shoes" was Trinity sponsored so I figured he could send me in the right direction and get my problem resolved. Well, yes and no His assessment was that the problem was either a bad sensor wire or sensor board within the motor. I had already swapped out the wire (even though, the wire had worked on the motor I had just pulled out 10 minuted earlier). So I parked the motor for that weekend. Following weekend I went to our local "meca of RC= Horsham raceway". I figured I would discuss the problem with others there. The help there was fantastic, no less than 10 racers there looked at the motor and gave their opinions and suggestions and we finally figured it out, here was our findings.

1, on the "B" connection where the stator wires are soldered, the solder
appeared to be too high, possibly contacting the adjustment ring on the
backside of the motor, partially shorting the "B" to the can. I carefully
filed down the connection with the motor inverted so the filings would
not fall into the motor.



2, there is very little clearance between the A,B,C terminals to the can
housing. I cut several sections of electrical tape to insulate the
terminals from the can.

One of the ways it was determined the speedo was not recognizing the sensor was thru the LED's on the Tekin speedo. After doing the above, no problems. Hope this info will be helpful to at least one of my fellow racers.
__________________
The Punter or The Punt-ee,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,who you be??

No Apologies Racing, don't believe me, try me!!!!!
spurcheck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 03:22 PM   #72
Tech Elite
 
nitrobeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 2,340
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spurcheck View Post


2, there is very little clearance between the A,B,C terminals to the can
housing. I cut several sections of electrical tape to insulate the
terminals from the can.

That's a great idea!!
__________________
Rui Goncalves
Team CRC|Awesomatix USA|TQ Wire|
Jackson curbs, ready for lift off!
nitrobeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 03:34 PM   #73
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spurcheck View Post
I am not sure how active this thread is, but I thought it might be a good idea to get this out to the masses and maybe even the manufacturer.

I recently aquired a Revtech 17.5 for usage in my touring car and also share time in my 1/12th pan car, both in blinky(non boosted) classes. Since many of the racers who I interact with use this motor (and wax my tail) and are speed wise very fast, I was very excited with anticipation of running the motor and maybe closing the gap between myself and them. (you know where this story is going,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,right?????). Well, I soldered in the motor for it's maiden voyage in my 1/12th car and in disbelief found the car motor barely operated when the car was held up, and either only stuttered on the carpet surface or would not move at all. I am not a newbie to installing electronics in cars, and I am very methodical and cautious when installing electronics, this stuff costs too much to be sloppy.

As luck would have it, one of the local "hot shoes" was Trinity sponsored so I figured he could send me in the right direction and get my problem resolved. Well, yes and no His assessment was that the problem was either a bad sensor wire or sensor board within the motor. I had already swapped out the wire (even though, the wire had worked on the motor I had just pulled out 10 minuted earlier). So I parked the motor for that weekend. Following weekend I went to our local "meca of RC= Horsham raceway". I figured I would discuss the problem with others there. The help there was fantastic, no less than 10 racers there looked at the motor and gave their opinions and suggestions and we finally figured it out, here was our findings.

1, on the "B" connection where the stator wires are soldered, the solder
appeared to be too high, possibly contacting the adjustment ring on the
backside of the motor, partially shorting the "B" to the can. I carefully
filed down the connection with the motor inverted so the filings would
not fall into the motor.



2, there is very little clearance between the A,B,C terminals to the can
housing. I cut several sections of electrical tape to insulate the
terminals from the can.

One of the ways it was determined the speedo was not recognizing the sensor was thru the LED's on the Tekin speedo. After doing the above, no problems. Hope this info will be helpful to at least one of my fellow racers.
If you ever have a problem with a Trinity motor straight out of the box again, Trinity will replace it for you under warranty.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 03:43 PM   #74
Tech Elite
 
rx7ttlm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,521
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oeoeo327 View Post
I think I have our answer:

radius of the endbell: .7 inches
distance between the 4 (+) timing marks: .195 inches

The ratio of the hypotenuse of the right triangle to the side opposite the angle we're calcualting is .278571; using a chart that I found here, that value (.278571) closely approximates the sine value for 16 degrees. Since I used 4 timing marks as my reference point, dividing 4 into 16 yields 4 degrees per timing mark. Add 30 degrees to each timing mark to find your total timing.

Unless I'm missing something, I think our "riddle" has been solved.

It's trig aka college math 112, Sine of theta will give you a workable answer but since your actually measuring from two points on the circumference the sine function is not actually accurate. When I finish calc 2 next term i will give you the right answer or if I come up with it sooner lol. Right now your finding the angle from the origin to cos Theta, which is not on the outer diameter like what your actually trying to find.
__________________
|Team Xray | RC America |MAX Engines | Hudy |Jaco | KO PROPO |"From Slovakia with Love" T3 | Team Timezone |

Timezone Raceway & Hobbies - http://www.timezonehobbies.com
rx7ttlm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 05:53 PM   #75
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rx7ttlm View Post
It's trig aka college math 112, Sine of theta will give you a workable answer but since your actually measuring from two points on the circumference the sine function is not actually accurate. When I finish calc 2 next term i will give you the right answer or if I come up with it sooner lol. Right now your finding the angle from the origin to cos Theta, which is not on the outer diameter like what your actually trying to find.
Isnt this just high school geometry/trig?

If we are measuring from one point to another on the actual circumference(ie: the guy laid a piece of string down from 0 to the 4th hash mark and then measured the length of the string), what we have is an arc length.

Length of arc = (theta/360deg)*2pi*radius

We have the radius(.7in)... And we have the arc length(.195in). Plug those #s in and you get the angle(theta) that corresponds to 4 timing marks. Divide by 4 and you have degrees per hash mark.

My TI-89 is out of batteries or Id do it myself...
JamesL_71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trinity and ReVtech Motors discussion Mike Blackstock Team and Company Discussions 722 11-25-2017 09:34 PM
Reedy Sonic Geberit Electric On-Road 772 11-13-2017 08:18 PM
Kyosho Ultima SC-R Thread zanernator Electric Off-Road 5020 04-20-2017 02:39 PM
Capital City RC, carpet returns to Richmond, VA wingracer Racing Forum 111 01-05-2012 10:31 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:25 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net