R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-01-2004, 01:55 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 104
Default Ferrite noise filters

Where do you put them?
Negative battery and motor wire?
Or ....

Thanks
gearless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2004, 01:59 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Merciless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via ICQ to Merciless
Default

You got it ... Negative wires !!
Merciless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2004, 02:03 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England (UK)
Posts: 440
Default

Why the negative wires , why not the positive

Chazz
Chazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2004, 02:29 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: >New York<
Posts: 1,428
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

From what I was told, they belong on the motor wires. As close as you can get them to the motor is prefferable.
Jamie Corrado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2004, 02:42 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Merciless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via ICQ to Merciless
Default

All switching is done on the negative side of the speedo. I.e the pulsing that makes the motor go ......
Merciless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2004, 03:10 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

Fit one on the neg battery wire, one on the neg motor wire.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2004, 03:11 PM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
hierog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 891
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

i put them on all wires: pos and neg from motor to battery and from esc to motor

really helps out, especially in stock class

vic
hierog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2004, 03:49 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
mafiaracers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: West Linn, Oregon
Posts: 3,759
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to mafiaracers Send a message via MSN to mafiaracers
Default

What kind of things does it do other than noise filtering? Does it add any efficiency?....or is it just like a noise suppressioning cap for your wires?
__________________
Chris Woods

MAFIA MOTORSPORTS
http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-items-sale-trade/168239-pit-board.html

TEAM WAVE
www.teamwaveonline.com

TQ Racing Wire
www.tqracing.com
mafiaracers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2004, 04:08 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,273
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Can you use one on a brushless....

motor to help with interference?
RCknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2004, 04:29 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
howard hudson's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: some damned place called Iowa
Posts: 4,245
Default

I have tryed those clip on filters with no luck . If you want a for sure fix for a glitch problem get the yokoma noise filter . its about 20 bucks and you get the filter that goes between the esc and tge reciver and two differant types of sheilding wrap that goes on the reciver this works real good
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dscf0097.jpg (135.4 KB, 344 views)
__________________
what the heck is r/c car??? ( said in your best redneck voice)

'OL BUZZARD FARMING (lol)
howard hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2004, 04:30 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
litespeed-dom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Beaverton, Oregon
Posts: 3,990
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I used to use it, until a club guy which is a hardcore electrician by trade told us it really doesn't do squad. Do I believe in a company trying to sell you something or a guy who is a career electrician? If you feel it makes that much different, put it on!

Dom
__________________
Team Kyosho America - Team Br00d Racing - Team R/C Plus - GQ Racing Tyres - Slapmaster Tools - FSX Racing
litespeed-dom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2004, 04:39 PM   #12
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,142
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

I use the ones JR makes. You can see them in my EVO IV. They are those white looking tubes.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg evo4.jpg (111.8 KB, 313 views)
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2004, 04:42 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
howard hudson's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: some damned place called Iowa
Posts: 4,245
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by litespeed-dom
I used to use it, until a club guy which is a hardcore electrician by trade told us it really doesn't do squad. Do I believe in a company trying to sell you something or a guy who is a career electrician? If you feel it makes that much different, put it on!

Dom
well he needs to go back to school cuz it does work., The clip on ones aint worth a sh-t just a waste of money
__________________
what the heck is r/c car??? ( said in your best redneck voice)

'OL BUZZARD FARMING (lol)
howard hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2004, 04:49 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
litespeed-dom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Beaverton, Oregon
Posts: 3,990
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by howard hudson
well he needs to go back to school cuz it does work., The clip on ones aint worth a sh-t just a waste of money
No need to insult my friend. That's what I meant...the clip on ones, simply the fact is that you need to wrap wires around the core in order it to work.

Dom
__________________
Team Kyosho America - Team Br00d Racing - Team R/C Plus - GQ Racing Tyres - Slapmaster Tools - FSX Racing
litespeed-dom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2004, 04:52 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
EricF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,547
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by howard hudson
I have tryed those clip on filters with no luck . If you want a for sure fix for a glitch problem get the yokoma noise filter . its about 20 bucks and you get the filter that goes between the esc and tge reciver and two differant types of sheilding wrap that goes on the reciver this works real good
reminiscent of the old Novak Mercury receiver... Hated it, that thing glitched from day one (for me it did).
EricF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
a123 racing Lithium Ferrite 30C 4600 packs poorbie:( Australia For Sale/Trade 4 08-24-2008 03:44 AM
air filters mixedguy Nitro Off-Road 41 08-06-2008 02:59 AM
Air filters TouringMaster Painting, Designs, Graphics and Photography 3 03-27-2005 05:43 PM
Noise Killer Clamps/Ferrite Cores sosidge Electric On-Road 24 08-05-2004 02:46 AM
Air Filters nitro rookie Nitro On-Road 4 04-04-2004 11:19 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:17 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net