R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-28-2006, 09:45 AM   #946
Tech Apprentice
 
KillWency's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: planet wency
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mudguard
Maybe someone can shed light on my problem Am trying to charge my (8-Cell) 4200 Nimh battery pack at 5AMPs but CM keeps on beeping and amperage goes down to Zero and climbs back. Using a DC regulated 13.8V 6-AMP power supply but cant get the beeping to stop Is the Charger Defective???
You should know, this charger has issues with charging anything not sub C 6 cell. Bad for 1 cell, 4 cell, 8 cell. A lot of peeps are already disposing theirs and going elsewhere. The step charging is also better in other brands. The best overall was and is still LRP pulsar 2 if you're using nimh for x # of cell. Mushmore is good for 6cell. If you want cheap you can get duratrax ice which has almost same features with this.
KillWency is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 12:39 PM   #947
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 48
Can anyone sugest a setup for charging 900mAh AAA cells for Kyosho Mini-Z? Donīt lough, the right charging method does make a difference even with Mini-Z . Maybe because the cells are not as state of the art as sub-C, but I find it difficult to get the capacity stated on the cell into it, never mind out of it!
Drifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 02:03 PM   #948
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drifter
Can anyone sugest a setup for charging 900mAh AAA cells for Kyosho Mini-Z? Donīt lough, the right charging method does make a difference even with Mini-Z . Maybe because the cells are not as state of the art as sub-C, but I find it difficult to get the capacity stated on the cell into it, never mind out of it!
Are these GP cells? They lack punch from a AAA cell, only runtime is good. My setting for charging AAA is .8 - .9 amp with 03 delta peak. Works great on Intellect IB750 cells.
__________________
Muchmore l AHRP l Xenon l Futaba
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 09:34 PM   #949
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 48
Default

No, I dont use GP anymore because of the missing punch, I use Nexcell 800mAh and cells called Newtecs with 900mAh. What I would like to achieve is good punch for the whole run with a sudden break down of the cells when empty, I dont really care about runtime.
Drifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 05:56 AM   #950
Tech Elite
 
Glowster21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,493
Trader Rating: 116 (100%+)
Default

Getting annoyed with my chargers and need some help. 3 out of 5 charges with both my Cell Masters are giving me the same error when going from step 2 to step 3 on the CTX charge. I get the "Check Clip" error from both of them. I checked the clips going to the battery and all is good. I switched the clips that go to the power supply with Banana Plugs to go into my power strip. Could that be the problem? Should I go to "Gold" banana plugs? It's weird how 3 out of 5 times they will charge fine though
Any ideas? I am running a clean 25 amp power supply and the steps are 7 amp to 3020mah, .2 amp to 3060, 5.5amp to peak of 05mv for all my 3800's.
Glowster21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 06:30 AM   #951
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Default

chl clip error is for the output side. so check there.
XingXing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 06:32 AM   #952
Tech Elite
 
Glowster21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,493
Trader Rating: 116 (100%+)
Default

Output clips are fine. If I do a normal Peak harge I don't have any problem. Only when I do a CTX xharge and it only happens going from step 2 to step 3. Should I maybe increase my step 2 charge rate so it's a less drastic increase?
Glowster21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 06:37 AM   #953
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Default

how are you connecting the output cables to you batts? pigtail deans? banana direct to terminals?

if the connection is not good - then too high resistance, can cause error, especially when charging at 0.2amps.

also do not touch the output cables or the battery when charging. the MM is very sensitive peak detection.
XingXing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 07:15 AM   #954
Tech Elite
 
Glowster21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,493
Trader Rating: 116 (100%+)
Default

My batteries are all hard wired. The factory alligator clips get connected to my Dean's Pro Bars. Should I replace the bars on the batteries? The charger leads don't get touched after the charge process starts. Thanks for the help.
Glowster21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 07:19 AM   #955
Tech Fanatic
 
Nexus Racing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 848
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glowster21
Getting annoyed with my chargers and need some help. 3 out of 5 charges with both my Cell Masters are giving me the same error when going from step 2 to step 3 on the CTX charge. I get the "Check Clip" error from both of them. I checked the clips going to the battery and all is good. I switched the clips that go to the power supply with Banana Plugs to go into my power strip. Could that be the problem? Should I go to "Gold" banana plugs? It's weird how 3 out of 5 times they will charge fine though
Any ideas? I am running a clean 25 amp power supply and the steps are 7 amp to 3020mah, .2 amp to 3060, 5.5amp to peak of 05mv for all my 3800's.
Do you have the flex charge activated in any steps (maybe by accident)? We used to see some people having problems transitioning from one step to another when charging at a very low amp rate in one step (such as .2) with the flex activated by accident.
Some people have thought that "F" in the settings stands for "fan," and think they are changing the intensity of the fans, when they are actually activating and changing the intensity of the flex charge feature.
__________________
NEXUSRACING.com
Nexus Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 11:54 AM   #956
Tech Elite
 
Glowster21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,493
Trader Rating: 116 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexus Racing
Do you have the flex charge activated in any steps (maybe by accident)? We used to see some people having problems transitioning from one step to another when charging at a very low amp rate in one step (such as .2) with the flex activated by accident.
Some people have thought that "F" in the settings stands for "fan," and think they are changing the intensity of the fans, when they are actually activating and changing the intensity of the flex charge feature.
Nope...Flex is off on both chargers.
Glowster21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 03:50 PM   #957
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Default

double check the aligator clips, you may need to resolder it.
XingXing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 05:43 PM   #958
Tech Elite
 
Glowster21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,493
Trader Rating: 116 (100%+)
Default

Clips are perfect. Changed the amps on step to from .2 to .6 and it seems to be working fine.
Glowster21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2006, 03:04 PM   #959
Tech Elite
 
Fred Hubbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Inglewood, CA
Posts: 2,719
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Okay need a little help here. So I've had my Cell Masters for under a month now and on one of them it would every now and again stop charging immediately after I start the charge and display a message saying "ERR 0001 *OVER VOT* I could sometimes power cycle it and it would be fine, charge that is. Now everytime I start a charge it displays that same message. I attached a pic of the error message from a session a couple days ago. Any thoughts? Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Team Much-More cell master v1-image_00001.jpg  
Fred Hubbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2006, 08:18 PM   #960
Tech Fanatic
 
Nexus Racing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 848
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred Hubbard
Okay need a little help here. So I've had my Cell Masters for under a month now and on one of them it would every now and again stop charging immediately after I start the charge and display a message saying "ERR 0001 *OVER VOT* I could sometimes power cycle it and it would be fine, charge that is. Now everytime I start a charge it displays that same message. I attached a pic of the error message from a session a couple days ago. Any thoughts? Thanks!
Fred,
I have not seen this error message, but I have a couple of suggestions to try:

1) Check to see if you entered the proper # of cells in the charging setup (ie make sure you didn't input "4" for a 6 cell pack).

2) Try doing a "factory reset". This sets everything back to the default settings. This is in the main setup menu. *pg5 of your manual* Hold down "<" for a few seconds when at the main screen to get to the main setup menu. Scroll through the options until you see "factory reset". Then, push ">" twice to initiate the reset.
__________________
NEXUSRACING.com
Nexus Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS/FT: TEAM MUCH MORE Motor Master & Cell Master litespeed-dom R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 06-15-2006 08:44 PM
Team Orion Advantage w/ LiPo or Team Much More Cell master? RH Customs Electric On-Road 6 04-06-2006 06:05 PM
Team Much More Cell Master FRP R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 01-25-2006 03:04 PM
Team Much More Racing CTX Cell Master and CTX Motor Master letitroll R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 11-18-2005 11:25 AM
Team Orion Advantage or Team Much More Cell Master charger alana07 Electric On-Road 1 12-18-2004 05:37 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:19 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net