R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-10-2011, 10:44 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: columbus oh
Posts: 885
Default how to get the most out of 17.5

i lost some speed somewhere in 17.5 class..i dont know if its my motor.. my lipos..or my esc
i just started charging my 5000 40c's @ 10amp..(did i mess my lipos up by doing this??)
i been running the same 17.5 motor..(duo 2)..temps around 150 to 160
or i had a viper esc & it stop working..so i put in a 4year old GTB..could it be the esc..because with my viper in my car it was really fast & with the gtb its @ an ok speed.....just wanted to know what y'all thought
thanks
starrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 10:49 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
CypressMidWest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 4,618
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by starrx View Post
i lost some speed somewhere in 17.5 class..i dont know if its my motor.. my lipos..or my esc
i just started charging my 5000 40c's @ 10amp..(did i mess my lipos up by doing this??)
i been running the same 17.5 motor..(duo 2)..temps around 150 to 160
or i had a viper esc & it stop working..so i put in a 4year old GTB..could it be the esc..because with my viper in my car it was really fast & with the gtb its @ an ok speed.....just wanted to know what y'all thought
thanks
I'm guessing ESC......
__________________
Team CRC, PowerPush, Access Race Place, US Indoor Champs, CD SUPERPRO, RK Designs, TxDSkingraphix, Cypress, Founder and lead instructor of the Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driver Training Program, enroll now.....
CypressMidWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 10:54 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: columbus oh
Posts: 885
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CypressMidWest View Post
I'm guessing ESC......
thats what im thinking..but i wont know until i try another/better esc
starrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 10:58 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
CypressMidWest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 4,618
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Back to back testing would tell you for sure Are you coming out this weekend? I might be able to round up a Tekin RS for you to try.....
__________________
Team CRC, PowerPush, Access Race Place, US Indoor Champs, CD SUPERPRO, RK Designs, TxDSkingraphix, Cypress, Founder and lead instructor of the Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driver Training Program, enroll now.....
CypressMidWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 10:58 PM   #5
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,240
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

You can try changing the gtb throttle profiles, and make sure the motor is running at 30 timing, nothing less ....
bertrandsv87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 11:05 PM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: columbus oh
Posts: 885
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CypressMidWest View Post
Back to back testing would tell you for sure Are you coming out this weekend? I might be able to round up a Tekin RS for you to try.....
i want to but in not 1oo% yet
starrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 11:09 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
CypressMidWest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 4,618
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by starrx View Post
i want to but in not 1oo% yet
Cool
__________________
Team CRC, PowerPush, Access Race Place, US Indoor Champs, CD SUPERPRO, RK Designs, TxDSkingraphix, Cypress, Founder and lead instructor of the Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driver Training Program, enroll now.....
CypressMidWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 11:13 PM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: columbus oh
Posts: 885
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bertrandsv87 View Post
You can try changing the gtb throttle profiles, and make sure the motor is running at 30 timing, nothing less ....
well i did the different profiles..the deadband..min drive had it all set @ its most aggressive points....now im thinking it maybe my power trans cap...(dont know if that makes a difference in speed or not)....i did see smoke come from it back in the day..but the esc it still work so i thought nothing of it..(i wounder)
starrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 07:34 AM   #9
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Have you recalibrated your radio to your speed control?
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 08:00 AM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: columbus oh
Posts: 885
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiltskin View Post
Have you recalibrated your radio to your speed control?
yes i have
starrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 08:04 AM   #11
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,580
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by starrx View Post
well i did the different profiles..the deadband..min drive had it all set @ its most aggressive points....now im thinking it maybe my power trans cap...(dont know if that makes a difference in speed or not)....i did see smoke come from it back in the day..but the esc it still work so i thought nothing of it..(i wounder)
It think the cap impacts braking.
__________________
John Higgins former student of The Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driving School. The "Team Principal".
liljohn1064 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 12:44 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
Magnet Top's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,964
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by starrx View Post
well i did the different profiles..the deadband..min drive had it all set @ its most aggressive points....now im thinking it maybe my power trans cap...(dont know if that makes a difference in speed or not)....i did see smoke come from it back in the day..but the esc it still work so i thought nothing of it..(i wounder)
You wonder right ! The capacitor protects the ESC. If the cap went poof in a cloud of smoke a long time ago, it is likely the ESC is open to being damaged ever since. Or you got lucky... but given your performance issues it is the first place I'd look.
Magnet Top is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 01:37 PM   #13
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: columbus oh
Posts: 885
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnet Top View Post
You wonder right ! The capacitor protects the ESC. If the cap went poof in a cloud of smoke a long time ago, it is likely the ESC is open to being damaged ever since. Or you got lucky... but given your performance issues it is the first place I'd look.
thanks maybe ill buy a cap & see..(thats the cheapest way as of now)
starrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Bad Rap of Short Course CHIZZLE Electric Off-Road 102 10-12-2011 07:35 AM
Stock 17.5 Blown up boosting steam Electric Off-Road 18 12-24-2010 07:32 PM
How to get there from here?? Verndog Northwest Racers 38 04-29-2009 07:48 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:21 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net