R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-27-2004, 08:20 PM   #1
drx
Tech Regular
 
drx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: The Enlightened Side of Samsara
Posts: 398
Send a message via AIM to drx
GMVIS Commander HELP

I need some help setting up a GMVIS Commander (2000?).

Anyone?

Email, PM, or online?

</drx>
drx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2004, 08:03 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

whats the question..........
I have one and use it continually
Stephen <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2004, 08:13 AM   #3
drx
Tech Regular
 
drx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: The Enlightened Side of Samsara
Posts: 398
Send a message via AIM to drx
Default

Great!

Actually I have questions on a couple topics with the Commander, but lets start with peak charging.

How is your box configured for this - specifically The bottom row (amps, mah, volts) and why. Also how do you set dpeak and why?

That'll do for a start.

TIA

X-man
drx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2004, 08:26 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

I always set my amp rate of charge @6.0amps for six cell packs and 4.5 for 4 cell packs. The delta peak I keep at 5mvp (I think thats the letters but you get the point I think) 5 is safe for your cells. I always set the mah at to what ever the pack is rated at.
Have never had a problem using this set up.
Hope this helps.
Next Question.
Stephen <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2004, 09:12 AM   #5
drx
Tech Regular
 
drx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: The Enlightened Side of Samsara
Posts: 398
Send a message via AIM to drx
Default

This is great.

But what of the mah and volts?

I have mine set to 3300 as that's what the cells are.

The volts setting, though, is a bit confusing.

If I set it to 7.2v the system won't charge. Iy just goes to the "READY" state. If I set the volts to something like 9.0 volts it charges. I also find it interesting that while charging he volts vary and hang around 8.5 volts +/-. What's up with this?

I also have some ?s about the dPeak, but lets ddress this first, okay?

</x>

Quote:
Originally posted by Mr. Shookie
I always set my amp rate of charge @6.0amps for six cell packs and 4.5 for 4 cell packs. The delta peak I keep at 5mvp (I think thats the letters but you get the point I think) 5 is safe for your cells. I always set the mah at to what ever the pack is rated at.
Have never had a problem using this set up.
Hope this helps.
Next Question.
Stephen <><
drx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2004, 09:26 AM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
Michal101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 985
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by drx
This is great.

But what of the mah and volts?

I have mine set to 3300 as that's what the cells are.

The volts setting, though, is a bit confusing.

If I set it to 7.2v the system won't charge. Iy just goes to the "READY" state. If I set the volts to something like 9.0 volts it charges. I also find it interesting that while charging he volts vary and hang around 8.5 volts +/-. What's up with this?

I also have some ?s about the dPeak, but lets ddress this first, okay?

</x>
drx,

First, I would read the manual and see what the engineers suggest as far as setting up your commander.

Next, I would set the mah rating at 1.2 times the rating of the battereies...ie the 3300 should have a mah setting of 3960.

Also, the reaon why your commander is saying "ready" when set at 7.2 volts is because your 6 cell battery pack sitting dorment is probably around 7.2 volts. Depending on your battery packs (matched or unmatched, new or old) the peak voltage can reach over 10v when charged so start with this number and see how the pcaks perform.

Remember that these setting are mainly for safty cutoffs to ensure that your batteries do not get over charged and ruined.

I hope this helps, Mike
__________________
(Team Driver)
R/C America
Team Tekin
ProMatch
Parma
Michal101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2004, 09:38 AM   #7
drx
Tech Regular
 
drx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: The Enlightened Side of Samsara
Posts: 398
Send a message via AIM to drx
Default

Mike,

That's a help to be sure.

I HAVE read the manual. It's not much help. Have you ever seen the manual for this thing? Not that good.


Why set the mah to 3300 x 1.2? I'm not doubting you - not at all. Just curious to know why is all.

Volts - did you mean set to 10v?

thanx a million

</x>
drx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2004, 10:24 AM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
Michal101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 985
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by drx
Mike,

That's a help to be sure.

I HAVE read the manual. It's not much help. Have you ever seen the manual for this thing? Not that good.


Why set the mah to 3300 x 1.2? I'm not doubting you - not at all. Just curious to know why is all.

Volts - did you mean set to 10v?

thanx a million

</x>
drx,

Actually, I used to have 3 of these great chargers. The reasons that the capacity of your batteries could be higher than the 3300 rating and the setting of 3960 allows you to fully charge your batteries with a safety precaution of not over charging.

Yes, set it to 10V to have the charger stop charging if the voltage of the charging battery pack reaches 10v, but please remember to test the battery pack to see if it is fully charged.
You can charge them via temp mode if you have the optional temp probe for the commander. This is probably the best method. The temp should be around 115 to 120 degrees when fully peaked.

Mike
__________________
(Team Driver)
R/C America
Team Tekin
ProMatch
Parma
Michal101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2004, 11:22 AM   #9
drx
Tech Regular
 
drx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: The Enlightened Side of Samsara
Posts: 398
Send a message via AIM to drx
Default

Thanx Mike,

That explains a lot.

Speaking of the temp probe, where can you get one in the US? Having a tough time finding one for sale (retail).

</x>

Quote:
Originally posted by Michal101
drx,

Actually, I used to have 3 of these great chargers. The reasons that the capacity of your batteries could be higher than the 3300 rating and the setting of 3960 allows you to fully charge your batteries with a safety precaution of not over charging.

Yes, set it to 10V to have the charger stop charging if the voltage of the charging battery pack reaches 10v, but please remember to test the battery pack to see if it is fully charged.
You can charge them via temp mode if you have the optional temp probe for the commander. This is probably the best method. The temp should be around 115 to 120 degrees when fully peaked.

Mike
drx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2004, 11:29 AM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
Michal101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 985
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by drx
Thanx Mike,

That explains a lot.

Speaking of the temp probe, where can you get one in the US? Having a tough time finding one for sale (retail).

</x>
I would try Horizon hobbies since they import GM Racing products.

Mike
__________________
(Team Driver)
R/C America
Team Tekin
ProMatch
Parma
Michal101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2004, 11:39 AM   #11
drx
Tech Regular
 
drx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: The Enlightened Side of Samsara
Posts: 398
Send a message via AIM to drx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Michal101
I would try Horizon hobbies since they import GM Racing products.

Mike
Tried that.

Didn't appear to be in their online catalog.

I suppose they could special order one.

I found a hong kong shop that carries it, but would prefer to keep my business closer to home. Besides, the shipping from HK doubles the price.

Last edited by drx; 11-28-2004 at 04:01 PM.
drx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2004, 07:07 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

There is a place in Austrillia and shipping isn't as bad.
http://www.greatmodeldeals.com/suppo...ht_catalog.htm
You have to email them with the part numbers you are looking for. If you scrool down you will find the GM94400.1 for $29.71 I believe shipping was like $7.00
HTH (Hope this helps)
Stephen <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92

Last edited by Mr. Shookie; 11-29-2004 at 09:49 AM.
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2004, 09:50 AM   #13
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

post above or below depending on settings has been edited for more info.
Thanks,
Stephen <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GMVIS Commander FS / FT The Wease R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 18 08-18-2005 09:49 PM
Gmvis Commander jc510 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 07-08-2004 03:28 PM
GMVIS Commander robk R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 09-24-2003 10:12 PM
GMVIS commander dimples Electric On-Road 1 02-09-2002 03:20 PM
GMVIS Commander RBLove R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 11-24-2001 11:31 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:47 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net