R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-28-2011, 01:08 AM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 47
Default Sluggish start

Hey guys, Just bought a new speed passion cirtix with a 13.5 speed passion motor. The motor is sensored while the cirtix is not.
I installed it into my new s411 and on trying to get started it baulks and it like the gears are stuck then when I punch it, it takes off and runs fine until it slows down and I have to accelerate again. I've tried resetting the esc, and various other settings on the esc with no luck.
I'm running 72 spur with a 38 pinion. I went down to 21 pinion and its still "chunking".
Any ideas? The drive train is silk smooth and when there is no load on the motor it spools up fine.
I've got a brand new LRP NIMH pack 5000ah that i'm using to power it and it was fine with my brushed setup.
Got me stumped...
Deepsouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 01:18 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

Notchy starting (cogging) is typical of sensorless systems... BUT the Cirtix is a sensored system and should have a sensor lead running to the motor.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 01:44 AM   #3
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sosidge View Post
Notchy starting (cogging) is typical of sensorless systems... BUT the Cirtix is a sensored system and should have a sensor lead running to the motor.
The motor has a lead but I cant find anywhere on the esc to plug it in. Looked everywhere for it and nada...
Deepsouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 02:32 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,344
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deepsouth View Post
The motor has a lead but I cant find anywhere on the esc to plug it in. Looked everywhere for it and nada...
Underneath where u solder all the cables.
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 02:51 AM   #5
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 47
Default

nope its all smooth
Deepsouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 03:18 AM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

did you get a box with no cuts and plug is under?

Maybe you might need to open it and see inside

http://www.speedpassion.net/us/produ...?p=12280&c=ESC

look at the gallery pics
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 06:14 PM   #7
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 47
Default

Had a look at the packaging it's a cirtix inspire v2.0 sensorless esc probably why there is no place for a plug.
Does it matter that its sensorless?
Deepsouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 07:28 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
ShaunMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Loading...
Posts: 3,390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deepsouth View Post
Had a look at the packaging it's a cirtix inspire v2.0 sensorless esc probably why there is no place for a plug.
Does it matter that its sensorless?
You need to ask yourself that question. If the characteristics you descibed in your first post don't bother you, then it doesn't matter. But if you want a smooth predictable start then it does matter.
ShaunMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 07:56 PM   #9
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Speedpassion's description of the inspire is very confusing. From their site, I was certain it was sensored but after asking on their thread here just to be sure, found out it was not.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 03:57 AM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deepsouth View Post
Had a look at the packaging it's a cirtix inspire v2.0 sensorless esc probably why there is no place for a plug.
Does it matter that its sensorless?
It might be better to use a proper sensorless motor with these, I am unfamiliar with sensorless but it would makes sense
__________________
Electriquement votre...

Drink EARTH water and save lives! in support of WFP
olly986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help, first RC, can't start it Khar00f Nitro Off-Road 30 03-05-2010 09:29 PM
STS .28 pull-start engine dino.tw Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 632 08-31-2009 07:10 AM
3.3 engine feels real sluggish revoonroids Rookie Zone 7 09-24-2008 06:22 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:19 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net