R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-15-2005, 02:13 PM   #646
Tech Initiate
 
brandbrainz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 24
Default Problem with Cell master

My Cellmaster shows 0.310 V for a 6-cell battery pack and stops after a few seconds charging with low cell. I've tried all my packs and the error occurs with all. I've also checked the thin wires for current detection and run a few resets.

Can anyone help?

It's a bit urgent because we have the german nationals in 10 days time :-(
brandbrainz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2005, 06:49 PM   #647
Tech Regular
 
Bryan Thng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 326
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brandbrainz
My Cellmaster shows 0.310 V for a 6-cell battery pack and stops after a few seconds charging with low cell. I've tried all my packs and the error occurs with all. I've also checked the thin wires for current detection and run a few resets.
(
a buddy of mine had the same problem as well after about 2 months of getting it... Ryan did advised re-soldering the thin black wires on the crocodile clips several posts back... but we haven't had the chance to try this fix as the charger had already been brought back to the dealer to have it sent for repair by then... its been about 4 weeks already and still no news of it though... i do hope a simple fix will work coz its a nifty charger, quite unfortunate if it is marred by such bugs... i have one myself, hope it doesn't give me any problems
Bryan Thng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2005, 12:39 AM   #648
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default temp probe magnet

Ryan, Keith or James...

Do you guys have any plans to modify the existing temp probe so that it can be placed within a magnet? the team orion advantage temp probe is efficiently designed with the temp probe inside a magnet. and the magnet is curved so it sits perfectly on top of a cell. it'd be a good "hop-up" for the charger. just thought and curious. thanks!

Keith... see you at nats! when are you arriving?

- Chris
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2005, 10:00 PM   #649
Tech Adept
 
TeamMuchMore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 179
Default

Yeah it's pretty cool hop up but we been using our temp sensor just fine.
here is the big question how are we gonna use the round magnet sensor with battery heatsink?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hebiki
Ryan, Keith or James...

Do you guys have any plans to modify the existing temp probe so that it can be placed within a magnet? the team orion advantage temp probe is efficiently designed with the temp probe inside a magnet. and the magnet is curved so it sits perfectly on top of a cell. it'd be a good "hop-up" for the charger. just thought and curious. thanks!

Keith... see you at nats! when are you arriving?

- Chris
TeamMuchMore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 08:51 AM   #650
Tech Fanatic
 
Nexus Racing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 848
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamMuchMore
Yeah it's pretty cool hop up but we been using our temp sensor just fine.
here is the big question how are we gonna use the round magnet sensor with battery heatsink?
I guess both types of temp sensor have their advantages and disadvantages. It is nice how the MMR one is a little more versatile. I like how Ryan Lee mounts his MuchMore temp sensor when using the heatsink:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Lee
__________________
NEXUSRACING.com
Nexus Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2005, 03:12 AM   #651
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamMuchMore
Yeah it's pretty cool hop up but we been using our temp sensor just fine.
here is the big question how are we gonna use the round magnet sensor with battery heatsink?
hehe.. it all depends if keith brings them

i was just gonna get the magnet container..and throw that around the MMR temp sensor until i get my heatsinks. *hint* *hint*

btw.. James, you coming down for nats also?
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2005, 03:57 AM   #652
Tech Elite
 
Piyo Piyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jakarta - INDONESIA
Posts: 3,051
Default False Peak on CellMaster

I experienced false peak at the start of charging with Linear Charge function. Delta peak set at 0.05, charge rate 5A, 3300 GP matched batteries. While with Turbo 35 or ProTrak, I don't encounter this problem.
Anybody can help? Thanks in advance.
__________________
VIOLA ARIELLE & FLOREN ISABELLE
Piyo Piyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2005, 08:38 AM   #653
Tech Fanatic
 
Nexus Racing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 848
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piyo Piyo
I experienced false peak at the start of charging with Linear Charge function. Delta peak set at 0.05, charge rate 5A, 3300 GP matched batteries. While with Turbo 35 or ProTrak, I don't encounter this problem.
Anybody can help? Thanks in advance.
A 05 setting on the Cell Master is actually .005, not .05.
The MMR super linear current does not require high delta peak settings. The battery can false peak in linear mode if the battery has been trayed or dead-shorted.

In CTX mode, the battery will not false peak, because it is locked against delta peak in the first two phases.

If you use regular linear mode, you should set the long lockout. The setting for the long lockout is in the main setup menu (hold down "<" for three seconds). After you start charging, then hold down ">" to activate the lockout. You will see the key pop up on the screen. During lockout, the charger will still peak if the battery temp reaches your set temp cutoff.

Or, you can set up a CTX profile with 5A in all three phases...5A to 2500mah, 5A to 2600mah, and 5A to 4500mah. This will still be a linear charge, but makes it so you do not have to set a long lockout .
__________________
NEXUSRACING.com

Last edited by Nexus Racing; 08-24-2005 at 10:16 AM.
Nexus Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2005, 11:14 PM   #654
Tech Adept
 
noline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 227
Default

Ive just recenlty purchaced a Team Much More Cell Master Charger the problem Im having is that when im in the step 2 mode the charger will charge a little bit and then it willstop charging and it will do this over and over till I get a Error message check clip Do I have this setup wrong or is there a defect with the charger my setup is


Step 1

2650 ma 7.0a
Flex off

Step 2

2680ma 0.2a
Flex off

4200ma 6a

Flex off

delta peak 09

It does it every time it goes to step 2
your help would be greatly appreciated

Im using 3300 Dead shorted batteries
noline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2005, 12:02 AM   #655
TDO
Tech Apprentice
 
TDO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 77
Default

Just another questions (perhaps already answered somewhere in this thread..). I have set peakdetection at 8mv. Is the peakdetection per cell or per 6-cell pack?
TDO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 10:31 AM   #656
Tech Fanatic
 
Nexus Racing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 848
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noline
Ive just recenlty purchaced a Team Much More Cell Master Charger the problem Im having is that when im in the step 2 mode the charger will charge a little bit and then it willstop charging and it will do this over and over till I get a Error message check clip Do I have this setup wrong or is there a defect with the charger my setup is


Step 1

2650 ma 7.0a
Flex off

Step 2

2680ma 0.2a
Flex off

4200ma 6a

Flex off

delta peak 09

It does it every time it goes to step 2
your help would be greatly appreciated

Im using 3300 Dead shorted batteries
Check to make sure that the flex charge is actually off. It should say "Fn" in all the CTX setup menus. When I first tried the CM, I thought that "F" meant "fan", and my charger did the exact same thing.
I don't think that it is possible for the CM to flex charge at only .2A, so it cuts the charge off.
__________________
NEXUSRACING.com
Nexus Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 10:39 AM   #657
Tech Fanatic
 
Nexus Racing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 848
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TDO
Just another questions (perhaps already answered somewhere in this thread..). I have set peakdetection at 8mv. Is the peakdetection per cell or per 6-cell pack?
8mV (a setting of 08) is for the entire pack, no matter how many cells .
__________________
NEXUSRACING.com
Nexus Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2005, 02:05 PM   #658
Tech Regular
 
Joep's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 360
Default

Maybe allready asked & answered but:

1) is the cutoff voltage when discharging for the pack or per cell?
2) is it possible to discharge and then charge in a cycle ones instead of charge and discharge?
__________________
Xray T3 for dry and Xray T2'009 for rainy weather. Sponsored by: Myself and my wife.
Joep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 07:54 AM   #659
TDO
Tech Apprentice
 
TDO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 77
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexus Racing
8mV (a setting of 08) is for the entire pack, no matter how many cells .
Thankx Nexus
TDO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 11:51 PM   #660
Tech Addict
 
carkillaii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 687
Default

PLEASE HELP ME. I plugged in my pmwe and a bright spark came out of the box. I opened it up and the 250 v 5a fuse was blown, but I changed the fuse and still got nothing. What the HELL do I do?
carkillaii is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS/FT: TEAM MUCH MORE Motor Master & Cell Master litespeed-dom R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 06-15-2006 08:44 PM
Team Orion Advantage w/ LiPo or Team Much More Cell master? RH Customs Electric On-Road 6 04-06-2006 06:05 PM
Team Much More Cell Master FRP R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 01-25-2006 03:04 PM
Team Much More Racing CTX Cell Master and CTX Motor Master letitroll R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 11-18-2005 11:25 AM
Team Orion Advantage or Team Much More Cell Master charger alana07 Electric On-Road 1 12-18-2004 05:37 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:50 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net