Like Tree1Likes

Xray T3 2012

Old 02-01-2013, 11:16 PM
  #4006  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (95)
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 2,837
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by vivo quevas View Post
Josh I have a east west servo mount on my T3 11 I used a CSO servo mount (Mushroom RC). I used a exiseting hole and only had to drill and countersink one additional hole. I have done this to 2 different cars my T2 07. A couple of other racers here locally has used the same servo mount to great effect on there TC6.1.
I checked those out! Pretty cool. When changing the position of the servo. how do you hook up the stearing link? Do you have to change anything as well?
Josh-n-ya is offline  
Old 02-02-2013, 08:15 AM
  #4007  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
vivo quevas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central, Ca.
Posts: 1,351
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

jOSH you can thread a ball into the right arm or you can use a Exotek center mounted ball socket http://www.exotekracing.com/t311-t31...r-link-bridge/

Last edited by vivo quevas; 02-02-2013 at 08:26 AM.
vivo quevas is offline  
Old 02-02-2013, 08:21 AM
  #4008  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,621
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

hey guys i got a BNIB vbc stiff chassis kit for the xray t3 it comes with lower chassis...top deck ...shock towers ...motor guard and lipo stops...all carbon fiber...and brand new.....pm me if interested.
theatriks is offline  
Old 02-02-2013, 12:21 PM
  #4009  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (95)
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 2,837
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by vivo quevas View Post
jOSH you can thread a ball into the right arm or you can use a Exotek center mounted ball socket http://www.exotekracing.com/t311-t31...r-link-bridge/
Now I got it! It still works fine as the original 2011 set up but was just wondering if and how much it would cost to get it done the other way! Thank you again.
Josh-n-ya is offline  
Old 02-03-2013, 01:20 PM
  #4010  
Tech Master
iTrader: (41)
 
J-milz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Monroe, NY
Posts: 1,597
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

I hear the new t4 is an awsome car. I recently aquired a t3 from a local fast guy. It's a t3 11". I wanna update the car for VTA racing and the chassis was one thing I was considering first due to wear and the "old style" NS servo placement.

I was considering the following:
CSO, smokem, zeppelin, exotech or the CRC VBC chassis. This would be mainly for carpet, but would consider using it for 5-6 races on asphalt. Any thoughts?

Last edited by J-milz; 02-03-2013 at 01:36 PM.
J-milz is offline  
Old 02-03-2013, 04:02 PM
  #4011  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (93)
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,160
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by vivo quevas View Post
Odin, do you have the nub on the chassis for the east west servo if you do I recommend Adapting a CSO or Xray T4 floating servo mount and grinding the nub off! The nub causes the chassis to hit in the corner.
The nub is still there yes. I'm using floating servo mount. The nub isn't the issue though. The motor can is dragging.

Originally Posted by kinga View Post
No, Mine does the same thing, and I have cut the servo nub off. It rubs on the side closer to the back, right under the motor. I think stiffening the shock oil and springs helps a bit, but you lose grip. If anyone has a solution I would like to know too
I went up just a little in oil wt and had the same experience as you. Less dragging but less grip. I didn't get around to trying the stiffer springs with the heavier oil though. I'll have time to try it the next time I race. Wont be for 2 weeks though.

Originally Posted by Josh-n-ya View Post
Just curious have you got the car ballanced? It sounds like you have more weight to the motor side. I have to add weight to the battery side to get ballanced. Ballancing buttons are a great little tool Besides that you may have a tweaked chassis!
Car is balanced and isn't tweaked.
Odin544 is offline  
Old 02-03-2013, 04:09 PM
  #4012  
Tech Master
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,385
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by J-milz View Post
I hear the new t4 is an awsome car. I recently aquired a t3 from a local fast guy. It's a t3 11". I wanna update the car for VTA racing and the chassis was one thing I was considering first due to wear and the "old style" NS servo placement.

I was considering the following:
CSO, smokem, zeppelin, exotech or the CRC VBC chassis. This would be mainly for carpet, but would consider using it for 5-6 races on asphalt. Any thoughts?
Just a idea, I have a 2011 t3 with all the 2012 goodies except for the bottom chassis. All I did was clean the chassis and shoe goo'd the servo down. Worked great and was really secure. Just use sparingly so the goo doesn't bulge out the sides. That way you can use the money that you were goin to spend on a chassis to buy the upper bulkhead clamps or ecs drive shafts if you don't already have them.

P.S.-let the goo set for 24 hours. It will hold securely guaranteed.

Last edited by trigger; 02-03-2013 at 04:42 PM.
trigger is offline  
Old 02-03-2013, 04:18 PM
  #4013  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (32)
 
j.d.roost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by trigger View Post
Just a idea, I have a 2011 t3 with all the 2012 goodies except for the bottom chassis. All I did was clean the chassis and shoe goo'd the servo down. Worked great and was really secure. Just use sparingly so the goo doesn't bulge out the sides. That way you can use the money that you were goin to spend on a chassis to buy the upper bulkhead clamps or ecs drive shafts if you don't already have them.
I have a 2012 with the floating servo now...but have used goo only on my photon and it worked great.
j.d.roost is offline  
Old 02-04-2013, 06:01 AM
  #4014  
Tech Master
iTrader: (41)
 
J-milz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Monroe, NY
Posts: 1,597
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for all the reply's, and setup tips. The main reason for the chassis question was I wanted to upgrade the steering setup from the 11' to the 12's dual arms like my TC. I just ordered the xray floating servo for the car too. I want similar components on my VTA, and TC. Just wondered about the chassis replacement.
J-milz is offline  
Old 02-04-2013, 06:40 AM
  #4015  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (73)
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,755
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by J-milz View Post
Thanks for all the reply's, and setup tips. The main reason for the chassis question was I wanted to upgrade the steering setup from the 11' to the 12's dual arms like my TC. I just ordered the xray floating servo for the car too. I want similar components on my VTA, and TC. Just wondered about the chassis replacement.
Isn't the vta car a '10? the '11 should have dual bell crank already, just the servo mounted length wise in stead of sideways.
MikeXray is offline  
Old 02-04-2013, 06:42 AM
  #4016  
Tech Master
iTrader: (41)
 
J-milz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Monroe, NY
Posts: 1,597
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MikeXray View Post
Isn't the vta car a '10? the '11 should have dual bell crank already, just the servo mounted length wise in stead of sideways.
Yes... My bad.
J-milz is offline  
Old 02-04-2013, 10:36 AM
  #4017  
Tech Master
iTrader: (39)
 
gonzo416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,938
Trader Rating: 39 (98%+)
Default

I have a brand new T3'12 with brand new and used extras for sale. PM me if interested. I also have a T4 with allot of extras. I willbe gathering it all and post it with pics in the next few days.
gonzo416 is offline  
Old 02-04-2013, 01:13 PM
  #4018  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (32)
 
j.d.roost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gonzo416 View Post
I have a brand new T3'12 with brand new and used extras for sale. PM me if interested. I also have a T4 with allot of extras. I willbe gathering it all and post it with pics in the next few days.
You have a pm G.
j.d.roost is offline  
Old 02-07-2013, 08:27 AM
  #4019  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,140
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by j.d.roost View Post
I have a 2012 with the floating servo now...but have used goo only on my photon and it worked great.

On my photon? LOL see ya Saturday
JOE SI is offline  
Old 02-07-2013, 05:49 PM
  #4020  
Tech Regular
 
clparsons123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 330
Default

Hello everyone ! here is my setup i ran on my t3 2012 at Snowbird Natinals last week. i finished 4th overall in 13.5 touring and 3rd overall in 17.5 touring.
if you have any questions just pm me or post on here and i will be glad to answer.
thanks
Cory Parsons

The link

http://forum.teamxray.com/xform/inde...&setup=t3_2012
clparsons123 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.