R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-03-2004, 12:25 PM   #16
Tech Elite
 
Nrctc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Summerville, SC
Posts: 2,536
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Nrctc3 Send a message via Yahoo to Nrctc3
Default

Do these chargers have the custom tones? So when your battery is done charging you hear the guitar from Sweet Home Alabama. That's pretty much all they're missing, that and the adjstable cup holder like someone already mentioned.
Nrctc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2004, 01:07 PM   #17
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Matt Howard
why do you need to break in a 7 turn? you pull the throttle once and the brushes are seated
Why. you are not so worried about breaking in brushes. You are setting amp draw. So you dont dump but get the most of the motor. Brushes are different (each pair) so you set timing depending on amp draw. On road guys have no clue about motors. (just kidding)
IndyPhil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2004, 04:45 PM   #18
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,588
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Wouldn't motors drawing over 13A at free spin tend to dump??
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2004, 05:03 PM   #19
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

A comment on a charger that can not charge a dead shorted battery. If that is so with either one of these.. the solution is very simple. Hook the battery up to the motor function and toss in a small amount of voltage for just a few seconds. That will be enough for the charger to read voltage and begin to charge.

Anyways, I think these are the kind of chargers alot of people have been looking for. I for one would like one for the simple fact that it will condense alot of my stuff when I travel around to club races. I think maybe thats what some of these chargers are aimed at. Either way.. looks cool. Integy has had a 30amp discharge before. This is not the first one.
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2004, 05:28 PM   #20
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by KilRuf
Anyways, I think these are the kind of chargers alot of people have been looking for. I for one would like one for the simple fact that it will condense alot of my stuff when I travel around to club races. I think maybe thats what some of these chargers are aimed at. Either way.. looks cool. Integy has had a 30amp discharge before. This is not the first one.
You are definitely right about that KilRuf, since I've been in the hobby (which is only about 9mnths. ), I've been looking for something like this. I'm soooo glad I didn't get the GFX. I was actually about to get the Futaba until these 2 chargers brought a ray of enlightenment to my world. Patience pays doesn't it...
Next year, one of these IS MINE..

- jaybee
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2004, 07:23 PM   #21
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by robk
Wouldn't motors drawing over 13A at free spin tend to dump??
If you miss the gear and are too hard with the trigger finger yes it will...But if you can drive it right it wont

I think Indy Phil is talking about oval motors. I dont think that on road guys run anything as hot as us oval guys....Ive got 5 and 6 turns ready for snowbirds practice

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2004, 09:02 PM   #22
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EAMotorsports
If you miss the gear and are too hard with the trigger finger yes it will...But if you can drive it right it wont

I think Indy Phil is talking about oval motors. I dont think that on road guys run anything as hot as us oval guys....Ive got 5 and 6 turns ready for snowbirds practice

EA
Nor do they (onroad) use as much throttle. Lift all the way off in mod? thats for wimps. LOL
IndyPhil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 02:10 AM   #23
Tech Elite
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Aww man..and I just bought a Much More CM...Individual 30A discharge? all we need now is an individual 0.1-7A charge and we can start to throw away all our other charging and matching equipment!!

I hope the new versions don't charge them till they cook like my CDC v6.
lee82gx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 02:30 AM   #24
Tech Master
 
Tek Nickal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,301
Default

It can do almost everything but bake cookies!
Tek Nickal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 03:42 AM   #25
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Just before you get too excited...

Integy (like the CDC chargers) discharges at a maximum preset wattage. If you axceed that wattage, the charger will compensate by dropping the discharge rate.

ie... On current Integy 20amp discharge, you will only get 16amp discharge when batt is above 8v. It then increases to 18amp between 8.0-7.2v. You then get the full 20apms below 7.2v.

In reality you will prolly only get about 35amps continues disharge from the new unit.. but it still is a freakin awesome looking charger and I will have one!
__________________
Blade: Andro Treiber H 79g AN
FH: Donic Bluefire M3 Max Blk
BH: Donic Bluefire M2 Max Red
Powered by Falco
Dragonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 06:14 AM   #26
P2
Tech Fanatic
 
P2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Oahu, Hi
Posts: 865
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by picco007
Does anyone know about the discharger that the first picture shows? I heard it was a 30 amp individual cell discharger that goes down to .0v. Can someone confirm?
All I confirm is that this is a must have charger, it will go perfect with your other 25 chargers. Good thing you have that Alinco power supply.
__________________
TopRacingUSA | Team EPIC | Thunder Power | OD Racing
P2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 09:38 AM   #27
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,588
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

"Nor do they (onroad) use as much throttle. Lift all the way off in mod? thats for wimps. LOL"

Yeah, but we turn the car in both directions. That's the kicker
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 11:19 AM   #28
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Take that oval guys...

- jaybee
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 01:29 PM   #29
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England (UK)
Posts: 440
Default

Think i'll just stick with my lrp pulsar comp (1), does all the stuff i need it to do charge and run in motors

Chazz
Chazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 07:19 PM   #30
Tech Elite
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

many of the currently available chargers are already exceeding requirements.
I forsee 1 problem for a charger that does too much:
You won't be able to charge and do a motor check at the same time. Usually on track days and also race days the charger is constantly charging up cells..not lying around waiting for someone to spin some RPM's.
lee82gx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro-line Holeshot MTR's on pro-line 17mm 1/2" offset velocity dish wheels. AaronPrewitt R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 07-25-2007 12:45 PM
WTB: Novak Millennium Pro charger or a charger on the same line. xxx-ntad2 racer R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 5 12-21-2006 01:19 PM
Pro Line 40 Series Bowties Pro Line Weld Cammando Beadlocks F/S Rpp Hobby R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 04-23-2006 08:56 PM
Integy's "Down Travel Gauge" jeb4 Nitro On-Road 2 05-13-2005 07:38 PM
Top of the line charger wanted JohnA R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 6 06-22-2002 09:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:57 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net