R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-03-2004, 08:26 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
vi3tishduy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to vi3tishduy
Default ESC Problem, Help please!

Hey guys, I got my Promatch Batteries today, 1.18's and i charge em, and plug em up..
next thing i know I press the throttle full for aorund 15 seconds and the car shuts off. Nothing is hot, I let the batt rest to cool off, then I plugged in with the esc. Esc was cool too. The esc I am running is the LRP F1 Pro Reverse which was 120 or so. There were no sparks, the car just died out. And I know I didnt short the batt because it didnt touch any aluminum, and the batt still has a full pack left. I can unplugg the esc with the batt and plugg in again and do the same thing, then it shuts off, any ideas guys?
vi3tishduy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2004, 08:28 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CORONA , CALIF.
Posts: 4,054
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Post

Try resetting your speedo .. sometimes they will get a jolt of power and loose there settings in memory....
__________________
Mark Barden .
mb racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2004, 09:00 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: farmington, mi
Posts: 695
Send a message via AIM to greencactus3
Default

are you sure you didnt plug the battery in the wrong polarites?
greencactus3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2004, 09:03 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
jackfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: rowland heights, CA
Posts: 351
Default

I am willing to bet its a case of reverse polarity.
jackfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 02:27 AM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
pink pac man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: RATED X RACING Canberra,Australia
Posts: 894
Default

have u tryed a diferent car/motor/batteries

take the motor out .......is the motor jamed

pull the belt/spin the prop shaft........does it spin at all

use a different batterie......have u recieved a dead cell
pink pac man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 03:44 AM   #6
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

It is most likley a motor or esc prob. Cheak your motor for a hung brush or rocks... then try reprograming your speedo...
__________________
Blade: Andro Treiber H 79g AN
FH: Donic Bluefire M3 Max Blk
BH: Donic Bluefire M2 Max Red
Powered by Falco
Dragonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 07:24 AM   #7
Tech Addict
 
vi3tishduy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to vi3tishduy
Default

Ok, the batts I got are not dead, still fully charged, I tried my stick pack from SMC did the same thing, the esc never shut off for 1 whole minute, both batteries were fully charged. The SMC is a stick pack while the Promatch arnt. Promatch assembled the pack for me with deans so, IDK what reverse polarity is, everything is moving fine, nothing jammed, motor is spinning, tires everthing, I just don't know. But one thin I noticed is that when the ESC shut off with the ProMatch Batts, it started to make a sound, and the the pitch became louder and louder, i'm not sure if it was the ESC or the Reciever, cause I have a crappy Radio/Reciever... Thanks for post.. I dont wanna buy a new esc,.....
vi3tishduy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 07:32 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

have you got a sticky brush?

just tug at the brush shunt a few times to make sure the brush can move freely in the brush hood.

does your motor have a shottky on it? if so is the on the right way round?
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 07:45 AM   #9
Tech Addict
 
vi3tishduy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to vi3tishduy
Default

I dont think it has a shokty thingy, only wires touching it is the ESC, brushes are free
vi3tishduy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 09:44 AM   #10
Tech Regular
 
jackfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: rowland heights, CA
Posts: 351
Default

Take out your speedcontrol does it smell burnt? Open up the case if you can and take a look and see if anything has the tell tale signs of a short....i.e. brown orange color on the plastic compenents. You may have blown a fuse. Sometimes the speedo will work but only barely. It will run at half power, or in my case full power. Speed controls are very delicate. My quantum competition two has had many problems with shorts and etc. Make sure you don't ever cut off your switch. That is what I was doing, and it turned out to be a bad idea.
Oh! Take a look at the circuitboard where you solder your powerwires onto. It may have shorted out across the board.
jackfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 09:58 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,197
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vi3tishduy
I dont think it has a shokty thingy, only wires touching it is the ESC, brushes are free
Try changing crystals, do you still have steering?
pops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 09:58 AM   #12
Tech Addict
 
vi3tishduy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to vi3tishduy
Default

No sparks flew, dosnt smell burnt or anything. Everything looks a.o.k to me. Maybe its just that this LRP esc was crap. I wasted my money... Sigh... Now I gotta get a new one if I wanna run these new Promatchs I got..
Attached Images
File Type: jpg picture 001.jpg (7.0 KB, 105 views)
vi3tishduy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 10:00 AM   #13
Tech Addict
 
vi3tishduy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to vi3tishduy
Default

another...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg picture 002.jpg (5.6 KB, 135 views)
vi3tishduy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 10:02 AM   #14
Tech Addict
 
vi3tishduy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to vi3tishduy
Default

nother one
Attached Images
File Type: jpg picture 003.jpg (7.4 KB, 122 views)
vi3tishduy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 10:04 AM   #15
Tech Addict
 
vi3tishduy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to vi3tishduy
Default

Both batts..
vi3tishduy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ESC PROBLEM ghj1997 Electric Off-Road 13 06-04-2008 08:38 AM
Problem RaceANissan616 Nitro On-Road 20 07-23-2006 09:07 PM
KO PRO PO VSF-1 PROBLEM mazmo Australian Racing 4 07-24-2005 07:38 AM
New to R/C and I have a bit of a problem ZeeBMaN Rookie Zone 6 05-15-2003 05:08 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:38 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net