Wiki Posts
Search

Gearing a Sprint 2 for VTA

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2011, 09:31 AM
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Gearing a Sprint 2 for VTA

I've been looking all over and I haven't had much luck searching, so I thought I'd post this here.

My LHS runs a VTA class, allowing 17.5 brushless or 27T brushed. I have an HPI Sprint 2 Sport and a Novak 17.5 and I've been having a real bear of a time trying to get this thing geared to the target 3.5 FDR.

Right now, I have a 69T Spur (AE) and a 48T pinion (Robinson) in it, which calculates out toEXACTLY 3.5, but I'm having a problem with both belts rubbing against the motor, with the rear belt wearing through after about 5 minutes. If there's a way to adjust the belts, I haven't found it.

I was wondering - what gears are people using with this car for VTA? If what I read is correct, the 25.5 motor's target FDR is also 3.5, so I'm thinking that either way I'd be running into the same problem.

I'm kind of new to RC stuff, so figuring out what spurs to start with is kind of over my head, but I know enough to find a pinion once I get the right spur. The problem I'm having is that I can't find any pinions that match what the spurs call for (ie, >50t in 48 pitch). I'm totally stumped.

Thanks!
Old 02-16-2011, 09:51 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

I assume that you went to Gearchart.com to figure your gear ratios.
It's a great site but unfortunately they have the transmission ratio wrong for the Sprint 2. It should actually be 2.1305
That means with your 69t spur and 48t pinion, you are running a 3.06 fdr.
Try switching your spur to a 79t and you will be at 3.51

Also, keep an eye on those motor temps. When I was running my 25.5 motor with a 4.0 fdr it was getting pretty warm.
Old 02-16-2011, 10:41 AM
Tech Initiate

I was using comeseethis.com and the Excel spreadsheet on the VTA site, and, yeah, they all list it as 2.4375. Wow, this makes life a lot easier!
Old 02-16-2011, 10:45 AM