R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 10-01-2011, 06:34 PM   #1
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default Pros and cons of TC-4, TB-03, TT-01R type E please

Hey guys,

I am new to on-road racing, and would like to get a shaft-driven 4WD car for VTA and maybe TC racing. I want the shaft drive due to its simplicity. I do not want to deal with belts, tensioners, etc.

You wanna tell me that I'll have my ass handed to me by the race-bred belt-driven juggernauts? My answer: I don't care! I want simplicity of maintenance/tuning, and low cost.

I know Associated still makes the TC4 RTR, and I have failed numerous times trying to get GOOD (ie like new) used rollers on eBay. My preference would be to assemble a TC-4 Team or Factory Team kit myself, but those are VERY rare on eBay. I am leaning toward the TC4 since parts are easy to find here in the states. I just don't know anything about it beyond that.

I also know nothing of Tamiya's "better" quality shaft driven TB-03 or TT-01R type E chassis. So, can anyone comment on the following regarding the two Tamiya chassis?:

1. Parts availability in the States. Who stocks a lot of Tamiya parts here in the contiguous 48?

2. Durability of each chassis

3. Handling of each chassis, without hop-ups. I race SC very competitively with bone-stock Slashes, so I know I don't need all the hop-ups that everyone else gets (alloy shocks, upgraded steering, shiny CVDs, metal knuckles, etc)

4. Fitment of bodies from all manufacturers. I noticed that both Tamiya chassis are 183mm wide, while the TC-4 is 190mm wide. Does this present a problem fitting either Tamiya chassis with a VTA or TC body?

I only want to hear from people who have owned/raced these chassis in VTA or TC.

Spare me the brief, unfounded, idiocy of "just get (fill in the blank here)".

Tell me WHY!

WWW.TRAVELINGMINISPEEDWAY.COM
MojoManDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 08:11 PM   #2
Tech Rookie