R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-23-2011, 08:43 PM   #16
Tech Master
 
J-milz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Staten island
Posts: 1,515
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for all the help.....Again the reason I initially asked the question was to help me decide to either use my Novak 17.5 motor that I ran from Short course which seemed "slow" when compared to other 17.5 trucks with the same gearing.
I was planning on running that same motor in a blinky touring class at a local carpet track and was unsure of the proper way to go. Also if it was possible to economically change just the stator for $35, or spend the $85. However when I ran at that track today, I received alot of good tips from the racers at the track, and I just decided to go with a new motor.
Thanks for the positive input.
__________________
💫XRAY addict💫 sponsored by the secret stash.....tee-hee-hee.
J-milz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 08:52 AM   #17
WC
Tech Master
 
WC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Global Citizen
Posts: 1,930
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

motors taken from an SCT usually feel soft & need work

by the time you rebuild with new bearings (frontbell) & new rotor... yeah
sometimes better to buy another motor so you have a spare
__________________
--------------------
www.PandaGFX.com
--------------------
www.MelbRC.org
----------------
WC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 08:27 AM   #18
Tech Master
 
performula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CO
Posts: 1,729
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Old thread I know, but I have a question.

If I have a 17.5T Thunder Power Z3R and want to convert it to 13.5T Z3R, all I would need is the stator correct? Or would I need the end cap and rotor as well?

This isn't for racing FYI just street runs
performula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 08:32 AM   #19
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by performula View Post
Old thread I know, but I have a question.

If I have a 17.5T Thunder Power Z3R and want to convert it to 13.5T Z3R, all I would need is the stator correct? Or would I need the end cap and rotor as well?

This isn't for racing FYI just street runs
Correct, with TP you can swap the spec stators, only the MOD stuff is different. (I forget which one is a longer stator).
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 09:06 AM   #20
Tech Elite
 
oeoeo327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,637
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeXray View Post
Correct, with TP you can swap the spec stators, only the MOD stuff is different. (I forget which one is a longer stator).
I'm pretty sure that 7.5T and higher-turn stators fit in the "stock/spec" can - any stator with fewer turns requires the mod can. Turning a TP 17.5 into a TP 13.5 requires nothing more than a stator swap.
__________________
Founding member of the Solid Gold Racing Team - Mediocrity, redefined...
oeoeo327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 09:09 AM   #21
Tech Master
 
performula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CO
Posts: 1,729
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Thanks guys!
performula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 12:32 PM   #22
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,122
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

J-millz, next time I'm at a track with you ill let you try my TP and Novak and they're both pretty much brand new.. Novak used once at horsham and TP used once at horsham and once at critters, to tell you the truth when I used th Novak at horsham my lap times were better than with the TP on the same layout and felt more consistent but the TP was a lot faster on the straight.. I am still pretty new to TC and was having a hard the day I used the TP but they're both good if you ask me
JOE SI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 12:38 PM   #23
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,122
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

At critters last Sunday might have been my worst day so far, but my car with the TP was fast and could've made it faster for sure, I didn't even change the gearing and it didn't get passed 110 degrees the whole day
JOE SI is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Manhattan Kansas area Racers and Bashers! buttere Kansas/Missouri Racing 6672 11-26-2017 09:00 AM
Novak Ballistic goes Spec kn7671 Electric On-Road 379 10-26-2016 09:20 AM
U.S. Vintage Trans-Am Racing squarehead Electric On-Road 14187 03-21-2012 02:43 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:40 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net