Like Tree1Likes

Xray T3 2012

Old 10-14-2011, 12:01 PM
  #121  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Fred Hubbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Inglewood, CA
Posts: 2,721
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by miccal View Post
Yes I am aware of that, the point is the rear of the rear also have the option for a two piece suspension block on the setup sheet, and they do not exist yet.
You confused me because you initially referred to all 4 positions (FF,FR, RF,RR) Yeah I saw the selection option for the rear but since the reason of going to the single blocks for the FR and RF was to strengthen the chassis I'm a bit skeptical that they would release an option that would circumvent that so I have to wonder if maybe that's an error on the sheet But maybe we will find out at some point
Fred Hubbard is offline  
Old 10-14-2011, 12:04 PM
  #122  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,491
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

We are assembling ours now. It has the same fit and finish we all expect out of Xray. The kit is going together without any snags and we will have a full review, tested on our new indoor carpet track! Another winner from Xray!

Jeff
RCTVLIVE is offline  
Old 10-14-2011, 12:07 PM
  #123  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Fred Hubbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Inglewood, CA
Posts: 2,721
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RCTVLIVE View Post
We are assembling ours now. It has the same fit and finish we all expect out of Xray. The kit is going together without any snags and we will have a full review, tested on our new indoor carpet track! Another winner from Xray!

Jeff
Not cool Jeff, not cool...you just had to rub it in a bit huh j/k I wouldn't expect anything less!!!
Fred Hubbard is offline  
Old 10-14-2011, 01:31 PM
  #124  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

It looks to include the 2pc suspension bridge for the front judging by the kit setup. Other than that the kit setup is the same as '11 just with the gear diff and shocks in one hole.

I think I'll just get the top deck and the knuckles to start with
CraigM is offline  
Old 10-14-2011, 02:25 PM
  #125  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (30)
 
rx7ttlm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,521
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CraigM View Post
It looks to include the 2pc suspension bridge for the front judging by the kit setup. Other than that the kit setup is the same as '11 just with the gear diff and shocks in one hole.

I think I'll just get the top deck and the knuckles to start with
You may want to mill the bulkheads, which chassis are you running?
rx7ttlm is offline  
Old 10-14-2011, 02:38 PM
  #126  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
nashrcracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: LA - Lower Antioch
Posts: 4,951
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

are the bulkheads changed from the 2011 need to know if I am good getting a T3r to change out the alumninum other then the new clamps that I already took easyoff to the clamps to get the orange out.
nashrcracer is offline  
Old 10-14-2011, 02:55 PM
  #127  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rx7ttlm View Post
You may want to mill the bulkheads, which chassis are you running?
11 kit chassis. The 12 one looks the same shape, just with the holes to mount the servo sideways

The clamps aren't lower on the '12 are they? I always thought it was a bit dumb to make them so high in the first place
CraigM is offline  
Old 10-14-2011, 03:02 PM
  #128  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (30)
 
rx7ttlm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,521
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CraigM View Post
11 kit chassis. The 12 one looks the same shape, just with the holes to mount the servo sideways

The clamps aren't lower on the '12 are they? I always thought it was a bit dumb to make them so high in the first place
Mine are machined down about 1.5mm iirc. Not sure if they changed on production kits. I was thinking they were lower but don't know for sure, maybe EA knows.
rx7ttlm is offline  
Old 10-14-2011, 03:26 PM
  #129  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Fred Hubbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Inglewood, CA
Posts: 2,721
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CraigM View Post
It looks to include the 2pc suspension bridge for the front judging by the kit setup. Other than that the kit setup is the same as '11 just with the gear diff and shocks in one hole.

I think I'll just get the top deck and the knuckles to start with
Not sure if you knew or not but the knuckles are already an existing part number they just swapped out the mediums for hards in this model.


Originally Posted by rx7ttlm View Post
Mine are machined down about 1.5mm iirc. Not sure if they changed on production kits. I was thinking they were lower but don't know for sure, maybe EA knows.
Yeah I was hoping that they would have redesigned those in this kit to be lower but from the pic it looks like they are the same as when first releashed. I agree lowering them is definetely a must do.
Fred Hubbard is offline  
Old 10-14-2011, 04:08 PM
  #130  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PacNW
Posts: 3,010
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

U.S. price?
jubilee is offline  
Old 10-14-2011, 04:17 PM
  #131  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 290
Default

Originally Posted by Fred Hubbard View Post


Yeah I was hoping that they would have redesigned those in this kit to be lower I agree lowering them is definetely a must do.
Stupid question but why?

Bb
bucketboy is offline  
Old 10-14-2011, 04:18 PM
  #132  
Tech Master
 
yokemad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,150
Default

Originally Posted by Fred Hubbard View Post
Yeah I was hoping that they would have redesigned those in this kit to be lower but from the pic it looks like they are the same as when first releashed. I agree lowering them is definetely a must do.
on 90% of the setups people using around 1mm+ shims on upper clamps Can I ask in which conditions we need to go Lower than L1-L2 Height?
Many Thanx
yokemad is offline  
Old 10-14-2011, 06:23 PM
  #133  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,269
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

What makes the chassis different? Mounting holes for the servo?
syndr0me is offline  
Old 10-14-2011, 06:37 PM
  #134  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Fred Hubbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Inglewood, CA
Posts: 2,721
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
What makes the chassis different? Mounting holes for the servo?
Yep and the chassis is narrower.
Fred Hubbard is offline  
Old 10-14-2011, 07:18 PM
  #135  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Fred Hubbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Inglewood, CA
Posts: 2,721
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bucketboy View Post
Stupid question but why?

Bb
Even more granular roll center adjustment.
Fred Hubbard is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.