R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-26-2004, 05:27 AM   #1
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,204
Ok so what's the best 4 wire ESC?

I just find that four terminals/leads are better/tidier than 3 when it comes to stick pack configurations.

Thanks in advance for suggestions.

Should add not a quantum/nosram pro sport because I've already got one of those, just after something different, so long as it's got similar specs as the above mentioned and will fit easily into a CGM.

While I think about it of the 3 terminal models I've seen I rather like the look of the Ko VF something (model escapes me at the moment lol ) but it "appears" as if you "have" to get the little box to plug into it to set it? As I can't see any setup buttons on the esc itself?

Last edited by Mabuchi540; 11-26-2004 at 06:05 AM.
Mabuchi540 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2004, 08:19 AM   #2
Tech Addict
 
onebeatuptc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Outside Peachtree city in GA
Posts: 552
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to onebeatuptc3
Default

i believe for the ko, the set up button is on the on/off switch. And I think the handheld computer is for making life easier trying to set the esc.
onebeatuptc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2004, 08:25 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
hobbipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 1,326
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Best 4 wire esc? That would probably be the Keyence Rapida. I think keyence still solders 4 wires on it for you in those pretty flourescent yellow,green,pink wires
hobbipro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2004, 11:01 AM   #4
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Post

Yeah, check into the Keyence Zero V Extreme or the Rapida Pro. I've got the Zero V Ext. and it's definitely worth the money. IMHO KO is up there too.

JaYbEe
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2004, 01:47 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,204
Talking Well they look different for sure.....

Quote:
Originally posted by JayBee
Yeah, check into the Keyence Zero V Extreme or the Rapida Pro. I've got the Zero V Ext. and it's definitely worth the money. IMHO KO is up there too.

JaYbEe

So where can I get one of this brand online other than Schumacher and Ultimate Hobbies (one has little in the way of other stuff to browse and the other doesn't even have them listed anymore)?

Thanks.
Mabuchi540 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2004, 03:52 PM   #6
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Post

The only place I can think of is Speedtech. But you're definitely gonna get the best price from Ultimate Hobbies, the best thing to do is call them; there's a boatload of items that they have that's not listed on the site...
Happy shopp'n

- jaybee
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2004, 08:34 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,628
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I dont knwo why u want a 4 wire esc. U realize that the 4th wire is soldered to the same terminal as the other positive wire? POS MOTOR AND POS BATT are going to the same terminal.

So if u get a 3 wire ESC all u need to do is solder the 4th wire to the pos terminal and run your stick pack plugs to that. It looks just as clean as a factory 4wire esc only u will get pro spec ESC to choose from now
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2004, 08:35 PM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3stocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: TN, America
Posts: 869
Send a message via AIM to tc3stocker Send a message via Yahoo to tc3stocker
Default

Keyence ESC's are pretty much top of the line, pro's use them too
tc3stocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2004, 08:54 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,204
Default Because......

Quote:
Originally posted by Joel Lagace
I dont knwo why u want a 4 wire esc. U realize that the 4th wire is soldered to the same terminal as the other positive wire? POS MOTOR AND POS BATT are going to the same terminal.

So if u get a 3 wire ESC all u need to do is solder the 4th wire to the pos terminal and run your stick pack plugs to that. It looks just as clean as a factory 4wire esc only u will get pro spec ESC to choose from now
The last time I tried to solder a 4th wire to a 3 terminal esc I melted the case.



And depending on your set up you could actually end up using more wire with a 3 terminal version.
Mabuchi540 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2004, 09:11 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,628
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Im sure you can find a friend or fellow racer who can solder to hook u up. I run my ESC in various cars and layouts and change wiring configs all the time, with a proper iron u should not be melting a case.

Right now i have my GMv12xc 3 wire esc installed into my m18 micro and i have installed 2wire battery connector along with a 2 wire motor connector. So 4 wires soldered to the ESC.

There are 2 ways to solder to a 3 wires esc:
1) double up the pos wires at the pos terminal on the esc
2) run pos wire from esc to motor and splice into pos wire another pos wire to go to the battery normally as close to the battery as possible.


Check this out: The black and red wires go the battery and you can either hard wire the ends to the pack or in your case install plug.
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2004, 09:21 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,204
Default Cool looking speedo....



in the pic, do they still make them?
Mabuchi540 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2004, 09:50 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,628
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

nope, used there all over the place. Thats the cyclone TC2 replaced by the GT7 and now GTX.



What u see there can be done with all 3 wire ESC.

Good luck have fun
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2004, 09:58 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

You can't go wrong with a keyence.
fatdoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2004, 10:47 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CORONA , CALIF.
Posts: 4,054
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Post

Novak speedos are also Excellant ...
__________________
Mark Barden .
mb racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2004, 11:05 PM   #15
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by fatdoggy
You can't go wrong with a keyence.
No doubt... Mab540, if you got the means, get the best... KEYENCE
Quality lasts dude... don't 2nd guess it

- jaybee
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 16 g wire ?? gurumods Electric On-Road 5 02-27-2007 09:10 AM
Wire Fuzzy Electric On-Road 6 03-08-2005 12:32 PM
What Wire Do You Use??? 2BAD4ALL Electric On-Road 7 11-27-2004 01:11 AM
FS: GM V3r 4-wire ESC rodneybarrett R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 09-28-2004 09:47 PM
Anyone know where to buy "26 Awg, 22 Stranded Wire" or typical antenna wire? Thanks Shrub Electric On-Road 9 04-16-2004 05:57 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:02 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net