R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-25-2004, 01:53 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 57
Send a message via ICQ to wdm80
Touring Car ESC Wire Gauge Question

Hi all,

I'm running a Quantum Competition ESC in my touring car - I use it for stock, 19T and Mod.

What guage of wire should I use. I currently have 12 guage on there, but I think that may be a little over kill - it is also a lot heavier than 14 guage.
wdm80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2004, 02:08 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3stocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: TN, America
Posts: 869
Send a message via AIM to tc3stocker Send a message via Yahoo to tc3stocker
Default

use 14 awg it is good, better than 12 awg, but 12 awg is not overkill, wire size pretty much comes down to preference
tc3stocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2004, 02:16 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tc3stocker
use 14 awg it is good, better than 12 awg, but 12 awg is not overkill, wire size pretty much comes down to preference
Just curious as to how you mean that 14 awg is better than 12awg?

While the 12 is larger and does, in theory, all more juice to pass through it, you will not notice a difference in performance between the 12 and 14. But if you are like me and buy the best batteries and motors and electronics and hard wire everything (instead of using plugs), stick with the 12.
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2004, 02:17 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3stocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: TN, America
Posts: 869
Send a message via AIM to tc3stocker Send a message via Yahoo to tc3stocker
Default

I hardwire everything and use all top of the line batts and motors and i notice that 14 awg works better

Just like Brian Kinwald
tc3stocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2004, 02:21 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tc3stocker
I hardwire everything and use all top of the line batts and motors and i notice that 14 awg works better

Just like Brian Kinwald
Yeah, but how does it work better? The reason question this is because 12 awg is larger and allows more current to pass through it than 14...so how can it be better? Just curious.
And just becuase BK uses it doesn't mean it's the best...remember he gets paid to use it and regardless of what he runs (even if it was the worst stuff) he will still always beat 99.999% of those he races against.
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2004, 02:28 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
berger's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tc3stocker
I hardwire everything and use all top of the line batts and motors and i notice that 14 awg works better

Just like Brian Kinwald
Doubt you would notice thickness of wire as a variable, if anything 12awg would work better, but good solder joints are more important than that
berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2004, 02:29 PM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3stocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: TN, America
Posts: 869
Send a message via AIM to tc3stocker Send a message via Yahoo to tc3stocker
Default

I have tried both and my cars runs better overall with 14 awg
tc3stocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2004, 02:50 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
berger's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Still havent said what better is and why.
berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2004, 02:51 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Nrctc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Summerville, SC
Posts: 2,536
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Nrctc3 Send a message via Yahoo to Nrctc3
Default

I dont see what the big difference would be. Since most 1/12's use the thinner wire so it wont interfere with the suspension settings.
Nrctc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2004, 02:57 PM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3stocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: TN, America
Posts: 869
Send a message via AIM to tc3stocker Send a message via Yahoo to tc3stocker
Default

better = 14 awg

It is better because it is easier to maneuver. It still transfer the power just as quick as 12 awg. It saves weight. It is easier to solder. If you don't believe me, go and look at some of the pro's cars. The manufacturers don't make them run a certain awg of wire. They run what the want. The manufacturer has no gain of "tricking" the public into buying 14 awg wire vs. 12 awg wire, they just want their drivers to be in the lead.
tc3stocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2004, 06:15 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tc3stocker
better = 14 awg

It is better because it is easier to maneuver. It still transfer the power just as quick as 12 awg. It saves weight. It is easier to solder. If you don't believe me, go and look at some of the pro's cars. The manufacturers don't make them run a certain awg of wire. They run what the want. The manufacturer has no gain of "tricking" the public into buying 14 awg wire vs. 12 awg wire, they just want their drivers to be in the lead.
Actually, most manufactures do use 14 gauage wire. It is cheaper to use and easier to install than 12 guage. And you really won't a performance difference in an RC application (but then again you won't notice a performance difference between hard wiring and using a good plug connection, but most of us hard wire anyway).

If a company like Novak puts 14 guage wire on their ESC's (which they do), and if they sponsor BK (which they do), I am sure they would NOT allow him to alter their products. If he switched the wires from stock, what kind of message does that show to the public that would buy their stuff...
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2004, 06:40 PM   #12
Tech Addict
 
imjonah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 704
Default ESC on switch?

How necessary is the on off switch for the ESC, what would be the harm of just eliminatinf the switch and just turning things on and off by plugging in the battery?
imjonah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2004, 07:28 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
ozoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,394
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
How necessary is the on off switch for the ESC, what would be the harm of just eliminatinf the switch and just turning things on and off by plugging in the battery?
Nothing stopping you doing that. I do it for every ESC I have - one less thing to go wrong, and I've had the switch get knocked off in a collision before. Never again.
__________________
http://www.harrisrc.com
http://www.funkygibbon.com
http://www.amishrakefight.org/gfy
ozoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2004, 07:37 PM   #14
Tech Master
 
hobbipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 1,326
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I split the difference and run 13g wire. I'll admit I'm pretty good at soldering, but 12g is such a pain in the neck to work with, and is quite a bit heavier than 14g, I usually have to use my 40w iron with 12g. 13g solders up much like 14g using a 25w iron, but without the major 12g size/weight issue. Tower and Team Trininty are the only places that seem to carry silicone 13g.
hobbipro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2004, 07:54 PM   #15
TCR
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 552
Default lol

TC3stocker please tell me what that girl is saying in your avatar, please.

simple way to explain 12 and 14 guage wire.

think of a hose you want to push water through, the bigger the pipe, the more water you can push though it.

12 guage is a bigger pipe.

14 guage is probably easier to work with, because of its size.
TCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
14 Gauge Wire Vs 12 Gauge Wire george_georgoul Electric On-Road 3 11-09-2007 10:08 AM
12 or 14 Gauge Wire??? AWK Electric On-Road 1 05-04-2007 11:37 PM
wire gauge kh15 Electric On-Road 3 07-21-2004 05:39 AM
Wire gauge question Alvin Rookie Zone 2 02-28-2002 08:44 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:17 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net