Like Tree1Likes

Xray T3 2012

Old 02-23-2015, 05:33 PM
  #4201  
Tech Master
 
Essnowyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Somewhere Strange Wisconsin!
Posts: 1,676
Default

Originally Posted by Troy Carter View Post
Essnowyt's setups will be solid and should be up to date. I believe he just moved from the 2012 car earlier this year.
Originally Posted by Cain View Post
I was advised to use some of the setups that Essnowyt had on xray's site and they look good in comparison to what I am using for USGT and VTA, my two setups there I beleive are close.
Who is this Essnowyt character? Oh, wait. Troy and Cain, thank you for the kind words.

I am glad you guys are looking to the setups I posted. Please note, the older ones for the T3'12 have X-Pattern tires. Those may not work so well with the Gravity tires. The only time I ran the 12 with those tires was at Summit last year, Feb 2014. Truth be told, I was not happy with the car. Cain messaged me a few weeks ago and asked the USGT question. After looking at the setups and thinking a bit, I made a new sheet of ideas. I think this would work well for both VTA and USGT. I have not tired this, but it is from my T4'14 USGT and I made it fit the 12.

http://forum.teamxray.com/xform/inde...&setup=t3_2012

If I can help, please let know.

Snowy.
Essnowyt is offline  
Old 02-24-2015, 06:51 AM
  #4202  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (270)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 32,788
Trader Rating: 270 (100%+)
Default

how much do you think your setup would change if you made the vehicle legal for USVTA, especially if you left the vehicle weight at USVTA levels, but mainly did say a tire and motor swap?

As I use my daughters USVTA vehicle when its just me going to races, i turn my USVTA vehicle into a USGT one with a motor, tire, and body swap.

Also, what do you feel are the best spur gears to use to get access to that back motor screw?

Finally, one of my vehicles came with a floating servo setup, but it seems to just move all the time to the point hat I got tired of it and in combo with the floating servo I servo taped it to the chassis, as my daughters uses the two posts on the chassis my chassis and some spares don't have that "outer post" location.

I wonder if I am doing something wrong with how I got it together but I don't see another location to the inner mount point to secure it to, just the steering arm location and the servo post location on the inside, thats it, but you can see it flexing around enough that my steering would be all messed up on any impacts.

Any ideas?
Cain is offline  
Old 02-24-2015, 07:03 AM
  #4203  
Tech Master
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,428
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

The floating mount on the 2012 car was a bit "flexible" and would move in a big impact. I found I had to run a servo saver with it and had to be sure it was tight, really tight. Once it was set it stayed pretty well but it's definitely something to watch.
Troy Carter is offline  
Old 02-24-2015, 07:17 AM
  #4204  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (270)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 32,788
Trader Rating: 270 (100%+)
Default

cool thanks for the heads up. Yeah personally with it moving like it was would just prefer it to stay lol.
Cain is offline  
Old 09-23-2015, 11:17 PM
  #4205  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 6
Default

Question for you T3/T3R owners, is this a competitive mode model against the new T4 model, i bought a T3 when it first came out and I was gonna upgraded with the carbon fiber item and shocks to make it a T3R but life happen and my RC fun had to be put on hold.
vochito is offline  
Old 09-24-2015, 07:46 AM
  #4206  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chi-Town West Burbs
Posts: 1,717
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by vochito View Post
Question for you T3/T3R owners, is this a competitive mode model against the new T4 model, i bought a T3 when it first came out and I was gonna upgraded with the carbon fiber item and shocks to make it a T3R but life happen and my RC fun had to be put on hold.
Your T3 can be competitive, with the proper set-up and good driving.
mooby64 is offline  
Old 09-24-2015, 09:20 AM
  #4207  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 6
Default

Originally Posted by mooby64 View Post
Your T3 can be competitive, with the proper set-up and good driving.
So am assuming it's not that out dated
vochito is offline  
Old 09-24-2015, 06:24 PM
  #4208  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
nova2015's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 390
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I'm using my T3'12 in VTA, and found it responded well to removing both sway bars and using a very soft setup. It gives good weight transfer particularly to the front during cornering.
nova2015 is offline  
Old 09-25-2015, 11:23 AM
  #4209  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (270)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 32,788
Trader Rating: 270 (100%+)
Default

yeah, I really liked how the car felt and its pretty durable too.

I am thinking of making the switch to 1/12 so if anyone wants one or two of these ready to go feel free to hit me up.
Cain is offline  
Old 10-12-2015, 04:32 AM
  #4210  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (49)
 
Fast XXXS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ballarat, VIC
Posts: 849
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys, Just picked up a T3'12. Looking at running in 21.5 and then moving to 13.5. Question i have are- To get the low gearing for 21.5 blinky, what aftermarket spur gears will fit the T3'12? also I'm looking at getting around a 3.0 FDR, is it possible to fit a 65 spur with a 40 pinion? Also does anyone know if the T4 bumper will fit the T3.

Thanks
Fast XXXS is offline  
Old 10-12-2015, 04:17 PM
  #4211  
Tech Master
iTrader: (74)
 
Brokin Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,318
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Fast XXXS View Post
Hi guys, Just picked up a T3'12. Looking at running in 21.5 and then moving to 13.5. Question i have are- To get the low gearing for 21.5 blinky, what aftermarket spur gears will fit the T3'12? also I'm looking at getting around a 3.0 FDR, is it possible to fit a 65 spur with a 40 pinion? Also does anyone know if the T4 bumper will fit the T3.

Thanks
Hi,

Yes, you can go that low but then the problem is doing up the back motor screw, no biggie though

RW do an excellent Xray compatible spur, I have a 64t 48p if you'd like to try it, no charge.. PM me you address (we've traded before)

T4 bumper should fit but why? there is no benefit & gives you less protection
Brokin Racing is offline  
Old 10-12-2015, 05:05 PM
  #4212  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (49)
 
Fast XXXS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ballarat, VIC
Posts: 849
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Brokin Racing View Post
Hi,

Yes, you can go that low but then the problem is doing up the back motor screw, no biggie though

RW do an excellent Xray compatible spur, I have a 64t 48p if you'd like to try it, no charge.. PM me you address (we've traded before)

T4 bumper should fit but why? there is no benefit & gives you less protection
Ok awesome no worries. I'll send you a PM. As for the T4 bumper only reason is where I'm ordering all my bits from (not just xray bits) they only have the T4 bumper in stock. So saves doing just an order for a bumper from somewhere else.
Fast XXXS is offline  
Old 10-13-2015, 07:59 AM
  #4213  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (270)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 32,788
Trader Rating: 270 (100%+)
Default

yeah finding spur gears that have big openings can be a godsend when trying to get the motor screws tightened down.

other than that, great car.
Cain is offline  
Old 10-13-2015, 10:21 AM
  #4214  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chi-Town West Burbs
Posts: 1,717
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cain View Post
yeah finding spur gears that have big openings can be a godsend when trying to get the motor screws tightened down.

other than that, great car.
An easy work-around, for the motor screw issue, is to make a slot, on the lower side of the motor mount. Google the Associated TC6 motor mount. With this, I am able to run as small as 82t 64p
mooby64 is offline  
Old 10-19-2015, 12:39 AM
  #4215  
Tech Master
iTrader: (74)
 
Brokin Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,318
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mooby64 View Post
An easy work-around, for the motor screw issue, is to make a slot, on the lower side of the motor mount. Google the Associated TC6 motor mount. With this, I am able to run as small as 82t 64p
Yes, similar to an early ARC
Brokin Racing is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.