R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-20-2004, 06:32 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
rdub202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: TeamAcademy/MRC, MI
Posts: 2,359
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rdub202
Default LRP Pulsar Comp charger question

i just got a pulsar comp(1) charger and i feel like an idiot but i dont know how to power it? it just has alligator clips, do i have to run a power supply for it? or is there a way i can just plug it to a standard house outlet?
__________________
_|Team Academy GV2 Pro_|_Team Academy SBV2 Pro|_--->Losi xxxbK2 (FOR SALE)
_|Factory Tracks Midwest Series_|_www.factorytracks.com|_
_|Team Upgrade-RCid_|_www.upgrade-rc.com|_
_|MRC/Team Academy_|_www.modelrec.com|_

Last edited by rdub202; 11-20-2004 at 06:41 PM.
rdub202 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2004, 06:33 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dallas,Texas
Posts: 459
Default

you need a power supply.
mtc3od is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2004, 06:36 PM   #3
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

You'll need a 12v power supply. Make sure it puts out enough amperage. I'd say get one with 15 amps at least. That way won't be pushing it when you want to break in motors.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2004, 06:42 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
rdub202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: TeamAcademy/MRC, MI
Posts: 2,359
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rdub202
Default

what is a good relatively inexpensive one? how much do they average running for?

darn i didnt think i was going to have to spend more money
__________________
_|Team Academy GV2 Pro_|_Team Academy SBV2 Pro|_--->Losi xxxbK2 (FOR SALE)
_|Factory Tracks Midwest Series_|_www.factorytracks.com|_
_|Team Upgrade-RCid_|_www.upgrade-rc.com|_
_|MRC/Team Academy_|_www.modelrec.com|_
rdub202 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2004, 07:01 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,313
Default

This may be piss off the lrp guys, but I'm using a Novak N-power. Its a 14v with 10 amps. I haven;t had a motor pull over ten amps on break-in. My mods pull about 4 amps at 3 volts w. fan. My stocks pull 7 amps w. fan.
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2004, 07:39 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
rdub202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: TeamAcademy/MRC, MI
Posts: 2,359
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rdub202
Default

thanks
__________________
_|Team Academy GV2 Pro_|_Team Academy SBV2 Pro|_--->Losi xxxbK2 (FOR SALE)
_|Factory Tracks Midwest Series_|_www.factorytracks.com|_
_|Team Upgrade-RCid_|_www.upgrade-rc.com|_
_|MRC/Team Academy_|_www.modelrec.com|_
rdub202 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2004, 08:56 PM   #7
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I run mine off a 10 amp PS too but I'm going to get a larger one so that I can run multiple things without worrying (Turbo 35, LRP Comp, Equalizing tray, etc...)
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2004, 04:21 AM   #8
J-P
Tech Regular
 
J-P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: London U.K.
Posts: 291
Default

you could just use a 12volt car battery or 12volt leisure battery

J-P
J-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2004, 06:58 AM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England (UK)
Posts: 440
Default

Just connect it to a 12v car or leisure battery like J-P said, that's all i do, i do that with my lathe as well and when i had a 12v soldering iron (need to get another one of those soon )

Chazz
Chazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2004, 09:08 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
rdub202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: TeamAcademy/MRC, MI
Posts: 2,359
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rdub202
Default

it would last a long time wouldnt it?
__________________
_|Team Academy GV2 Pro_|_Team Academy SBV2 Pro|_--->Losi xxxbK2 (FOR SALE)
_|Factory Tracks Midwest Series_|_www.factorytracks.com|_
_|Team Upgrade-RCid_|_www.upgrade-rc.com|_
_|MRC/Team Academy_|_www.modelrec.com|_
rdub202 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2004, 09:21 AM   #11
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I've used 12 car batts for power at parking lot races for a long time. They'll last about 8-10 charges before the charger will be lacking on input voltage. The LRP is very efficiant and will get you more charges than most chargers off a car battery.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2004, 09:47 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
rdub202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: TeamAcademy/MRC, MI
Posts: 2,359
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rdub202
Default

is there a certain kind of battery i am looking for?

looks like they are giong to be around the same price i coudl get a power supply on here for...
__________________
_|Team Academy GV2 Pro_|_Team Academy SBV2 Pro|_--->Losi xxxbK2 (FOR SALE)
_|Factory Tracks Midwest Series_|_www.factorytracks.com|_
_|Team Upgrade-RCid_|_www.upgrade-rc.com|_
_|MRC/Team Academy_|_www.modelrec.com|_
rdub202 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2004, 09:53 AM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England (UK)
Posts: 440
Default

Also you'll need a 12v battery charger (if you haven't worked that out ) for after the meeting when you get home
Chazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2004, 09:56 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
rdub202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: TeamAcademy/MRC, MI
Posts: 2,359
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rdub202
Default

ill just get an N-power just easier and u dont have to charge it and whatever and they are like the same price
thanks everyone

(500th post by the way... )
__________________
_|Team Academy GV2 Pro_|_Team Academy SBV2 Pro|_--->Losi xxxbK2 (FOR SALE)
_|Factory Tracks Midwest Series_|_www.factorytracks.com|_
_|Team Upgrade-RCid_|_www.upgrade-rc.com|_
_|MRC/Team Academy_|_www.modelrec.com|_
rdub202 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2005, 07:58 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
picco007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: TX.
Posts: 1,814
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to picco007 Send a message via Yahoo to picco007
Default

Thinking of getting a LRP Pulsar 1 and I wanted to know what settings are used for the delta peak? I heard it has 5mV to 60mV and I'm kinda confused since it doesn't have the delta fall back in .01 through .05 and so on.

I would appreciate any help.
__________________
EA Motorsports
picco007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F/S LRP Pulsar Comp Charger drifterrolly R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 11-04-2007 07:56 PM
f/s lrp comp pulsar charger rcnutmich R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 12-01-2005 05:48 AM
Lrp Pulsar Comp Charger TheTurtleMan R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 02-03-2005 08:11 PM
F/S: LRP Pulsar Comp Charger Hebiki R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 01-13-2005 12:34 AM
LRP Pulsar Comp - Question / Problem? rctoyguy Electric On-Road 6 09-14-2004 02:06 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:35 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net